Twin Cam Project for 4g92

kob3bryant>> from kluang? nice.. very near.i from jb.. also intended to put the dohc head to my sohc 1.8 engine. but also worried about a lot of problem. and must extra money for get nothing more power. y use 1.8 and not 1.6? 1.8 head more horse power u get if compare to 1.6... our car horse power is depend on ur head and torque is up to ur bottom cc size.. 1.2k still ok. but the piston that foreman change for u or still using back ur sohc piston? how about the manifold? and the throttle body? some more the extractor and downpipe? many many things oh. wait ur new engine come out and let me c ur pics. thanks bro for share ur opinion..or u can consider the mivec engine kosong and put all the things into ur sohc engine?

if you all don't mind me sharing my 2 cents, i would like to comment a bit on the Sohc to Dohc conversion.

There is a reason why the manufacturer gave sohc to 1.6 engine especially 1.6 even 1.8. Even overseas, most lancers come with sohc 1.8 engine.

With the sohc head, you'll be able to have more torque on the lower rpm, thus loose some hp on the high rpm. Whereelse the dohc head will be able to provide much better power on the higher rpm, which give a little more hp, but you loose some low end torque. Lame man term is no much pickup.

So it is not so advisable to convert to dohc for the 1.6ccs. 1.8 should be no problem. The only reason why overseas still using sohc is due to the heavy lancer body. Maybe i'm wrong. If you guys with the 1.6cc enigne want a dohc head try search for Mivec head. This would give you significant amount of power increase.

Thank you for reading.

liki;
i gonna to take the 4g93 head not 4g92.no throttle body,intake manifold,extractor or downpipe will be changed.as for the piston,i need to check with the mech,not sure at the moment.

aarion;
thanks for ur info.since that is 4g92 dohc w/o mivec tach have been produced,i think it should be alright for that.anyway,thanks for ur info.and u miss one thing,dohc not only give u slower pick-up but also a better use of the fuel as u know one cam working compare to two cam.i am not saying ur point is wrong,but that's some good example juz like kenari,twin cam but 1000cc.still nice with its weight ratio.i was told that wira 1.5 lose to kenari for 0-100km/h.(told by friend).amazing right?but after that,kenari bhind u already due to its 1000cc.same case happen to l2,l2s,l5 and so on.these are all 660cc,not going to take original 1000cc kelissa/kenari in highway

kob3bryant,

Actually both has its own pros and cons. I do agree with you that the Kelisa and Kenari is a powerful machine. I think it is also due to the fact that the bodies are light and small.

We should not compare a wira 1.5 with a Kenari. It is not fair for the wira. The wira is using a 25 years old engine and with its superior siemen ECU. Wira is much heavier.

As for l2 and l2s, i think they have the same hp figures with the kenari. I'm not sure whether who is going to win. But both of them also fast due to its light weight.

day by day this topic going to be interesting...... still waiting to a resullt either convertion from soch to doch are the best way for 4g92p or it wil be a hell for 4g92p owner... hope more taiko2 can help us....

oh yes!u tell the line that lied in our heart.by the way,soff muffin did this conversion,feedback not too bad.response is better than original sohc version

can anyone / taiko2 write down all thing/part needed for this convertion. what part and its price also (roughtly). it can be a guardline for 4g92p owner. and 1 more thing suggested workshop.... if can la.....

workshop at kluang lah!too far a way from u.
in my knowledge;rm1200 for the whole project
1.timing belt different(sohc&dohc)
2.distributor
3.spark plug
4,spark plug cable
5.head cover,beauty than original sohc
6.cam

thats all i know

dude is softmuffin not soft muffin
:-)
kob3bryant said:
oh yes!u tell the line that lied in our heart.by the way,soff muffin did this conversion,feedback not too bad.response is better than original sohc version

why have to change the spark plug.... soch and doch use diff spark plug? cannot use existing 1 ke?

to answer ur question, yes you can use back ur spark plug..

popcorn said:
why have to change the spark plug.... soch and doch use diff spark plug? cannot use existing 1 ke?

softmuffin said:
to answer ur question, yes you can use back ur spark plug..

bro.... can tell us a liltle bit ur experiences using this hybrid machine...... :_:

popcorn said:
bro.... can tell us a liltle bit ur experiences using this hybrid machine...... :_:

For your question, i can't answer you. This is bcoz you need to feel and drive it urself. Just like making love wei.

softmuffin said:
For your question, i can't answer you. This is bcoz you need to feel and drive it urself. Just like making love wei.

:X-: walawee..... have to make love with the car first? so hard la bro...... none of my buddy use this kinda machine to test drive..... :regular_smile: ..... can try urs ar :_:

oh.. i think kob3bryant u better take a mivec engine kosong and do conversion lah. more powerful leh. some more mivec engine kosong also not too expensive, i think 1.2-1.3 k can get liao. 175hp already in it. spark plug cannot use lah. for my 1.8 sohc the plus is small and long one, for 1.8 dohc is different. my foreman tell me lah. if wrong pls correct. throw in all the part from mivec engine kosong to ur 1.6 sohc, then add one vafc. u can feel a lot of different. i going to do so. but still saving the money. a lots of things need to modified.. haha.. waiting for ur successful conversion and pls show to me ur pic and comment. thanks, bro.

mivec engine kosong so cheap meh?that means only have mivec engine alone?wat parts it include?i dun know how to diff the mivec md,rs,black top or silver top.very confusing.so the engine kosong u mentioned is which one?

donno wat version lah. but just engine kosong v head and block. not wiring, ecu, manifold, intake, extractor, downpipe. throttle body. got someone offer me>mivec head, intake, throttle body, extractor and ecu wiring, RM2500. location kl, nick i forgot. u interested?

liki;
hey bro,RM2500 is far diff from RM1.2k-RM1.3k ok?not worth to do that,in my mind.

whaha cool down wei..
liki say
Rm 2500 for engine kosong.
then some joker will come up and say myself get a half cut for Rm5.5K++ or get the full engine with ECU+wiring w/o bodyparts..

softmuffin say,
Is all up to you and how much $$ you want to put in ur car..

kob3bryant said:
liki;
hey bro,RM2500 is far diff from RM1.2k-RM1.3k ok?not worth to do that,in my mind.