Silicone wiper refills

slick said:
Hi Boon,

Which carrefour u bought it from? How long ago was this?
It's just the refills?
Can it fit normal rubber wipers?

The PIAA one is actually a combination of the silicone wiper and liquid.
Some Windshield Preparation pack included with the wipers i think.
http://www.tirerack.com/accessories/piaa/super_silicone.jsp#

eh.. silicone n liquid? mean?

slick.....
bfore u buy, look to see how wide it is(normally it's the same quite standard)....than also measure ur wiper length. Buy the exact length of refill; and voila! Quite simple.
But I think better go for some brands lar.....like mine still dun know good or not lar....only being using it for less than 6 mths. So far so good. Sometimes brand does guarantee eventhough it's more expensive.

gloss ah gloss,
the BBQ still not confirm yet ler.....right?? Last week me and Chris kena big big aeroplane!!......but finally went to Rush with Calz & M@ntis

curious

just 1 2 ask, why silicon wipers make ''squeeky'' sounds?
is there anything i can do about it? (its fine whn it rains heavy, but if just a little, it sounds like hell)
i dont think brand make a different, its like eggs, an egg is still an egg, no matter how u cook it, (thats my opinion, no offence)

Cheers
Peter

Means the silicone wiper comes with a windscreen preparation liquid that you put on your windscreen before u start using the wiper lo.
Suppose to work together with the wiper to give better performance.

gloss said:
eh.. silicone n liquid? mean?

I went to carrefour subang last nite.
Saw the refill u mentioned.
But only got 16"
Mine satria using 18" i think. So dont have la.
They selling for RM13.90 per piece.
Maybe i go hunt for it in eneos or tesco or carrefour mid valley

b00n said:
slick.....
bfore u buy, look to see how wide it is(normally it's the same quite standard)....than also measure ur wiper length. Buy the exact length of refill; and voila! Quite simple.
But I think better go for some brands lar.....like mine still dun know good or not lar....only being using it for less than 6 mths. So far so good. Sometimes brand does guarantee eventhough it's more expensive.

gloss ah gloss,
the BBQ still not confirm yet ler.....right?? Last week me and Chris kena big big aeroplane!!......but finally went to Rush with Calz & M@ntis

wah.. sure boh? i was bz last sat le.. chris did find me in msn.. but i was not available.. come bc baru see got msg... aiyer... so pai seh.. sure he angry liaw de... hehehe...

adornis,
may i ask which brand r u using? u can call bc to the dealer n ask them service.. usually, silicone wiper wont sound. see thru all above thread to understand.. yes.. any brand silicone wiper will perform better than oem one.. like i said, its very personal, some look at brand, some look into their service...

slick,
eh.. llquid on ur windscreen ar? not sure abt tat, but i kno silicone wiper must go with grey powder, for all silicone wiper also same.. also with silicone wiper, pls dun use rain-x , it will make ur silicone wiper sound n jumpin like katak.... :mouth_closed: :mouth_closed: maybe the liquid is for cleaner ur windscreen purpose la..

rain-x is harmful to the windscreen and also to the wiper. Can't deny that it's powerful and true to the advert. 1 friend using rain-x can drive through the storm without any problem while I only drive like 40km/h on highway. What I heard is that the liquid will harden ur windscreen making it easy to crack.

I think I know what slick is talking about the liquid that comes with the wiper. Cos 1 friend of mine is using PIAA. But too expensive ler....& heard that the liquid is also not cheap.

Slick,
the wiper u said u saw in carrefour, does the packaging comes with blue japanese wording in front. I bought it in Wangsa Maju Carrefour. But the funny part i found out is that it performs excellent when the rain is big (many water kua); but if only like drizzling, mine stil got traces of water lines.

The next time i wash my car, thinking of using dishwasher to wash my windscreen. Heard that it's better as it contains substances to remove oil more effectively. But need to be careful not to let the liqud touch ur car body.

boon,

I read in another topic about cleaning your windscreen with Autosol.
I just tried it last week and it is really good.
I had stains on parts of my windscreen where my wiper does not wipe.
Stains tat looks like watermarks but no matter how much washing with soap, it cant be removed.
With Autosol, it all came off :)

I washed my windscreen with water and soap, then dry it.
Used Autosol to polish windscreen, trying to avoid the rubber seals around the perimeter of the windscreen.
Then wipe clean with a dry cloth before washing the windscreen again with water.

I think this also stopped the wiper from 'jumping' during light rain or drizzle.

Thanks for the infor, my man......will try it during my next car wash.....

slick, u from malacca also ar?? Nice to meet u.. U know there's a chinese bookshop at JJ? The one beside OSIM... U go opposite of the chinese bookshop.. And look for the place where they sell those PVC coil mats for cars... Those silicone wipers refill just placed opposite those mats lo...

Dura-Edge silscon refill

u can either call to 012-4711151 or visit us at Penang one stop center,Option car shoppe.It came together Gurrantee Card for Life.if u are not from Penang i can post it to u.It can fit to all kind of used wiper.RM88 per set.

Wiper Guarantee

When you see this world "Lifetime Guarantee". Must read the fine print. The question is what is the guarantee on manufacturing defects, crack, tear or what ?? Normally, most are on manufacturing defects and everone know that most wiper blade won't tear easy.

Most of the time our wiper blade is replaced due to wear and tear. So watch out and don't be cheated !!!

Be happy.

kowkl said:
When you see this world "Lifetime Guarantee". Must read the fine print. The question is what is the guarantee on manufacturing defects, crack, tear or what ?? Normally, most are on manufacturing defects and everone know that most wiper blade won't tear easy.

Most of the time our wiper blade is replaced due to wear and tear. So watch out and don't be cheated !!!

Be happy.

SWV is lifetime guarantee.....not bad a..can service wit FOC one.....hehe.....so syiok

buy SWV silicon wiper then spray "PIAA" on the wiper...... how???

Silicone Wiper know more

kowkl said:

Be happy.

kowkl,
yup i agree with you about the "Lifetime Guarantee" you can read more about silicone wiper at http://www.iamtagged.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=32
--> silicone is better resistance from heat,grease,oil,mud and rain (acid rain) or even UV light. When it says higher resistancy doesn't mean it won't get cut as silicone are soft in a way that element such as sharp object (refer to big sand particles or hard element) may cut the fin of the squeegee. So as long it is not cut by anything that i mention it is good for years and years under hotsun and under normal used condition.