turboe'd 4G15

saru-kun

well...what do you'll think...
should be done? or forget about it...?
4G15...a very light powerplant, capable of very good power-to-weight ratio...in a car like satria...though with stock internals, it'll only work with 0.4 bar boost or so...
wanna hear your comments...and reasoning

Personal opinion, forget it and do something else. Transplant a good base engine and go from there. Some engines are not meant to be turbo-charged. even if you do, i dont think u will be satisfied with it. And way too much problems turbocharging a normal engine and dont forget the $$$ amount ur going to throw in.

Peace!

Personal preference.....i have a fren whos runnin 7psi in his 1.3 efi wira sedan.To him it make sense bcoz he made the exhaust manifold in his free time and his outlay was minimal.End of the day he's happy with the result as he only wanted extra bit of torque without sacrificing drivability and fuel consumption.I test drove his car and it pulls much better than my 1.5 carbie wira sedan.He has been runnin this setup for 8 months now and his wife usually drives it around pickin the kids up and doin groceries.
All in all i think he spent about rm1k for it....but then again how many people can DIY their own turbo manifold...hahaha.

Charles.

i think u better save the money and time by turbocharged ur current engine..u wont get the power u want wif the money u have spent..
it is better to convert if ur looking forward for it..or, u cudl jus do those minor mods like PnP,balancing,cams,campulleys,gear ratio,stuff lidat and remain N/a ... first if u turbocharge the N/a engine wen it is not meant to be, u will be facing lots of trouble in the future..u cant boost high..and i think wif the money u spend u cant even beat 1.8 stock putra/gti engine..dats wht i think oni le..no matter wht, ur engine is still 1.5cc .. so my advise save more and convert to a better engine dat is meant for it..mebi u can go for mivec (if u luv high rev) , GSR,EVo,VR4..
and guess wht, u might get more den u expected wif the money spent..unnlike bolt-on turbo spend 10k but in return oni can win 1.6 ...whts the point? but for turbo, u convert around 10k but u can play wif those evo and others oredi..
anyway im sori if i sound bad in giving comments..dat is jus my 2 cents..
good luck

yeah...proton engine are useless...bolt on turbo kit will only kill the engine faster.

hmmm.... bolt on turbo kills engines? i was thinking of trying one on my waja1.6 .. haha but quite cool marr can get some extra boost.. can fix meters and best of all.. blow off haha

saru-kun, pls proceed with the 4G15 turbo project. when u are done, do inform me.

my fren has a 4G15, minimal mods, only some port n polish, race cam, and some NA tune up. i really want to see the result :lol:

Some people dont like race-race i guess.they just want something to give em a little more power.If you are those guys that are into racing or power than off course turbocharging a 4G15 wont be enough!

If you're one of those power freaks... then its best you get a GSR straight away, since your 1.5 (assuming its base engine) can transplant up to 1.8 max... so u won't have any problems going thru JPJ unlike those who's driving a 1.3 who can max go up to 1.6 only.

If you're looking to get extra power to overtake cars on the highway without sacrificing driveability....then this is the way to go for you. The beauty about having a turbo, is that when you don't accelerate a lot (dun boost high)... its almost as if u're driving an n/a in terms of power and fuel efficiency. And when you need to overtake a slower vehicle... floor the pedal, boost kicks in, and in comes your extra hp! Don't expect much though... turbo kit probably gives u another 20-30% peformance gain. Thats about 20hp on a 4g15 (rough approximation only). Beats putting in high cams because then city driving will be a lil' difficult.

Turbo kit for your car i think got someone selling rite now for around 2k rite? If u DIY a kit for yourself, should be around that price also la I suppose. I've never sat in a turbokitted 1.5 before... but i've sat a 1.3 satria turbo kitted before... feels faster than a 1.6... dunno if its as fast as 1.8 or not la. But if u put it into a 1.5... should be able to be as fast as a 1.8 or faster kua?

Anyway... i'm no expert in turbo yet la. Just saying what I know... correct me if i'm wrong. =)

About the turbo kit, depends on what kind of engine u r puttin it,

proton made 4G15 SOHC 12V ? no point i think.

But mitsubishi made 4G15 16V DOHC in lancer mx CK series and 4G91 DOHC 16V in CB series, kinda worth it. Base engine got 110 PS. with turbo kit should be able to push till 140-160.

Definitely worth it. Rm 2K ? really can consider bout it. Bolt on kits from Apexi, Blitz, HKS, Trust in Taiwan, HK, US, UK, perhaps even JAP ? very popular, seem kinda strange why malaysia is not so common, perhaps it's coz of the $$$$$ to do transplant and turbo kits r very near. Sumtimes, turbokits cost even more.

For ppl like me, which had too many nitemares of conversion, turbokit might be a good choice. I'm sure there's lots of other ppl like me too, which scares of transplant, or dun like to do conversion as dun want to get caught with a very low selin price for their used car. :rolleyes:

Actually transplant safer... but turbo kit are for those who wanna maintain their engine.

Of course people will tell you get a better base to start with. But then again... 1.5 wat la, get mivec better... mivec wat la, gsr better... gsr wat la, vr4 better.... vr4 wat la, evo better.... When will it ever end?

So pick a base you wanna start with... and go with what ever projects u have installed. =)

how much money needed to turbocharge the engine .. ?? turbokit.....intercooler..ecu??? total cost how much !!?

turbocharge NA engine very fun.
4G15 turbo i dunno la...but civic sohc turbo very fun :D :lol: :)

Hmmm... estimate ar... turbine can get from fellow ZTH members that are selling for around 400+ cheapest la. Intercooler...err... get small one enuff (since 0.4 boost oni coz' engine high compression) maybe eterna intercooler. Not sure how much... 100-200 bucks liddat kua? Exhaust manifold need to go custom... this one is expensive la. I think should be around 800 bucks kua? (guessing only). Once u've got all these, then you need to do the pipings and installation loh, should be between 500-1k lah for everything. Other accessories depending on brand la the price (ie: boost meter, blow off).

I think a good 3k can get you everything la provided u purchase 2nd hand items.

Then later on... for added safety and reliability... you might wanna consider additional injectors and injector controller. This one also very expensive... should be spending below 2k but above 1k... depending on injector controller (brand, new/2nd hand) and what injectors u getting.

Yeah!! all the sifus here have spoken. Basically, Turbokit = useless and waste ot time

saru - kun i guess you should listen from the wise man joeker which has experience in the turbo kit era rather listening to those who say turbo kit is a waste of time :lol:

well with good fueling you should be safe , no need to run on intercooler's if you want to boost as low as 0.4 , what you should do is get a set like in this picture .

its much cheaper like this .
bought it for 1.5k sold it off for 1k .

Hi there,

I own a proton 1.6 sohc converted to mitsu 1.8 sohc (from lancer mx)...
comes with 86kw ( 120hp)
do you guys think it is better for me to bolt on a turbo kit for extra horsies or do the normal mod for NA..

there is two choices..

1st choice
Bolt on a turbo kit..boost at low bout 0.4 -0.5
horse power increase in 20 to 40 % ( tell me i dunno...guessing)
cost bout 2k...to boost higher need to change internal parts (pistons, conrods ..etc..
wat else i need ( besides fuel regulator and higher cc fuel injectors..upgrade piggy back???

2nd choice
To remain NA, do a PNP..change cam shafts to stage 2.( degree higher than standard ( 272 and above), tuned length extractor. change adjustable cams.
upgrade ecu (piggyback)

which of the choice is the best..and which one will increase my horsies more..and by the way, which one cost more..(my opinion is 2nd choice..not cheap to get these stuff from matspeed or powerzone..power wise..i let u all decide..

thanks for feedback sifus and experts out there.
phil

Originally posted by vestax@Aug 18 2004, 09:14 AM
saru - kun i guess you should listen from the wise man joeker which has experience in the turbo kit era rather listening to those who say turbo kit is a waste of time :lol:

well with good fueling you should be safe , no need to run on intercooler's if you want to boost as low as 0.4 , what you should do is get a set like in this picture .

Mr. Vestax,
Where did you find this setup?

Thank you very much!

Originally posted by vestax@Aug 18 2004, 09:14 AM

Wah...very cheap woh!