Time.com Webbit

cyclonite

Hello guys, just wondering if I subscribe to Webbit, can I use the service all over PJ if I carry my modem around connected to a notebook or something? like in the car? If so, it'll be so great, unlimited wireless broadband access that covers the whole PJ area :)

Thanks guys.

I think can, a guy gave his feedback at some other forum .. it can be connected but the d/l speed is as slow as dial-up. :D

it is wireless, i think is because, the main line is connected to the device.

and from the ISP to your house, also wireless... using a dish.. something like astro..

correct me, if i am wrong.. :)

thanks.

Hahaha NO you're WRONG. it's not a dish lah. it's just a modem which you put on your desktop and it has a short antenna like 2 inches tall that's all. something like handphone la.

I asked the guy already, you can only use your modem within your designated service area and apart from that you can also apply for a supplimentary service area at NO EXTRA charge so all in all you can use your modem in 2 areas. For example, you can use it in SS2 and Kelana Jaya.

The transfer rate seems high, download speed as high as streamyx but upload speed is faster because it's 256kbps as compared to streamyx's 128kbps.
But the latency for webbit is terrible, that is... the delay between the modem and the base station. So even though your transfer is fast you still can't play games like CS or Quake online w/o high ping.

haahha.. thanks. dudu.. :)

because i saw the big dish carry by the time fella in taman megah pj ma.. :) hahah

Ok...as fas as i know...most webbit users give bad feedbacks for it now...mayb it;s stil new,problematic

;) sorry guys...bit off topic here...i'm just expecting to see jimanKiller aka kimek post his EXPERT opinion here...hehehe :lol:

omg means that ermmm..wireless broadbands are not suitable for gaming??
i live in sunway..my line is from maxis not telekom..cant subscribe to broadbands at all. 56k is expensive..cant dial 1515..have to dial 7digits if dial tmnet.. approx rm3 per hr same goes to timenet ..except can dial jaring 1511 approx rm1 per hr excluding internet fee but jaring is slow for me i dont know why. I applied a wireless broadband a year ago...and the latency is terrible..cant play games.. its like when i ping yahoo.. i got many ping timeouts..cant play cs..always freeze...
example: when i type ping yahoo.com -t in windows run.

reply from 66.218.71.112 bytes=32 time=230ms TTL=51
reply from 66.218.71.112 bytes=32 time=252ms TTL=51
request timeout
reply from 66.218.71.112 bytes=32 time=241ms TTL=51
reply from 66.218.71.112 bytes=32 time=256ms TTL=51
reply from 66.218.71.112 bytes=32 time=236ms TTL=51
request timeout
reply from 66.218.71.112 bytes=32 time=212ms TTL=51
reply from 66.218.71.112 bytes=32 time=229ms TTL=51
reply from 66.218.71.112 bytes=32 time=230ms TTL=51
reply from 66.218.71.112 bytes=32 time=246ms TTL=51

it sucks..after about 1month i unsubscribed it and use back 56k..and few months later the company dissapeared..i think closed down.. the company name is B-Wise

conlcusion...wirelessbroadband not for gaming????

Hmmm and also when the guy come and install that time..he brought a modem..cables and an antenna to install.. the antenna is like a tv type of antenna.. and its intalled on the roof top.. the signal sux dude.. im from sunway..and that fella say the station is located in shah alam. TERRIBLE..
but im nto sure about other broadbands such as webbit. my friends in us says that the wireless broadband there is smooth except when its raining ..other than that its just fine. :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r:

r u sure?
my webbit damn fast...i mean no problem so far...
the modem is portable, but so far the battery is not selling yet..
so u need to use power adaptor

Write your reply...