VW Subaru Conversion

fauziot

Anybody knows where I could get the VW Beetle -Subaru engine conversion? Thanks a lot.

u want to convert engine or what..i have friend using subaru engine in their classic vw..but i forget what type of engine..but seriously u can istall the engine to ur car..huhu nice and powerful..hehehe

made by volkswagen..
powered by subaru..

have u seen this before..hehehe

Yes I've seen these machines in you tube and some webs- vw subaru swap.

In reality I do came across vw vans using the 1.8 ltr NA boxer engines similar to the BUFORI cars which uses vw beetle chasis plus subaru engines.

Do u have any idea where we cud get people transforming their beetles to the 'beast'?

thx

i have fren have been using subaru engine in his beloved bug..but i need to ask my friend his hphone number..changing a lot of number recently..hehe ermm maybe i can introduce u to him and maybe u can discuss about this engine into ur bug..

but the main problem about this engine in vw is the intercooler..than the body work..base from what i hear, u need to re do the body or the body will be crack or "xbalance" hehe..maybe u need to find a good foreman that can install this but seriously subaru in vw..damn fast..

and have u heard about rotary engine in beetles..i have heard,but never had chance to see the car personally..hehe ermm damn fast..but why dont u just use the standard 1.6 vw..change to 1776 piston..and u put bolt on turbo..old beetle with turbo..how nice..hehe

yes it can be done even with the stock vw engine.

but end of the day it is much more expensive.

why 1776 when you can have 1914?

putting a turbo is a good way and inexpensive.

i don't think that standard 1.6 vw engine can support that 1914 piston..except u are using 1.8 engine..huhu yeah this mod is quite expensive..turbo summore..huhu it's ok i still finding his number from my fren..maybe on this comming raya i will be seeing him..hehe there has been quite sometime..hehe

dude, there is no 1.8 Type 1 engine. Biggest from factory is 1584cc.

this uses the 85.5mm piston. you can go biggest on this block 94mm.

that will give you 1914cc with a stock stroke engine. There are a few guys in KL running this setup as it is a rather cheap upgrade.

HOWever, there are already a couple of guys running 101mm pistons.

this however is crazy, expensive and it is not feasible to be done here yet, especially we dont have many people with good experience even with 86mm stroker engines.

not many in malaysia are crazy enough to spend ridiculous money just to get 200 hp.

I have a side question regarding such mods. Aren't such modification not road legal? We are not allowed to modify engine mounts and drive shafts right? or is there a work around for such mods?

you can do whatever modification you want to your car.At the end of the day the authorities will decide wheter it's road legal or otherwise. Be it wif stock engine, subaru or rotary. I dun think those guys wif beefed up "stock vw engine" got permission from puspakom or jpj.

me thinking of building a race car to strip sepang track on weekends and drag it down on saturday nights. want those guys wif flashy cars wandering what on earth is this machine all about. hehe.....

Whuster, still waiting for the number, thanks.

u can put a turbo in a stock engine?
will the engine hold? coz i fear it might just break...

Yes I've seen these machines in you tube and some webs- vw subaru swap.

In reality I do came across vw vans using the 1.8 ltr NA boxer engines similar to the BUFORI cars which uses vw beetle chasis plus subaru engines.

Do u have any idea where we cud get people transforming their beetles to the 'beast'?

thx

+1 to that. seen the youtube's scooby turbo in the vw body. sound gud too!

a scooby's 1.6 ~2.0 in a beetle def would kick ass. how to adapt to the beetle's gearbox la? or the scooby's gb is used as well?

oso might need wheelie bars installed afterwards :biggrin: