rubber lining hanging under bumper touching de ground... serve any purpose?

ekiddie said:
aLo...

ask ask all de car zth car enthuasist ar ... i guess u all sure have seen some of those cars wif a rubber lining hanging under the bumper touching the ground wan, rite...

well, does that serve any purpose?? my wife's car got static shock everytime i off the engine n got out the car wanted to close the door... de door zapped me! isK! btw, it's a new car... a kenari... and i alwiz kena zap from it... hmm...

just wud wanna know does the rubber thing help? and wat is that and where can it be found?

thx!

;)

Hi Man ,

Ok ... this is what i know about this .... ( but if you really want a better explanation , get a form 4 FIZIK textbook or reference book and look up for static and kinetic and energy )

Ok usually u would see this at the back of big tanker lorries ...... the rubber actually has metal lining inside it....... the thing is ....our breating air contains ...oxygen , karbon and other natural gases ...... well actually ion's ( particle's or atoms ) which carry positive and negative charges make up these gases .... they always collide which each other ( means that they tend to move around a lot ) ....you get less movement in solid and liquid material ....... ( less space between the atoms ) ........ So when the actually move and bump around each other they create energy in form of static energy ......... now this is in a natural enviroment ........ imagine a car travelling at 120 kmh ....how much particle it would hit ......solid steel bumping into millions of ions of air ...... thus these enery is accumulated in your car ...since steel can conduct electricity .......( the bigger the vehicle the more static energy it accumulates

So when u actually stop your car and make contact with any metal piece ...you get a jolt because the electricity is trying to get out from the car ( to ground it self ).... the shortest way is through u since we humans can conduct electricity as well ....it can't travel by itself since ur car is grounded by the tyre .... ( rubber ma ) ..... I suppose why u get jolted is because either ur not wearing a rubber sole shoe ...or there is something wrong with the grounding of ur car ....( try to get it checked out ) ...........

Usually if u have the rubber thing that u mentioned ...all the static should have been released to the ground through the metal lining in the rubber.......

( Hope this helps ... and do correct me if I am wrong )

try grounding.. ground yr car body(firewall) to your battery negative terminal. while you are at it, might as well ground the whole engine. :P check out the grounding threads !

if the rubber lining metal wire kena the ground with high voltage

guarantee the car explode

kekekeke