R3-Satria (gti)

That should make lala's car cooler heheh. Actually as long as you all have the same com pressor it should not be a problem. Let me find out more details before this turns into a "mine's bigger than yours" thread..

Originally posted by sousuke@Jan 31 2005, 14:53
eh mine also paip lori rite? :unsure: :lol:
Yours not as big as handsome's. Somehow that statement sounds funny. hahahah...mine is smaller than yours! nyeh nyeh nyeh nyeh!

:D

Originally posted by Crash@Jan 31 2005, 16:11
Yours not as big as handsome's. Somehow that statement sounds funny. hahahah...mine is smaller than yours! nyeh nyeh nyeh nyeh!

:D
erm...yeah....okay... :ph34r:

:lol: j/k

Originally posted by faisal@Jan 31 2005, 16:10
That should make lala's car cooler heheh. Actually as long as you all have the same com pressor it should not be a problem. Let me find out more details before this turns into a "mine's bigger than yours" thread..
Compressor is Patco, that's for sure. We checked. Strange that we have all different hose sizes though, mine being the thinnest and sexiest. :D No wonder my air-con is cold - higher velocity mah!

Originally posted by Seraph@Jan 31 2005, 19:54
You guys should have a common blog for your R3 project cars ;)
Good idea, but I think the R3 forum is meant for that.

Test drive review just got printed in February's AUTOCAR. Grab it while you can :D

Originally posted by Crash+Jan 31 2005, 20:04 -->
QUOTE (Crash @ Jan 31 2005, 20:04 )
--QuoteBegin-Seraph
@Jan 31 2005, 19:54

Good idea, but I think the R3 forum is meant for that. [/b][/quote]
I think you guys need something abit more dynamic than a forum like this.

Maybe a blog then can see what happends in cronological order ;)
Then different page for different owner, stuff like that you know ;)

Originally posted by Seraph+Jan 31 2005, 21:44 -->
QUOTE (Seraph @ Jan 31 2005, 21:44 )
Originally posted by Crash@Jan 31 2005, 20:04
--QuoteBegin-Seraph

Then different page for different owner, stuff like that you know ;) [/b][/quote]
Well good idea, but Amin of R3 has advised me to wait a little coz they are planning an official SR3 Club or something. But we could do an exclusive unofficial SR3 blog. I have my own webhost and can get it to run from there. Could be an idea.

Alright guys, as promised here's my review of the Satria R3 on track.

Venue: Sepang F1 Circuit
Date: 30 January 2005
Time: 10am
Event : Japan K4-GP Pre-Race free run

A bit of background about the event. If you read Autoworld's news section, there's an article about the K4-GP. It's basically a GP for K-cars where cars from 660cc to 1500cc get together to have a blast. In order to foster good relations with the local K-Car community, the organizers, along with SIC's management and Traffic magazine invited K2OC (Kenari & Kelisa Owner's Club) for a few rounds around the track before the GP commenced. Around 40 cars went for the event with an even split between Kenaris and Kelisas. We were split into 2 teams, given 5 laps each. Kelisas went first and a friend of mine, Emissary (not his real name), took the lead (as to minimize the amount of danger from overtaking). Being a total SIC n00b, I tailed him to learn the lines and braking points.

First lap was just a simple cruise, warming up tyres and brakes. Only from the 2nd lap onwards, did business begin.

Straightline speed : All claims by R3 about acceleration and top speed were proven on that day. It was quite rare for me to shift into 5th gear, as 4th already takes me to 170++. Something which was achieved on the straight easily. But I didn't want to go too fast lest I lose my sifu guide.

Cornering : An idiot can drive this car. Period. Entering hairpins on neutral, wrongly timed heel-toeing, over-late braking and changing gears mid-corner, driving with one hand upside down, you name it. Basically everything you can possibly do to flip an MPV or sandtrap a saloon; I've done it. But everything is forgiven. The car communicates with you so well you know what to anticipate and how to react. Going wide on Turn 9? No problemo; twitch your right foot upwards and the rear steps out just enough to tuck you back into shape. Then power through when you feel it's right. Countersteering is optional :)

Braking : This one's my favourite. The car responds very quickly to any taps on the brakes, with the tail feeling very eager when doing so. But you won't end up facing the car behind you. It's that controllable. I wouldn't say there was any hard braking (never had to stand on the brakes to slow down), but the brakes and stopping power essentially felt the same after 5 laps as when I entered the track. My conclusion is that I'd take a fade free setup like this over twin-pots anyday.

Overall : An amazing experience. From the stiff and communicative body to the grippy bucket seats to the chewing gum tyres to the resilient brakes, this car was meant to be driven on track right out of the box. Everything about this car screams balance. From the engine performance right down to the handling, there is little or no compromise. To nay-sayers who feel that certain items could've been removed to save costs, I say this; everything makes sense the moment you take the car on track. The key word here is packaging. And I believe the R3 boys got it right.

Fastest lap time : ~3:20 mins (timed with a running camcorder).

So I guess that's all a former SIC virgin can regurgitate about his experience. If you have any other questions do ask! :D

prozac,

Excellent review and pictures. Nice. Makes me itch to get my ass to the track even more! Let's do one soon man! Can't wait!

Originally posted by Crash@Jan 31 2005, 23:32
prozac,

Excellent review and pictures. Nice. Makes me itch to get my ass to the track even more! Let's do one soon man! Can't wait!
yes...plzz!!!!!! :(

BTW, pics a.k.a racun are courtesy of Emissary's girlfriend :)

Originally posted by Crash+Jan 31 2005, 22:38 -->
QUOTE (Crash @ Jan 31 2005, 22:38 )
Originally posted by Seraph@Jan 31 2005, 21:44
Originally posted by Crash@Jan 31 2005, 20:04
--QuoteBegin-Seraph

Then different page for different owner, stuff like that you know ;)

Well good idea, but Amin of R3 has advised me to wait a little coz they are planning an official SR3 Club or something. But we could do an exclusive unofficial SR3 blog. I have my own webhost and can get it to run from there. Could be an idea. [/b][/quote]
sounds nice....

perhaps u can do some initial brainstorming first, some initial articles of events, and diy sessions before the club is formed ;)

Prozac...

You are now living proof that even noobs can access 80% of the Satria R3s capabilities! Excellent fun you must've had that day! I was supposed to go (because a japanese friend of mine was racing that day) but didn't unfortunately.

About the track days and club: yes, Faisal and Amin are working on it, track day being high on the list. Thing is with CNY and F1 coming up, unfortunately there isn't any free schedule on the SIC calendar till after the bloody F1, so do hold on to your horses.

On the other hand, there's always Friday night Awana sessions.. :P

/adian

wah Crash, today my car join ur 'group'...kene scratch quite long but not as long as the one u kena :angry:

sent my car for my 2nd service this morning and met w/ a lady owner of car no 19...though she said it's her 16 y/o daughter's car :wub: heheh...anyway i told her bout our usuall TT sessions n she gave me her daughter's phone number n e-mail add :)