Repairing SpeedMeter circuitboard

ken yeang

Guys,

I am trying to help out my cousin here. He bought a Toyota Corona year 1992, but the speedmeter not running. Upon checking, there are some burnt mark on circuit & terminal in the back of the PCB.

A kedai potong replacement meter cost roughly RM400, and no telling will run ok or not.

Are there anyone in KL or Selangor that could repair the such PCB? Appreciate if bros here can point me to the right direction. A contact number/person in charge info will be very good.

I got a electronics friend who might be able to help. Let me ask him and get back to you.

---------- Post added at 10:05 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:54 AM ----------

I just sent you a PM with his contact. He said to whatsapp him pics of the pcb

Skyee

May 27, 2007
meter usually RM150 only. with working condition. Go search other shop

I got my Hyundai one quite cheap but that was quite s few years ago. Nowadays everything up in price dy......:banghead:

ken yeang

meter usually RM150 only. with working condition. Go search other shop
Where exactly is that OTHER shop?, that sold the meter for RM150?? Please do tell, rather than telling "search the other shop"

The owner will buy 2 units if the price is RM150.

ken yeang

that is why trying to repair than buying a meter and kena slaughter.....

ken yeang

I dont know. I have passed the contact to my cousin though.

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
bro can post a full picture and clearer picture of the rear meter? i cant see any burnt marks, on the circuit board you can follow the lines there will be like codes to indicate the wiring terminal/pin...you can see if that burnt area is related to the speedo circuit.

have you checked the speedo cable (if applicable) common the speedo cable tip might be snapped. the part where it fits into the speedo meter

not sure if yours is circuit related or not, but commonly its either the speedo itsself or the speedo cable.

this is how mine looked like (not a corona)

the 1st pic is showing the whole speedo meter removed. 2nd pic is the rear of the speedo. thats where the speedo cable

3rd pic is showing dried solder joints, sometimes cleaning this with contact/circuit cleaner will help

I'm driving evo 3, using exedy standard clutch and plate, my clutch seems to be giving way now , more slippage, thinking of changing just the clutch to exedy 4puck/3puck racing clutch , and use back the my current clutch plate, as its just 6monthz old, is it ok if I just change the clutch?..tq