Satria with Mivec's rear spoiler.

boyzone

guys,
Will this spoiler can provide good down force for my car ?? Is it will affected pick up, top speed and stability ??
Any different if I go to those accessories to get a mivec rear spoiler compare with Mitsubishi Cyborg original rear mivec spoiler ??
Pls advise .. thanks.

Well for a hatchback, there's no such thing as generating downforce. Its not called a spoiler, its called a diffuser. Thing is, without it, there's less drag, but in high speeds the wind travel will lift off your car's butt. That's an inherited flaw in all hatchback designs. The diffuser is there to disrupt the airflow, generating drag but keeping the butt on the floor. So I don't think I should call it a spoiler :P

Diffuser ?? let;s say replace with mivec's deffuser, it can be help ??

any diffuser will do rite??... doesnt mean that mivec ones will work better...

but of coz, stuff like that, better get those that has aerodynamically designed lar.... product straight from drawing board wont work well...

in the first place... u'd have to ask yourself... why would u want so much downforce on the rear when u're driving an FF car ?? =Þ hahaha... sports cars have massive rear spoilers coz' they're mostly FR.

oh.. just call it a spoiler please... don't let soggie confuse u guys... he's just saying his opinion that it should be called a diffuser instead. =Þ

If hatch's don't have downforce... they'd be flying.
The only drawback a hatchback has is the amount of turbulence and back flow generated behind the vehicle... along with a longer reattachment point... causing increased drag force.

mostly its for cosmetic purpose la... the effect wont be that much unless u are going about 140kmh or so.... how often will u go 140kmh??...

actually u can't exactly judge like that also lar... the faster u go, the more downforce there is... so its usefulness is quite subjective to the driving conditions lerz... but whut ever it is... on straight roads, its better to have lower drag ie: no wing. =Þ

If you're thinking... if no wing, then a car go too fast will fly?
Nah... if a car's been properly designed... that shouldn't happen. There should be a net downforce on the car's aerodynamics.

The extra downforce from the rear spoiler comes in more handy for cornering traction... ie: better grip for faster corners.

So yeah... u can pretty much say, on a road car (assuming u drive very civilized)... it isn't that necessary... and is mostly for cosmetic purposes. Satrias do look kinda weird without a rear wing... looks botak

All bro,
I highlight this topic is because I refer back all the magazine regarding Mitsubishi cyborg, all are install with this kind of big bat rear spoiler, and base on the book editor explaination, it would help on handling, like what Alvin mention.
So, Is quite hard to get cyborg rear spoiler ; so my concern is : if I purchase this rear spoiler on those accessories shop( local make ), is it will work as well as oem setting from cybrog ??

Pls advise.

Thats going to be pretty hard to say. If you're lucky, it'll work as good... if u're not... it'll make things worse. =Þ

A car's aerodynamics have been calculated, tested and manufactured to precision... every mm counts... even the slightest change of angle will effect the downforce and drag created by the rear spoiler.

Do you think the wing at brothers, dai ichi, grandpire and all that, can come anywhere close to that precision? Those are made solely for the 'looks' only lar... unless by chance soooooo happen the spoiler is coincidencely made by luck to get more handling performance... then u're lucky lor. =Þ U won't know for sure unless u take that and do flow testing with it. hehehe...

Original bodykits (proper branded ones) are all calculated to precision also... even as much as the window visor made my Mugen for tha Jazz are also flow tested (or so they claim on their website). Thats also the reason being these things are so darn expensive. =Þ

yes, u r right.. that's why I bring up to get some input.
So, I will try to look for cyborg rear spoiler to get better accuracy calculating on handling and down force.
Thanks ..

if yours is not the '95 satria... means the boot design has been changed. =Þ

If not mistaken the original cyborgR rear spoiler won't be able to mount itself properly... and even if it could, it might not be angled the same. =Þ hahahaa...

mine one yr 97 Satria ...so, better dun change..laa... hahaha.
Beside cyborg spoiler, how about GTI spoiler ?? any idea on it ??

Do remember, without a spoiler on a Satria it will create more vacuum on the butt centre. Coz Satria butt are very round curve ( as Alvin mention Botak :) ), u'll able to see that without any spoiler. When travel above 160km/H I believe those Wind/Vacuum will cost a bit unstable on the rear if without any spoiler. Unless u having very BIG rim and tyres.

I test with both GTi and Mivec spoiler ( fiber ) & also without any of them, on rainning time. You can see how the rain water goes while driving and after driving can see pattern dirty water goes that still stick on the butt.

With the Mivec type = the vacuum point goes lower nearly to the bumper. The end I prefer choose GTi, coz i think it is more equal for both advantage.

If possible get stronger GT wing, those aluminum type.

hi, Bro dareMax...
So u mean that GTI spoiler is more siut for our Satria ..laa ??
After install, it would help on stability right ??

boyzone said:
hi, Bro dareMax...
I dunno does it help on stability or not. Coz when the time I installed the GTi spoiler I also installed rear ARB. So not really sure the spoiler help or not.From what i see GTi spoiler the wind can go through top and bottom. Mean provide road holding comparing Mivec wind just flowing on top. Spoiler works when we reach till some high speed. You can try to search thru some info from Japan web. They do show some R&D clips. I saw long time ago, forgot which or where was it. Happy modding.

boyzone said:
hi, Bro dareMax...

if you're a professional race car driver... and u really know how to max out your car on track... then yeah... maybe with the help of the rear wing... u could cut down a couple seconds per lap...

That kinda performance gains on the road...? I think its gonna be hardly felt... so just get what ever wing u think looks best... and just stick wtih it lar. No need so mafan... just go for the looks. hahhaa... =Þ
Its not like the wing is going to make a significant difference on the roads.