• No, must continue bring more prosperity to Kuantan

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other .....

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

xbalance2002

World largest Rare earth processing Plant

Wah Kuantan got so big project, but after viewing this news report was shock as recently we saw what was happen in japan nuclear crisis.

An Australian mining company is facing a backlash in Malaysia over the construction of a plant to refine rare earths.

The plant's main waste contains the radioactive element thorium, linked to birth defects and leukemia, and the people of Kuantan say they don't want it in their town.

Malaysia has experienced a deadly thorium disaster before, which is still being cleaned up.

Lynas Corporation says the waste is safe, and the Malaysian Government has given approval for the plant to go ahead.

The public outcry has now prompted Malaysia to call an inquiry.

But local people are determined to stop the plant, regardless of what the investigation finds.

ABC ( Australian Broadcasting Corporation) Malaysian Backlash:

‪Malaysians campaign against rare earth mine‬‏ - YouTube

Al-Jazeera 101 East- Toxic Waste
Includes a debate between two Malaysian MPs:

http://english.aljazeera.net/programmes/101east/2011/05/201151092040184834.html

Mother's Day At Kuantan 2011
will give us a feel of the participation of the Pahang folks:
‪Mother's day Anti rare earth plant peaceful gathering @Teluk cempedak‬‏ - YouTube

Please also visit the main Facebook page with 28,000 members for the latest information and discussion:
Pahang Don't Need Hazardous Project

Pahang folks have collected 45,000 signatures on site to oppose the project.
For supporters outside Pahang, please sign the online petition:

STOP LYNAS! - The Petition Site

On behalf of the People's Green Coalition
Contact Persons:
Dr. Jayabalan : 012-402 7445
Dr. Khim Pa : 012-477 7706

SOS: http://www.malaysia-today.net/mtcolumns/letterssurat/40460--save-malaysia-stop-lynas

Taking a Risk for Rare Earths

09rare_cnd-articleLarge.jpg

A colossal construction project here could help determine whether the world can break China’s chokehold on the strategic metals crucial to products as diverse as Apple’s iPhone, Toyota’s Prius and Boeing’s smart bombs.

News continue link below.

SOS: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/03/09/business/energy-environment/09rare.html?pagewanted=all

For my personal opinion to stop this project is impossible maybe due to some issue but looking at news report their comment on how safe to our environmental, health and what will happen to our future generation who stay they.

What if the radioactive storage have some leakage is our Bomba up to the task?

while i am against all the environmental hazard projects i am well aware that the japanese nuclear disaster and what ever is happening in kuantan, is not comparable at all. layman description on both is at kuantan they are storing nuclear waste and the other fukushima's is a COOLING FAILURE of a nuclear plant

storing nuclear waste is normal thing and of course it gonna face backlash from people. but we got waste being stored all around the world. if u care to check on the US places of storing spent nuclear properties, they are all over the country. as for fukushima's disaster, u should know that the cooling mechanism was severely damaged by the floods/ tsunami that the rods werent be able to be cooled properly. infact the technology was very environmentally friendly that when it detected some abnormalities, the engineers were able to stop the plant operating safely even during tsunami hit.

the cooling was damaged due to some cumulative factors. failure of the generators to power cooling mechanism was one. so my point is, it was a safest technology ever. and fukushima is an entirely different case to kuantan.

i am not government's running dog or something but now we call ourselves mature and knowledgeable, it is only fitting for us to be able to tell the difference between the two. as for the storing nuclear wastage concerns, before anyone comes n bark at me, i know there are regulations regarding safe radius off a waste plant and the numbers are anything between 100-800km. so by looking at kuantan ,definitely a radius of anything 100km and more isnt possible.

as for nuclear generating plant, i welcome any plan of it since the cost benefit of such plan is tremendously justify-able. and yes u can do it near my house if technology and safe aspect of it are fit to be built.

but sometime people scare of things that they dont even know at all.

while i am against all the environmental hazard projects i am well aware that the japanese nuclear disaster and what ever is happening in kuantan, is not comparable at all. layman description on both is at kuantan they are storing nuclear waste and the other fukushima's is a COOLING FAILURE of a nuclear plant

storing nuclear waste is normal thing and of course it gonna face backlash from people. but we got waste being stored all around the world. if u care to check on the US places of storing spent nuclear properties, they are all over the country. as for fukushima's disaster, u should know that the cooling mechanism was severely damaged by the floods/ tsunami that the rods werent be able to be cooled properly. infact the technology was very environmentally friendly that when it detected some abnormalities, the engineers were able to stop the plant operating safely even during tsunami hit.

the cooling was damaged due to some cumulative factors. failure of the generators to power cooling mechanism was one. so my point is, it was a safest technology ever. and fukushima is an entirely different case to kuantan.

i am not government's running dog or something but now we call ourselves mature and knowledgeable, it is only fitting for us to be able to tell the difference between the two. as for the storing nuclear wastage concerns, before anyone comes n bark at me, i know there are regulations regarding safe radius off a waste plant and the numbers are anything between 100-800km. so by looking at kuantan ,definitely a radius of anything 100km and more isnt possible.

as for nuclear generating plant, i welcome any plan of it since the cost benefit of such plan is tremendously justify-able. and yes u can do it near my house if technology and safe aspect of it are fit to be built.

but sometime people scare of things that they dont even know at all.

exactly as what a fren of mine who is in this field told me when i asked him about Lynas issue..becoz until now i'm still blur of what is 'nadir bumi'....from what i understand, yes there is a risk but it is in a control environment and safe....i know nothing bout this thing :hmmmm:

it is a (used to be) good issue to discuss.
but when it becomes soo politic, that makes me sick.

yup, we don't need other country's waste on our Malaysian soil... it's like letting someone use your toilet... if they flush , the shit will still be in our sewage tank.. if they didn't flush, we'll be the one cleaning the mess or whatnot... hahahahaaha...

The issue is what is the point of having Lynas here considering the pros and cons? Do pros outweigh cons in this case? Possible fallout vs economic benefits?

if don't do it, sure there will be less risk.

If take the risk, due to China is squeezing plenty countries' balls, including japan, we will have extra bargain power when dealing with foreign investment.

End of the day, if you want less risk, then don't complain about price hike and etc.

For me, pollution and risk that brought by cars and trucks and those malaysian palm tree plantation investors in indonesia are way more hazardous.

Cut it short, it is just like a nuclear weapon. If you can have 1 in Malaysian, sure those indon military won't be so brave to catch our fishing boat from our sea and tol back to indon and charge them for fishing in their sea. But we need to take risk for storing such thing in the country. This Lynas thing is just like a nuclear weapon in the economy world.

It is good if the factory allow the 3rd party to do HSE audit the factory in weekly basis and the gov should provide radioactive index on the 8pm news and all newspaper daily. Of cause, importing radioactive detectors should be tax free. This will at least able to convince people a bit on the safety issue.

Some friend from Kuantan that stay near to this industrial area they say the property price is dropping .... 1 of my colleague hometown in kuantan say now they are look forward to by house in KL leaving the hometown from kuantan to KL new hometown.

Been planning on this September to go Cherating beach to view sun rise before this factory start to operation.

So for the benefit of RM8 billion a year to the GDP, 700K population is affected.

Don't mention tat u support Lynas in Kuantan. Sure being whack. Just go to any coffee shop or mamak, u'll hear ppl banging the state govt & Lynas Corp.