marv3
Hi sifus,
Not sure if this has been discussed before, but i would like to ask about the relationship of this 2 things in a suspension setup.
Some suspension has the HLHS. But how does the hard-soft feature affect the car's character? The hard-soft feature is just for the dampers and not the springs. I understand that the spring is the component that takes in the shocks and mitigate body rolls and all. And the dampers are there to control the springs compression (bump) and extension (rebound). But my question is, how does it correlated or compliment one another?
If i have very soft springs but i set my damping to very hard. Will i have a comfortable soft ride?
If i have a very hard springs but i set my damping to very soft. Will i have good handling?
I am just curious to know. As i often hear ppl talk about adjustables and then say things like "ohhhh too hard ah? Adjust softer la your dampers" or "too soft bro. must adjust the dampers harder"
But to me, the hard-soft they talking about, is not the springs isnt it? And adjusting the dampers wont make it more comfortable isnt it? (if u have hard springs)

Not sure if this has been discussed before, but i would like to ask about the relationship of this 2 things in a suspension setup.
Some suspension has the HLHS. But how does the hard-soft feature affect the car's character? The hard-soft feature is just for the dampers and not the springs. I understand that the spring is the component that takes in the shocks and mitigate body rolls and all. And the dampers are there to control the springs compression (bump) and extension (rebound). But my question is, how does it correlated or compliment one another?
If i have very soft springs but i set my damping to very hard. Will i have a comfortable soft ride?
If i have a very hard springs but i set my damping to very soft. Will i have good handling?
I am just curious to know. As i often hear ppl talk about adjustables and then say things like "ohhhh too hard ah? Adjust softer la your dampers" or "too soft bro. must adjust the dampers harder"
But to me, the hard-soft they talking about, is not the springs isnt it? And adjusting the dampers wont make it more comfortable isnt it? (if u have hard springs)