Reposting this article since the ZTH was hacked (basket!)
Was at Revolution (the guys who maintain Ron Lim's trusty RX-7) with 3 other SR3 guys - prozac (car #6), handsome_lala (car #13) and sousuke (car #9) on Saturday.
http://verne.spymac.net/images/revo-300105/rizal.jpg
Prozac, looking very serious about modding his car... :D
http://verne.spymac.net/images/revo-300105/luke.jpg
Handsome_lala looking very cheerful in the morning!
I got my steering realigned by Sam at today, then got Danny to get my Pivot Raizin Volt Stabiliser and grounding kit installed, in addition to a PiperCross cold-air intake pipe. I have been experiencing static whenever alighting from my car, when I touch the door to close it. And of course the fluctuation of RPM when you turn on the lights, or power window when the car idles. The fluctuation is quite normal, similar to my previous ride.
http://verne.spymac.net/images/revo-300105/pivot1.jpg
Shot of the installed Pivot kit. Seen beside it is the PiperCross CAI.
http://verne.spymac.net/images/revo-300105/pivot2.jpg
Danny dismantling the stock CAI after the installation of the Pivot kit.
After installation, I can seriously say that the kit works! Not only did it solve the static problems and current fluctuations, it also reduces the drag that is usually associated when turn on the air-con while car is in movement. The engine roughly loses 12% of power or needs to work 12% harder when the air-con is on, giving it the 'drag' or 'lag' if you want to call it that. Prozac and I tested my SR3 once we got the kit installed and it definitely made a difference.
Don't know about the power increase, as usually associated with a grounding kit installation, but my primary goal was really to stabilise the current. It works as claimed.
Had a little bit of a problem getting the intake pipe to fit though. Unlike my Persona which had the intake pipe protrude through a drilled groove where the right spotlight should be, the GTI bumper had a metal piece which barricaded any access, where the tyre flare is located. We eventually decided to place it behind this grooved metal plate as the pipe was clearly to short to fit the fog lamp hole.
I find the car slightly more responsive and more vocal. Not at open-pod levels, but definitely throaty. Nice.
Oh btw, we've noticed inconsistency yet again with our hand-assembled cars. The air-con hose differs from car to car. While comparing our 'pipes' *ahem*, handsome_lala came out tops with the biggest hose amongst the 4 SR3s which were there. Paip lori wei!
http://verne.spymac.net/images/revo-300105/bigpipe.jpg
A view of the 'paip lori'
http://verne.spymac.net/images/revo-300105/pipe2.jpg
A finger to comparo the size of the hose.
http://verne.spymac.net/images/revo-300105/pipe3.jpg
A close-up with serial number of the hose.
Anyways, was a fun meet. Hope to do this again soon.