Rear Disc Brake Querries

drewn123

hi... I'm a newbie and I hope Sifus out there can help me with this..
:confused_smile:

I'm drivin a CIVIC EJ7 1.6VTEC SOHC, as you all know; the car had rear drum brake as stock. I wanna upgrade to disc brake. My car got ABS as far as I know bcuz there's light whenever I wanna start the engine.

I've asked bout the rear disc brake price around here...
- RM500++ from EG model but non-ABS (can install but the damn ABS will
light-up forever, hahahaha)
- RM750++ from EK model with ABS (the shop-shop seller told me it's plug & play)

1. Is the price ok or not???
2. EK model with ABS caliper is how many pot?? (the above mentioned item)
3. I'm not sure whether my rear drum is ABS equipped or not... info pls??
4. Can anybody tell their conversion history??
5. Izzit there's really something so easily as plug and play?? I'm quite amused when he told me that.... i mean "come-on! whenever there's conversion there surely will be other things to upgrade, other that the disc brake itself....."

sorry if my post is too long..... i don't wanna waste my hard earned $$$ on a piece of crap just based on a seller's opinion/tactics and regret later on about not getting the correct model of rear disc brake........

thanks a lot guys/gals :regular_smile:

drewn123 said:
hi... I'm a newbie and I hope Sifus out there can help me with this..
:confused_smile:

I'm drivin a CIVIC EJ7 1.6VTEC SOHC, as you all know; the car had rear drum brake as stock. I wanna upgrade to disc brake. My car got ABS as far as I know bcuz there's light whenever I wanna start the engine.

I've asked bout the rear disc brake price around here...
- RM500++ from EG model but non-ABS (can install but the damn ABS will
light-up forever, hahahaha)
- RM750++ from EK model with ABS (the shop-shop seller told me it's plug & play)

1. Is the price ok or not???
2. EK model with ABS caliper is how many pot?? (the above mentioned item)
3. I'm not sure whether my rear drum is ABS equipped or not... info pls??
4. Can anybody tell their conversion history??
5. Izzit there's really something so easily as plug and play?? I'm quite amused when he told me that.... i mean "come-on! whenever there's conversion there surely will be other things to upgrade, other that the disc brake itself....."

sorry if my post is too long..... i don't wanna waste my hard earned $$$ on a piece of crap just based on a seller's opinion/tactics and regret later on about not getting the correct model of rear disc brake........

thanks a lot guys/gals :regular_smile:

I don't think stuffing the rear discs are the only thing you need.

Even when I changed mine (EG) to EK9 discs, I needed a new master pump and proportioning valve..

Better check for sure if the discs are the only thing you need.

Normally u will hav 2 install evrything including d arms as well, not jus the d caliper n disc. u shud come down to puchong one day they alot there>>>

just take out the drum & change to disc is ok [like me..]. most pomen, can do it. sav time! unless, big bushing already broken. then, best way to change all include that bush. [ori bush is abt rm110 1pc. cap ayam, rm45]

mostly, ek rear ABS disc brek is below rm600. non ABS below rm500. last time, got eg6 rear dis brek for rm350. but, very poor condition! one side always 'lekat'.. sell it rm250 after buy a ek hafkat!

ur case, after change to rear dis.. i believe, $$$ is important thing! so, cheapest way is change a master brake pump for better performance. try looking for double layer/sv4 model!

edy7311 said:
ur case, after change to rear dis.. i believe, $$$ is important thing! so, cheapest way is change a master brake pump for better performance. try looking for double layer/sv4 model!

Better performance? More like the brake pedal doesn't have to be pressed as far.. I though just changing the disc would make the brake pedal feel squishy, since there's a lot more fluid needed for a rear disc than a drum.

I'm using a double layer brake pump already.. and I can say is.. THIS IS WHAT DISC BRAKES SHOULD FEEL LIKE!

better u change it with ek hafcut, not from eg hafcut..coz i've got problem with rear allignment since i've used eg rear disc brake set... but now that problem settled when i've change it to ek raer disc(complete set) coz some pomen told me that measurement of eg rear disc not same as ek rear disc

drewn, 750 for the EK disc with abs is a bit expensive. normally it will cost around 450-550.
for the rear disc make sure u send it to any foremen to verify wether it comes with abs or not.
EJ normally comes with 2 type of ABS one is the real one another one is simple ABS (called ABS stopper)...
if u using the ABS stopper then no point to get the rear disc with ABS..
the real ABS got its own so-called ABS controller n its reside on ur engine bay.

Dscn6043.jpg

hattech-v said:
drewn, 750 for the EK disc with abs is a bit expensive. normally it will cost around 450-550.
for the rear disc make sure u send it to any foremen to verify wether it comes with abs or not.
EJ normally comes with 2 type of ABS one is the real one another one is simple ABS (called ABS stopper)...
the real ABS got its own so-called ABS controller n its reside on ur engine bay.

Dscn6043.jpg
That's a bloody clean engine bay!! Woot! Props to the owner yo!.

hattech-v said:

Dscn6043.jpg
hattech bro..,
i know about the real ABS but what/how is the simple ABS (ABS stopper) functions? my car has this thing and the only thing that my mech didn't replaced with the one from the h/cut during convertion....

thx..... i'll look around for better deal then..... dun wanna kena pancung....

EK4 full set rear disc ard 400-500 for ABS if u have ABS system...and u can get rear disc set from DC2 GSR for option about the same price...double layer SV4 brake pump ard 80-100

It's true that you will need to swap the master pump and proportionate valve as well or you will feel it's better to have the drum back.

darkemperor, i'm not sure how the abs-stopper function... got it on my eg but never try it... will try it later...

well...got a friend who just convert the drum brake yesterday....RM550 including installation somemore...i think your offer is expensive bro...

anyway remember to brake slowly after you just converted cause the brake might be lossen a bit to let the brakepad "lekat" to the discbreak....

i heard steel brakeline can increase braking performance...anyone installed it?

civic@938 said:
i heard steel brakeline can increase braking performance...anyone installed it?

It's called 'steel-braided' because there's steel-braid covering the actual hose. It supposedly offers less line expansion.

From my test on a friends car with Goodridge steel-braided lines .. I cannot feel any difference (both of us using the CTR discs). Maybe it's for extreme use, where the brakes are used often, and the lines heat up more, so there is a need to control the brake line hose expansion.

Still, no worries about something sharp hitting the line and rupturing the rubber hose, since it's covered with steel braids. So depends on the person, the RM500-600 price for it might be worth it.

Price is depends how u value on it lah. Civic@938 might get cheap because u r in JB. Fren to fren selling, we cannot compare price to tat also. In KL price might gone up to 650. If u rajin to search it directly from half cut shop i think below 550 is not a problem. 100 for installation I think it's reasonable. Some people just want to save the hassle from searching, definately the price is not that low loh. Hope u guys can understand. :)

however, by retaining the existing masterpump, how bad the performance comparison to dual-layer masterpump(sp?)
or just the ori pump wont last long?

btw, is there a different in disc size between eg, ek n ctr rear disc?

You can keep the stock brake pump, but you will have some hard time to get it stopped instantly. You will feel like your drump is better than the disc coz it's more responsive. Reason being that your brake pump is no longer powerful enough to hold the extra rear disc so you have to kick the brake pedal down to the floor than you can feel the car is slowing down.

Another thing is the distribution valve as it distribute the brake fluid equally to all 4 disc and your stock setup was actually focused on the front disc.

e-jump said:
however, by retaining the existing masterpump, how bad the performance comparison to dual-layer masterpump(sp?)
or just the ori pump wont last long?

btw, is there a different in disc size between eg, ek n ctr rear disc?

Retaining the master pump means you need to press a lot deeper for the brakes to bite. The proportioning valve is something like brake bias controller, except it's non adjustable.

CTR discs are bigger than EG/EK, and I'm using it.

Here's a photo of CTR rims and discs. (My current wheels, MF-10 got bent lip, under repair)
oriCTR.jpg

EK9 CTR rims are 15 inches (definitely), so you can guess how much bigger the discs are based on the clearance of the caliper. I'm guessing 12-13 inches?