Tension Damper 4AGE 20V

sylkhannaz

Hello,

Recently i've changed the tension damper for my BT timing belt.
The reasons are because the old one is leaking and became too soft (heck u can push it with ur finger). And that has caused annoying rattling sounds. The new (out of the box) tension damper eliminated this problem.

However, there some issue i'd like to ask regarding this matter after the installation.

1. The response of the engine in low revs - is slightly reduced (better before).
2. There is a sudden jerk from 4-5k rpm. (unnoticed before) Some 50% of the time.

What i would like to know, are these normal effects? Especially issue no.2.
I'm pretty sure the damaged tension damper did not effect my pulleys. High revs from 5-8k rpm is okay and the fuel efficiency has become better. (Quite bad before)

What should i do? Thanks in advance.

I recently had my tension-er changed too due to some rattling on certain RPM. I also had the timing belt, some other belt, water pump, seals and bearings changed as well since they already dismantled. After the change:
- bad fuel consumption.
Before the change I have always been facing this problem:

- engines sounds “sandy” J
- weak at lower rpm COLOR]
After the change still the same la

Consulted some mech, they told me the pulley must have been accidentally adjusted. However the mech who does the job for me told me he did the appropriate markings. So I am also stuck. Some people said re-shimming the valve could help.

Hope someone shed some light on this matter. Thanks in advance!

John

did u check ur damaged tension-er? Mine's became so soft. I assume there is no more rattling sound after the change, right?

John, if the markings were off, you would've realised it immedietly as engine may not start or made even bad rattling sound. Well, i'm no expert maybe this info also wrong.

I have asked around and what i got is, once your tension damper is out, it may damage ur pulley as well. This might be the cause but hey, like i said, i'm no expert.

Now both of us seek help from our Toyota Masters, Sifus. Please help us.