Reply to thread
See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Main Forums
Car Talk
Suspension - Testimonials please
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="darween13" data-source="post: 1064031884" data-attributes="member: 22807"><p>Car: Mitsubishi Lancer GT</p><p>Brand: Titan Hi-Lo Performance Shocks + Original Lancer GT Springs</p><p>Durability: 10,000KM – About 4 months now; so, unsure on durability but the need to service every 25,000KM will keep it intact I believe (lifetime warranty) – Could not comment much.</p><p>Road use: City (50%), Highway (30%), Bumpy + Gravel + Pot Hole-filled-routes (20%) </p><p>Comfort: 10/10 (Still new is one of the factor and as said the need to service every 25,000KM will ensure comfort I believe) – Could not comment much.</p><p>Handling: 10/10 – The shocks handles well both in high speed and low speed; keeps the car firm, less body roll unlike the original shocks – impressed and very satisfied with the performance.</p><p>Points to Note: Titan Suspension is fully custom made and built to customer’s requirements; hence, there are 3 level of setup within its full Hi-Lo suspension; 1) Soft 2) Medium 3) Hard. And within these setups, there are 2 levels of adjustment to each primary level; i.e.: Soft – Soft & Soft Medium, Medium – Medium & Medium Hard, Hard – Hard & Stiffest</p><p>Having said these, Titan Custom Setup comes with its own pair of advantages and disadvantages. Hence, I will share my experience of searching the right setup for you all to judge the brands and desired setups that are available out there.</p><p>Since the beginning of this year, I wanted to swap my original suspension to a hi-lo setup primarily for cosmetic purposes as I was about to swap my wheels from the Ori Lancer GT wheels to Volks TE37 SL. So, I contacted few sifu’s in ZTH as well as scouted around accessory shops for the right setup / suspension. The brands in discussion included: BC Racing, GAB, D&D, D2, and KW (Ori German made from Singapore). </p><p>I dropped KW from the list due to its price though I believe that suspension could have all been worth it for the price. I had the chance to test out BC Racing, GAB & D&D as well as Titan; all full set Hi-Lo in Lancer GT. Having tested all, I wasn’t satisfied with the setup – it was too stiff for my liking and ride was very bumpy. That factor singularly was a put off hence I refrained from taking the car for a full spin to test out the handling.</p><p>However, at Titan, the mechanic suggested that I couple their performance shocks with my original springs to preferable get the setup that I desire. As it stands, Lancer GT’s suspension and handling isn’t bad at all albeit the body roll, so, I decided to give it a try. And, the result is satisfactory and was to my liking. The stiffness increased perhaps by 20% compared to the original setting but handling wise, the car improved by miles as opposed to the original setting. I was extremely happy with the outcome simply because I managed to drop the height to 2 fingers both front and rear while not compromising much on the ride comfort and was able to extract a significant amount of difference in terms of handling.</p><p>However, this setup comes with its unique advantages and disadvantages – and for those who are keen or are thinking of going down this path; please read with caution and evaluate all avenues available before you proceed – it took me approx. 5 months to settle down for something that I liked.</p><p>Disadvantages:</p><p>Titan is custom made – there could be recurring issues which would need you to return to the shop occasionally; at least in the beginning stage of installation – primarily due to the manual human assembling steps rather than machine automated assembling process of the suspension.</p><p>Only one outlet in Cheras – Ampang; and only Titan mechanics are able to repair / troubleshoot the suspension – no alternative hence, the accessibility to the shop and its service is limited.</p><p>Need for servicing at every 25,000KM interval – additional cost in terms of time and money. </p><p>Price affordability – the full set of performance shocks is equivalent to full set of Hi-Lo setup of certain brands; hence, it may not entail some as the best investment.</p><p>Advantages:</p><p>Being custom made – everything could be customized to your preference; in terms of height, comfort, stiffness, handling as well as the quality of built of the shocks.</p><p>Price vs Output – worth every penny spent (from personal perspective) as the suspension really performs the way I would like it to with minimal compromise on other factors.</p><p>Lifetime warranty albeit the additional maintenance cost; and resale value is great for Titan Suspension – can trade off with Titan for new shocks / setup in case of change in ride.</p><p>Disclaimer: I am not by any means is an advertiser or boot licker of Titan. All that is mentioned is based on my personal experience of using Titan with comparison with other brands that were within my reach and it took me quite a bit of my time and resources to finally settle down with the brand that gave me the setup that I desired. Each individual has their own preference and Titan may not be their choice; hence, as mentioned, proceed with caution and invest correctly in the setup that is desired to avoid regrets in the long run. This comment is just meant to be a guide and perhaps for those who are tinkering to do it in less time than the 5 months that I consumed.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="darween13, post: 1064031884, member: 22807"] Car: Mitsubishi Lancer GT Brand: Titan Hi-Lo Performance Shocks + Original Lancer GT Springs Durability: 10,000KM – About 4 months now; so, unsure on durability but the need to service every 25,000KM will keep it intact I believe (lifetime warranty) – Could not comment much. Road use: City (50%), Highway (30%), Bumpy + Gravel + Pot Hole-filled-routes (20%) Comfort: 10/10 (Still new is one of the factor and as said the need to service every 25,000KM will ensure comfort I believe) – Could not comment much. Handling: 10/10 – The shocks handles well both in high speed and low speed; keeps the car firm, less body roll unlike the original shocks – impressed and very satisfied with the performance. Points to Note: Titan Suspension is fully custom made and built to customer’s requirements; hence, there are 3 level of setup within its full Hi-Lo suspension; 1) Soft 2) Medium 3) Hard. And within these setups, there are 2 levels of adjustment to each primary level; i.e.: Soft – Soft & Soft Medium, Medium – Medium & Medium Hard, Hard – Hard & Stiffest Having said these, Titan Custom Setup comes with its own pair of advantages and disadvantages. Hence, I will share my experience of searching the right setup for you all to judge the brands and desired setups that are available out there. Since the beginning of this year, I wanted to swap my original suspension to a hi-lo setup primarily for cosmetic purposes as I was about to swap my wheels from the Ori Lancer GT wheels to Volks TE37 SL. So, I contacted few sifu’s in ZTH as well as scouted around accessory shops for the right setup / suspension. The brands in discussion included: BC Racing, GAB, D&D, D2, and KW (Ori German made from Singapore). I dropped KW from the list due to its price though I believe that suspension could have all been worth it for the price. I had the chance to test out BC Racing, GAB & D&D as well as Titan; all full set Hi-Lo in Lancer GT. Having tested all, I wasn’t satisfied with the setup – it was too stiff for my liking and ride was very bumpy. That factor singularly was a put off hence I refrained from taking the car for a full spin to test out the handling. However, at Titan, the mechanic suggested that I couple their performance shocks with my original springs to preferable get the setup that I desire. As it stands, Lancer GT’s suspension and handling isn’t bad at all albeit the body roll, so, I decided to give it a try. And, the result is satisfactory and was to my liking. The stiffness increased perhaps by 20% compared to the original setting but handling wise, the car improved by miles as opposed to the original setting. I was extremely happy with the outcome simply because I managed to drop the height to 2 fingers both front and rear while not compromising much on the ride comfort and was able to extract a significant amount of difference in terms of handling. However, this setup comes with its unique advantages and disadvantages – and for those who are keen or are thinking of going down this path; please read with caution and evaluate all avenues available before you proceed – it took me approx. 5 months to settle down for something that I liked. Disadvantages: Titan is custom made – there could be recurring issues which would need you to return to the shop occasionally; at least in the beginning stage of installation – primarily due to the manual human assembling steps rather than machine automated assembling process of the suspension. Only one outlet in Cheras – Ampang; and only Titan mechanics are able to repair / troubleshoot the suspension – no alternative hence, the accessibility to the shop and its service is limited. Need for servicing at every 25,000KM interval – additional cost in terms of time and money. Price affordability – the full set of performance shocks is equivalent to full set of Hi-Lo setup of certain brands; hence, it may not entail some as the best investment. Advantages: Being custom made – everything could be customized to your preference; in terms of height, comfort, stiffness, handling as well as the quality of built of the shocks. Price vs Output – worth every penny spent (from personal perspective) as the suspension really performs the way I would like it to with minimal compromise on other factors. Lifetime warranty albeit the additional maintenance cost; and resale value is great for Titan Suspension – can trade off with Titan for new shocks / setup in case of change in ride. Disclaimer: I am not by any means is an advertiser or boot licker of Titan. All that is mentioned is based on my personal experience of using Titan with comparison with other brands that were within my reach and it took me quite a bit of my time and resources to finally settle down with the brand that gave me the setup that I desired. Each individual has their own preference and Titan may not be their choice; hence, as mentioned, proceed with caution and invest correctly in the setup that is desired to avoid regrets in the long run. This comment is just meant to be a guide and perhaps for those who are tinkering to do it in less time than the 5 months that I consumed. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
New original Defi Advance A1 NA package triple...
Started by
david tao
original rare Rays Volk Racing CE28 16x7jj offset...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Honda Jazz/Fit JSracing GTwing Spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Toyota Vios NCP93 front bonnet hood
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Honda civic fc varis spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F10 Msport front bumper set
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F30 M3/GTS front bonnet hood
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F10 vorsteiner rear bumper diffuser
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Mitsubishi Lancer Evo bodykit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F30 M3 front skirt lip
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Recent Posts
Darker Design : Mercedes-Benz Launches GLA Nightfall Edition in Malaysia
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Honda Malaysia Doubles Down on Hybrids: New CR-V Launches with Dual e:HEV...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
BateriHub Reaches 200-Store Milestone, Becomes Malaysia’s Largest...
Started by
The_Mechanic
News and Features
Been stalking for 3 years edy
Started by
dheepadarshan95
Introduction and Newbies
Recommendation: Turbocharger for 4B11 N.A engine
Started by
Mitevo7
Car Modification