Stock ECU

jinkl

Like last time when i had the 1.6 engine
i always go to my mech
he plugs in his ECU thing and does the setting
then he will say "woah you was running very high fuel"
then he will say he tune for my already and reset the faulty codes.

Does this still apply for 4G63T MMC ecu ?
Can it be tuned ? or a SAFC is needed to do that ?
Cos like last time we open the battery it will reset the ECU rite ?
then now my neighbour mech took my ECU out and check if got cicak mati inside
then he put it back in , he said no need retune it.
cos i am abit blur and confused.

oh.. we can retune and utilize it without any piggy back??

yo.. can I visit ur friend too? :D

The OBDII sumthing sumthing is a hand held scanner(computer)... yes.. some can re-program the stock ECU provided the softwares are compatible and comes with the connecting socket... some dudes call it the Data Socket... usually the scanner will not be connected directly to the ECU itself.. mebi other sifu can explain better... i never heard ppl can re-tune error codes for 4G63T la.... mebi they dun have the correct sockets and softwares i guess. Usually.. the mech doing this is trained or at least have the service booklet to do it... otherwise.. it's all bullshit tuning.

IMHO, ECU got no problem.. dun need to check wan la.. waste of time only.

ppl dont retune, but im not so sure because last time i were driving 4g13p and the mech help me to increase my timing, its a siemen ecu.

but currently with my 4g92 mivec, what i know is the handheld only can reset or delete error codes

dont shoot me if im wrong, that just my experience.

Originally posted by jzhost@Jan 8 2005, 14:10
ppl dont retune, but im not so sure because last time i were driving 4g13p and the mech help me to increase my timing, its a siemen ecu.

but currently with my 4g92 mivec, what i know is the handheld only can reset or delete error codes

dont shoot me if im wrong, that just my experience.
Actually the mech not tune the ECU, they use a data logger to read the ECU data as a refference to tune the timing by twisting the screw at the throttle body. And as I know Proton and Perodua are not OBDii compliant, OBDii only for vehicle in the U.S. Correct me if I'm wrong.

errr... i have this problem with my car... it's drinking petrol like freakin joe camel... now rm50+ can take me around 250-270km max!!! 1.6A satria... i did service the car... ends up spending around rm800+... but damn the results is the same. izzit this ecu thingy fault? that mech did something like overhaul my engine... the car did feel more responsive but still with JOE CAMEL in there laaaa... SIGH :(

Originally posted by antaras@Jan 25 2005, 15:34
errr... i have this problem with my car... it's drinking petrol like freakin joe camel... now rm50+ can take me around 250-270km max!!! 1.6A satria... i did service the car... ends up spending around rm800+... but damn the results is the same. izzit this ecu thingy fault? that mech did something like overhaul my engine... the car did feel more responsive but still with JOE CAMEL in there laaaa... SIGH :(
is the water temperature running at the normal temp? second mark or slightly higher should be normal if its cooler... then u found ur "joe camel"

either ur thermostat is faulty or it has been removed.

WOA...salesman by day ...foreman by night....terror la u Doctor

my 1.3(M)yr2000 stock satria(4g13p) rm50 only can tahan max 400km..average gear shift at 3k rpm..

only changed exhaust mid til end,normal s-flow..but my exhaust most of the time come out white smoke and very smelly wan..

taikos,is there any prob with my car?
my lowest class satria drinks petrol like 1.6..
and 850kancil and 1.0kenari&kelisa also more powerful..

feel like changing my car la..
pls help.. :(

white smoke ?
oii..
hope not piston rings koyak wei
black smoke indicated RICH FUEL
but white smoke errr.. overhaul engine wor
better get new rings
or more cheaper u get a 2nd hand 1.5 engine around 400-500 can get 1.5 EFI SOHC