Strange EK9

Hikaru

Aug 13, 2004
Atlanta, GA
photobucket.com
found this picture on the web, is this facelift or prefacelift? hehehehe....

Hikaru

Aug 13, 2004
Atlanta, GA
photobucket.com
99 front hood
99 bumper
96 fender
99 headlights that shaped to fit 96 fender perfectly, probably replica or homemade....

Daniel1688

Jun 23, 2005
PJ/KL
actually i came across 1 EK using 99 bumper and grill with projector headlamps but 96 bonnet and fender.car was from penang now sold to a girl in KL.

Hikaru

Aug 13, 2004
Atlanta, GA
photobucket.com
There are lots of hybrid out there by simply doing bumper cut and paste, but this particular one really got my eyes and the most amazing part is the way he did his headlights. I've never seen a 96 headlights with 99 housing and completely clear len like 99.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
Maybe it's a japanese aftermarket headlight meant for using 99 bumper with 96 fenders.. I don't think headlights are so easily moulded at home or DIY.

Try bending those plastic sheets with heat gun and you know what I mean.. simple curves are okay, but more than 50-80 degrees.. you tend to glaze and melt some of it before it manages to really curve that way.

Hikaru

Aug 13, 2004
Atlanta, GA
photobucket.com
exactly, seems like someone else is doing better than this boleh land.... kekeke...

This is a Japanese EK by the way.

Hikaru

Aug 13, 2004
Atlanta, GA
photobucket.com
awan, you have your ass sit in front of monitor and have your friend to collect huh? I'm home already by the way, hehehehe.....

Hikaru

Aug 13, 2004
Atlanta, GA
photobucket.com
J101 said:
shawn,
look at the lugs. its a converted fruit salad ek9 lah :p
It doesn't matter coz the point is on the headlights.

Maybe not many people can recognize but the headlights is the most amazing modification ever done.

zamrioo2

May 2, 2005
shiroitenshi said:
Maybe it's a japanese aftermarket headlight meant for using 99 bumper with 96 fenders.. I don't think headlights are so easily moulded at home or DIY.

Try bending those plastic sheets with heat gun and you know what I mean.. simple curves are okay, but more than 50-80 degrees.. you tend to glaze and melt some of it before it manages to really curve that way.
same like wira using evo head lamp n bonet la... have to mod fender, bumper n d bonet...

Hikaru

Aug 13, 2004
Atlanta, GA
photobucket.com
zamrioo2 said:
same like wira using evo head lamp n bonet la... have to mod fender, bumper n d bonet...
That's not the case, zamrioo2. That would be like converting prefacelift to facelift model which is damn easy.

Now the guy is using prefacelift headlights with facelift housing and facelift len. That's what make it amazing.

Jun 19, 2006
Hi there guys! I normally just browse through this site, but decided to have a little input to this.

I reckon the car is a prefacelit due to the following:
96-98 Fender
Front bumper is a C-West. Link to C-West ( http://www.trikmods.co.uk/demo_01.html)
96-98 Headlights (Egay special converted 99-00 clear lenses?)

That's my opinion.:regular_smile:

Thanks.