VAFC Settings

kokster99

Hi All sifus,

Anybody can tell me what are the 'right' settings for a B16A small V? Is it necessary to dyno and then config the VAFC? If that's the case, once installed, VAFC won't properly?

Thanks.

nobody can tell u what is the right setting...
different engine setup different setting...
dyno setting n on the road setting oso different...

hattech-v,
agree with u....sometime people said even using dyno setting cannot get the "right" setting....the car is on the dyno machine and not on the road....
but still u can search for a capable tuner to find the "right" setting....they try to find the correct setting while driving the car on the road....just my 2 cents...!

Either i'm getting old or my england has gotten bad because I have no idea whether my questions were answered by your comments!:retarded:

So, what should I do? Go dyno and then tune the bugger or tekan den tune myself? The bugger thing also so many different types of settings, how am i suppose to know how high or low to set anyways.

The only thing i can do at the moment is just change when my vtec kicks in. I know different engine requires different settings...who's mother is not a woman?!:shades_smile:

if you don't know the basics of tuning, better leave it to the specialist.. you probably won't blow your engine with VAFC if you tinker with it a bit.. +/- a few points (maybe shorter life for engine due to overheating/random detonation/engine bogs/plug fouling due to too wrong setting), but you probably will get higher FC and lose power on part throttle/full throttle unless you tune it properly..

As for the settings of the VAFC.

The high and low is for setting the fuelling on high cam (VTEC on) and low cam (VTEC off). I haven't touched a VAFC in a while, but last I remember, it has 24 points for each setting.. 24 for low, 24 for high. I could be wrong though.. it's been a while, and I possible could have mixed up with other Apexi stuff like the SAFC or PowerFC.

In simple english.

If you want to tune VAFC..
A) you need a dyno/something that can measure power increase/fuel ratio/time (butt dyno j/k, RSM, A/F meter, etc.)
B) you need to understand what is 'stoich' and how flow increases with RPM (it's not linear), and thus make decisions on how much time you want the injector to open at xxxxRPM.
C) you need to know how the engine works, and what is the reasonable amount of power you can generate from the engine without making it a one hit wonder (i.e. fast for a while.. until the engine kantoi)

or pay rm300+- for amoil to tune it for u on dyno.... i guess tats d best way

The best way is always "tuning in real time" i.e, when the car is in motion ........ not during static mode.

Vafc

Thks Shiroitenshi.

Renxun...think maybe that's a good idea. But is Amoil good? I've heard some bad shape things happening in Amoil but that was a few years ago.

Crower75...can explain how is tuning in motion done?

Thanks.

shouldnt be a prob... cuz for them tis is just a very simple gadget...

In my opinion, the best way to tune (be it VAFC, or other piggyback, or other fully programmable ECU) is using wideband tuning. You do the tuning in real-time on the street (beware of the authorities of course), and it matches your driving style as well.

Yup....u stick a sensor up the exhaust and another person will compile all the data while u drive. Preferbly done at absurd hours to avoid unwanted attention from the boys in blue...

If you kind a DIY tuner and know what you doing..... Get a wideband O2 and street tune your AFR.... and than go to dyno machine to tune your power!