Spring Rate & Damping

I heard RCS has closed their business... :hmmmm:

REALLY?!?!?!?! I spoke to them couple of months back to get a rough idea on the pricing. They said they shifting office only. I spoke to this guy name Feezam.

There is a thread on it, seems the workers took over and now is RDS......

I just saw the thread. Didnt noticed that the thread became active again and got SOOOO many updates. This is the thread where it got me interested in custom and how i got to know RCS.

Aiyah....Sad case...Was really interested in their products though....But now, dillema after hearing advise/opinions from sifus here......Adjustables vs Custom.....:banghead:

Well, see your budget to match what you want to do. Of course weigh the pros and cons too.........:biggrin:

Well i have weight the pros and cons. But still cannot decide :rofl::rofl:

Good thing about custom is, is no hassle. After u get the setting right, then thats it. Is like you can have a suspension that can do everything without adjustment. Can be comfortable, and whack corners and handle well, all in one. But with that said, i belive it wont performance extremely well in one criteria. Meaning you can have the best of everything. Have to compromise. Balance out. But now, after reading, abit worried.

Adjustable is mafan lor. U must tune and adjust yourself. But then proven brand. Lasting. And cheaper (depends on brand) than custom. And you can ofcourse set-up to be extremely well in one criteria. Like if you go track, then just F the comfort and set-up hard as hell......Hahahhahahah

Well i have weight the pros and cons. But still cannot decide :rofl::rofl:

Good thing about custom is, is no hassle. After u get the setting right, then thats it. Is like you can have a suspension that can do everything without adjustment. Can be comfortable, and whack corners and handle well, all in one. But with that said, i belive it wont performance extremely well in one criteria. Meaning you can have the best of everything. Have to compromise. Balance out. But now, after reading, abit worried.

Adjustable is mafan lor. U must tune and adjust yourself. But then proven brand. Lasting. And cheaper (depends on brand) than custom. And you can ofcourse set-up to be extremely well in one criteria. Like if you go track, then just F the comfort and set-up hard as hell......Hahahhahahah
Yup, you said it already. Having a balanced suspension between comfort and performance it would not perform outright in track. Flat track maximum hard, max damping....:driver:

That would determine how often go track lor.....

By the way, the coilovers i saw, the spring rate is 6kg front and 4kg rear. Is this the standard rate that comes with all coilovers? I know you can request for stiffer rate la.

And if is a FWD, shouldnt the rear be stiffer than the front to reduce understeering??:hmmmm:

That would determine how often go track lor.....

By the way, the coilovers i saw, the spring rate is 6kg front and 4kg rear. Is this the standard rate that comes with all coilovers? I know you can request for stiffer rate la.

And if is a FWD, shouldnt the rear be stiffer than the front to reduce understeering??:hmmmm:

To reduce understeer, you can also use stiffer rear anti roll bar, reduce negative camber at the rear or even using tyre compound with less grip at the rear and sticky tyre like Bridgestone RE050 at the front.

Wah! setup like going for GRA.......:driver::burnout:

So the 6kg front and 4kg rear is a standard in all coilovers? Why there is the difference of 2kg in the rear?? :hmmmm::hmmmm::hmmmm:

Hmmmmm....Custom or Adjustables:idea:.....BC perhaps?? Any comments?

Was initially thinking about custom making one from RCS. I mean, save the hassle of tuning it yourself. They calculate everything and then custom a set base on what your want. And they have that velocity thingy, which changes the damping depending on the speed you are going. Pretty cool.....

Go for FTuned Racing.

So the 6kg front and 4kg rear is a standard in all coilovers? Why there is the difference of 2kg in the rear?? :hmmmm::hmmmm::hmmmm:

Cuz front is heavier than the rear also. Got engine ma. :biggrin:

Go for FTuned Racing. Like TitanRev. Even he go on track, they have service to help you adjust according to the tracks you race on. They come to the track. Is like having a pit crew. So nice service xD

Cuz front is heavier than the rear also. Got engine ma. :biggrin:

Any reviews/feedbacks on FTuned Racing? I have heard about them. Seen their website and FB as well. Alot of ppl using them. But have not fine a detail review on them and their product.

But if the coilovers spring rate is stiffer in front than the rear, then if the FWD install it, sure will undrsteer more right? I mean, general rule to eliminate understeer in FWD is stiffen the back.....

Wonder why you want to oversteer? It is easier to correct understeer then over steer

Oversteer = YENG LOR!!!! :rofl::rofl::rofl:

No la. I dont want oversteer. I just read up online. And it is said that for FWD, stiffening the back will induce oversteer. So if your car is understeering, you should put in some oversteer to counter the understeer. So they stiffen the back to balance it out. But over stiffening it will ofcourse lead to oversteer.

So im curious why the standard coilovers spring rate is stiff in the front? If is because engine is infront, then why the rear is 4kg and not something stiffer than the front? Additionally, is 6k front and 4kg back is the standard spring ratings on all off the shelves coilovers.:confused::confused:

Scare after mod, you get both under and over steer, then sliding sideways dy......hhahahhahahahaha:rofl:

The general overall feedback for ftuned is good. But the problem with ftuned is similar with RCS, it's too new so no one really will know how durable the shocks are. What's more is ftuned uses suspension custom built to their specifications by a company called Claws. I remember sometime ago Claws made coilovers, but it didn't hit off and they disappeared for some reason or just didn't become popular here.

Like that i think the choice is pretty clear already. Just get a reputable brand and fully adjustable ler (BC V1 perhaps??)......Thanks guys....

I'm not saying Claws is bad. I'm just saying no one has used it long enough to give feedback or those who have aren't in ZTH or haven't bothered to feedback

1. 90% of the people don't know how the f*** springs and shocks works. myself included. If we did we'd be race engineers. If you think watching a YouTube video will make you an expert, go play far far.
2. 90% of the crap sold here in Malaysia are crap, utter rubbish (GAB, MINES, etc.) The other 10% are the Ohlins, Sachs, Koni, Bilstein, Penske .

If you feel offended, you're stupid, stop reading. If you've never heard of Penske, you won't be able to differentiate a godlike suspension and crap suspension even if its in front of your face.

If you want to educate yourself and learn, read this, start at page 15
http://www.penskeshocks.co.uk/downloads/AdjustableTechManual.pdf

If you think your ASS can feel difference when you turn the knob on your hard/soft suspension and conclude it is better, again you're an idiot. if you buy 90% of the crap out there, the knob DOES NOT do what YOU THINK it does.

Are the shock absorbers calibrated to each other? Your balls also got 1 big 1 small, what makes you think identical shocks are identical? Common problems with 90% of the "adjustables"

Adjustables that does absolutely nothing;
Shocks with adjusters that varied by 10% on the same shock at the same setting;
Adjustables that had more crosstalk effect than they had actual effect (e.g. rebound adjuster where 1 click made a 10% change in rebound and a 30% change in compression);
Adjustables that are non-linear and exponential;
Adjustables which peaked in the middle of the adjustment range (in one example, "full hard" was softer than "full soft");

6KRtPhZ.jpg

If you're buying adjustables and it did not come with a shock dyno for each shock, like, don't bother buying. Cause you have absolutely no idea what the fuck you're adjusting. setting 4 on left shock might be 20% harder on rebound, but right shock is 50% harder. So imagine your car is on retard mode. And guess what? You paid money to fuck it up!

qIeYITA.jpg

And don't get me started on springs.

I'm not saying Claws is bad. I'm just saying no one has used it long enough to give feedback or those who have aren't in ZTH or haven't bothered to feedback

At least we know ftuned use their shocks so they're good in that respect.

I believe even with 6k front and 4k rear, the "effective" spring rate (for lack of a better word) will still be more in the front that the back. Because the front has engine.

Write your reply...