The best practise for AT during traffic light stop?

BlackSamurai said:
Thanks for the info, especially Mr. Bear.

Any technical bit or online resource available?

no prob bro .. just giving out some tips.. from exprience..

here some source regarding automatic trasmission/gearbox

http://www.rospa.com/roadsafety/advice/driving/automatic_gearboxes.htm

eh guys! i found out some interesting FACTS? READ ON

When stationary in traffic, even for many minutes, it is not necessary to move the gear lever into neutral because the torque converter absorbs the engine’s propulsion force but does not transmit it all to the gearbox. No wear is taking place. In fact, more wear will take place if you engage neutral then engage a drive gear when it is possible to move off. Most gearboxes will automatically select first gear when the vehicle becomes stationary.

While guidance may be given regarding the correct actions in certain circumstances, not all eventualities can be covered. The following is intended as general guidance in some common sets of circumstances.

You should cover the footbrake when moving the gear lever when the vehicle is stationary. You may wish to set the parking brake as many vehicles will ‘creep’ and some vehicles may have a tendency to lurch, particularly if fitted with an automatic choke. Stops in traffic, at junctions and at traffic lights leave the selector in D. There is no need to move into neutral, as no damage will result. You may wish to set the parking brake if the pause becomes a wait but your decision will depend on the circumstances.

AT ROUNDABOUTS:
Leave in D unless a lower set of ratios has already been selected, in which case it may be appropriate to leave it in that ratio.

ON BENDS:
Single bends can normally be negotiated in D. For a series of bends consider locking the vehicle into a suitable ratio prior to the first bend, and on exit from that bend, when the accelerator is eased to set the vehicle up for the next bend, the vehicle will not automatically change up and the driver will have the benefit of engine braking which will give better control.

OVERTAKING:
Depending on the circumstances, use either a planned, predetermined lower ratio lock or the ‘kickdown’.

If acceleration is needed followed by deceleration to fit into a gap, manually selecting a lower gear or ‘locking’ the ratio before the start of the manoeuvre may be beneficial.

STEEP HILLS:
When descending steep hills in DRIVE, the vehicle will tend to drop into its highest ratio. This will result in excessive use of the brakes. Although brakes on automatics are larger than on their manual counterparts, ‘brake fade’ can still create a problem but manually locking a low ratio provides compression braking to enhance flexibility and braking control, particularly when towing a trailer/caravan. Conversely, when ascending a steep hill, manually locking a ratio may also provide better control and improve smoothness if the vehicle is hunting between two ratios.

General
In unusual circumstances when the gearbox is continually changing up and down between two gears, manually selecting an appropriate ratio may prevent undue wear of the gearbox components.

A ‘Sport mode merely programs the vehicle to hold a lower ratio until a higher engine speed is reached. On twisting roads ‘Sport’ mode will often hold a gear sufficiently thus reducing the need for a manual over-ride. ‘Economy’ mode merely optimises the fuel efficiency of the engine.

It is not necessary to either kickdown or change down manually for a hazard simply because one would change down if driving a car with a manual gearbox when negotiating that same hazard. The modern automatic gearbox is designed to select the correct ratio for the speed and throttle setting, and it does so very well. A manual intervention should be a considered option and planned to give a specific advantage or benefit according to the circumstances encountered. It should not be undertaken solely to demonstrate to the examiner that you know how to do it.

As with all aspects of driving, this technique is not carved in tablets of stone. There may well other occasions when you judge it necessary to manually over-ride the gearbox and, if that is the case, then do it. But do not make excessive use of the manual holds and return to ‘D’ when the need has passed.

Convert ur A/T to paddle shift. Read here: http://www.tcugo.com/products.html

I might get it if it works on my gearbox...

juniorkirk said:
actually ... perdana is the highest class among of all proton car... but for me.. perdana still sux for a 2.0 litre car... keke... out of topic for a while... mrbear... mind telling me which part of shah alam u from ? kekeke...

ya ya i like the looks itself.. nice n cool.. but part of it just the engine n gearbox.. hehe

im staying at sec7.. near sec6.. how bout u?

acbc said:
Convert ur A/T to paddle shift. Read here: http://www.tcugo.com/products.html

I might get it if it works on my gearbox...

ya la.. wanna ask them oso.. hmm.. price kinda "acceptable" rite? .. heheh.. lets try then! ..

acbc... i wish i could install one of that too... just like honda... keke...

mrbear... i live in sec17 ... lolz.. TT someday... 17 is juz beside 7 lolz...

juniorkirk said:
acbc... i wish i could install one of that too... just like honda... keke...

mrbear... i live in sec17 ... lolz.. TT someday... 17 is juz beside 7 lolz...

ooo so near la.. just behind.. TT everyday oso can.. do u hang out at rafi?

mrbear, thanks for the FACTS? LOL

acbc, is that a universal setup? a thousand dollar mod, price will only goes down if RM is stronger.

perdana gearbox is a condemned design in japan because of certain flaw...but our proton bought it and used it because it is cheaper to buy condemned items...perdana gearbox will kong faster if u always rev high when driving...when changing gear with jerk....the best solution is a one time solution...send the original gearbox for rebuilding and add oil cooler...i have one contact that will do that which the gearbox will last for very long time...many friends had done it and until now for years no problem...even with hardcore driving...it comes with guarantee.dont buy gearbox from japan because it is not same...just look at the wiring you will know...pin numbers already different plus either the eterna gearbox from japan got extra sensor or our perdana got extra sensor...check with ur foreman...they should know it...

while for the automatic transmission...to protect and maintain it for a long period of time is to minimize the changing of D to N and N to D...because engage and disengage repeatedly doesnt treat the gearbox well...even when traffic jam and red light i only press on the brake...leaving the D engage all the time until i get off...and when u stopped the car liao better to engage in N first then only engage to P...

i seldom change my gear during driving,just press brake only,if over 5 minute then change to N,otherswise just keep it "D" mode,in kl area so many traffic if always keep changing D to N will more ez to damage gearbox

Write your reply...