VTEC history....

joe_mivec

Just want to share about VTEC history.....
How difficult to create a new technolgy....

go to this link http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/0/article_394/page_m.asp

hmm...i believe it must be tough for Proton to develop the CAMpro technology too....

I'm a newbie here....
i cam across few local forums...some of them said proton SA claims that the campro engine is strongest in its class
is this means that VTEC famous B16B not the strongest afterall ?

Junn said:
I'm a newbie here....
i cam across few local forums...some of them said proton SA claims that the campro engine is strongest in its class

Newbie here too....
Haha.... Malaysia ma.... so everything boleh !!
Test both den u know which 1 better....
Anyway... no offence to proton.... :shades_smile:

Junn said:
I'm a newbie here....
Don't simply thrust SA claims.....

if campro really is good, how come power output only 110bhp? and that only coming at max rpm?

other 1.6 i think we can set as benchmarks

alfa straight four 1.6 16V DOHC with variable valve timing = 120bhp
honda straight fours 1.6 16V DOHC with VTEC = 185bhp

of coz i dont expect proton capable of producing similar power output like Honda's but being a DOHC - the power output i can say is low.

for record, Toyota's 1.5 1NZ-FE fitted in Vios produces 110bhp at peak power, and so as Suzuki's new Swift and Honda CIty's VTEC.

he he...i think proton shud change its name to ProtonSS.

ProtonSS = Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Syok Sendiri.

as jeremy says Honda VTEC are THE MOST reliable and efficent engines ever made..

sometimes though, jeremy did quote the right statement

zan said:
he he...i think proton shud change its name to ProtonSS.

ProtonSS = Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Syok Sendiri.
That's a good one!

Not bad. The achievement of VTEC actually stretch into a few motorsports field...
I remember one is that early days, F1 cars cannot refuel. So many cars have to excercise efficient driving and save fuel.....
That time Honda team win the race all the time because many cars are driving slow. It's not VTEC as we've seen in our civics and integra but similar concept. That time the opponent all not competitive. Then later FIA changed law to refuel allowed. Honda loses its edge and opponent also came out with similar type of engine...

But Honda holds reign for few seasons and it's like the golden days for them. heck 3 years back we even have 2 Honda groups remember ? No other car manufacturer appear in more than 1 team.

dats y we said "honda, the power of dream"
even the AE111 also cant fight wif civic type r...
if campro wanna win it, 10 years more i think... hehe

joe_mivec said:
Don't simply thrust SA claims.....

Haha didnt trust....Just speechless by their claims w/o any facts backings...
Thx anyway....clear everything now..VTEC rulez

VTEC is not the first variable valve timing technology, Nissan Fairlady 300ZX was the first car doing that back in 1989. NSX was launched in 1990.

Campro? pui ~~ 1.6 110hp still wanna boast around. Fancy racing a Waja against a Vios?

Ingolstadt said:
VTEC is not the first variable valve timing technology, Nissan Fairlady 300ZX was the first car doing that back in 1989. NSX was launched in 1990.

Campro? pui ~~ 1.6 110hp still wanna boast around. Fancy racing a Waja against a Vios?
Yes VTEC is not the first variable valve timing technology, but it is most sucessfull and reliable engine technology nowadays.....

Alfa Romeo began the variable valve timing back in the 60s. they had the idea, but some how could not make it work.

Honda however managed to perfect it together with electronic camshaft lift ( switching from 8 valve to 16 valve operation) from their experience in Formula 1 fracing between mid 80s and early 90s.

that's the time they became world champion - powering Marlboro McLaren and Camel Lotus with their 1.5 V6 turbo engines.

no doubt though, the first VTEC engines made appearance in 1990 maybe much earlier in JDM.