Type R Head Verification

hattech-v

anyone here know how to identify type r head wether its b16b or b18c by viewing the external only?

here some pics;

pic 1
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b159/hattech/Temp/typerheadnotsure.jpg

pic 2
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b159/hattech/Temp/typerhead99.jpg

refering to pic 1, this head is claimed to be a type r head. its on top of b16b block. n produced in 97. but it doesnt look like normal type r head which got 3 - square box - like pic 2.

or maybe earlier production (96-98) type r head dun have that square box?
anyone here can confirm?

I'm sensing a Type-R VTEC engine will be plonked inside the engine bay of 1500 really soon heheheh................

there will be a green marking on top near the distributor. and the yellow/blue markings on the valve springs. if u cant see the inner portion, the best would be the distributor markings.

those pix u have shown are just the date and year of the head being manufactured.

since type-r do come in 1996.1997,1998,1999 and 2000..theres a fair chance the 97 head is a type-r

J101 said:
there will be a green marking on top near the distributor.

any pics to iilustrate??

if your pnp a b16a head, is it as good as a b16b head? or is there another advantage?

here some pic on distributor side...
which part of the marking?

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b159/hattech/Temp/typerhead2.jpg

minivan said:
any pics to iilustrate??

if your pnp a b16a head, is it as good as a b16b head? or is there another advantage?

if i'm not mistaken, B16B heads are manually PnP'ed over at Honda. yes, you can get almost the same results from PnP'ing a standard B16A head, but u have to know the exact calculations lah, like how many inches are ported away from the valve guide ke, 3 angle valve cut bnyk mana angle and how much, intake / exhaust manifold open port bnyk mana / angle changed or not etc. and don't forget, diff cams, diff requirements. so if you intend to change cams later on, make sure either u have a spare, unported head or the ported head is for general cams usage lah. then have to check whether the piston heads have to be modified ( if the cams got longer duration, might push the valves a wee bit more than standard! ) for safe clearance, takut valves bang piston head lak. i don't know much, and yet, i could be wrong! :shcokedcamo:

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b148/-recklezz-/typerhead/typerhead22.jpg

sorry red-ink :p

"remove the cam journal seal
holder on the intake side the
marking should be at the rear"

ooo... mean that have to remove the intake cam first before see the marking?
the marking how it look like? got color?

im waiting for hattech's current engine if he plan to change to this tap r...hehe can arr mie?? hehe:X-:

just that end journal. should have some greenish paint marking.

hattech-v said:
ooo... mean that have to remove the intake cam first before see the marking?
the marking how it look like? got color?