vtec not engage!!! wats the cause?

goldenegg

hi guys, im having problem wif my b18c type r engine.. vtec not engaged n speedometer always error even ive changed the meter cable twice.. :banghead: arrgghhhh help me out guys..

If i'm not mistaken,
can check at ur comp box n it will tell u the o2 sensor maybe...
around rm150 i think....
correct me i'm wrong....

this should throw error code 17 - Vehicle Speed Sensor. try to change this as it will help u with the speedometer issue. undetected speed = no vtec

Ur speedometer got error means wat ? The needle drop to 0 when u reached certain RPM/KM? U have this problem since when? What have u did before the problem occured?

Usually VTEC doesnt engage is due to alot of reasons, eg. engine oil, earthing, wiring, vtec solenoid and etc. Last time i did face a problem where my vtec engage but when reach 5500rpm, the rpm needle drop quickly to 0. It's because i'm using EK4's wiring on DC2R meter cluster. After changing to the complete set of DC2R wiring(engine+dashboard), problem solved.

It's better for u to bring ur ride to the Honda specialist and get it checked. I can recommend a mechanic who is damn damn damn pro in Honda. He is located in Shah Alam. No regret after consulting him about ur car's sickness ^^

yes,, the neddle sudden drop to 0.. sumtimes it comes up again but after moment drop again. this situation occur again n again.. damn.

Check your Vehicle Speed Sensor (faulty connector, faulty sensor, wiring problem there). I didn't know honda b-series have cable typed speedometers at all.

yes,, the neddle sudden drop to 0.. sumtimes it comes up again but after moment drop again. this situation occur again n again.. damn.

This situation usually is due to wiring, distributor and meter's problem. How long u've been using ur current distributor ? Have u change ur meter cluster before?

kent75 - ive never changed my meter cluster yet.. just changed the sensor twice.

D-IV - sory bro,silap..its not speedo cable. its a sensor.. ive chnged it twice..
'
dunno wat to do nymore..:bawling:

kent75 - ive never changed my meter cluster yet.. just changed the sensor twice.

D-IV - sory bro,silap..its not speedo cable. its a sensor.. ive chnged it twice..
'
dunno wat to do nymore..:bawling:

R u driving integra? Or u transplant the b18cr engine into other chassis? R u using Integra meter cluster?

kent75, can share the guy from shah alam you talk about?
before mine also face same prob only the needle doesnt drop and aftr diagnos current no enough supply from com. box. dont know it help or not just to share:biggrin:

yup2.. b18cr into my SR3 chasis.. and im using dat integra meter cluster oso.

Bump: yup2.. b18cr into my SR3 chasis.. and im using dat integra meter cluster oso.

problem solved.. its all about the sensor only laa. anyway thanks guys..! mmmprannnngg...:driver: