VQ30DE Timing Chain

Timing chain making noise...change the tensioner...it's defined as a consumable part of the car, which basically means that it will wear out...

As to the chain itself, unlikely to be consumed. Tensioner should take care of any elongation over time... :smile:

defcon: yup u r rite.......the tensioner oso matter.....

all: hehe.....melli kelimes to eveliwan ar~~~~~ i chiao 1st bai bai.....

Actually what kid of sound does it make? My engine runs pretty smooths and without vibration but just that recently I found out that there is a "tick tick" sound coming from the engine where the timing chain is. My car milage is about 190k. I have not brought it to TC before. Does "tick tick " sounds means the tensioner is wearing out? how much to change?

Very hard to say without listening to the sound. Timing chain usually sound when the engine is cold. You should hear a rattling when you start the motor. It will get less when the car warms up cos the parts expand as they heat up and the chain gains some tension.

Tick...tick...on that side could be anything...alternator and a/c compressor also there....

it happens occasionally.... no sounds during start up.. after a long run.. it's ticks... hahaha hope it's not a bomb... thanks for the tip...

Tacobell, don't worry about the money now. Check what is wrong and make sure where the sound is coming from.
Once you know about it, you can sleep better at night.
Not all "tick tick" sound need to fix right the way. Some can wait and you can plan the work shop day as you like.

Can be a sound from the Compressor's magnetic clutch, can be belt bearings, tensional pulley, power steering pump, alternator bearing...etc

the tick tick sound very common in nissan engine. My previous b13 with SR16 also got tick tick sound, my guess than was the tapper, and after 180kkm, heavy revving its still running strong, now with my friend ..

I know many others driving SRs and RBs also the same sound... even my old engine GA also like that.

If tapper, means perpetually is there. Cold or Hot also will hear it rite?

yup, i yet to dismantle the VQ so not too sure its really the tapper that make noise or others. But base on my knowledge with other nissan engine, and similar sound its most likely a tapper sound.

The IACV sometimes will have the Tick Tick sound. To confirm, touch the IACV with your hand when u hear the tick tick sound.