R3-Satria (gti)

i dont think TM drives an R3 around, but the R3 at saji is driven by a friend of mine who works in proton motorsports.

Hahah everyone's starting to sound like a bored kid on a long journey, "Are we there yet?"

But...1 MONTH is a little too long a wait for the first batch of owners. Reiterating handsome's statements; we need answers.

Its hard to know the real output figures really, unless dynoed, which I would definitely do once I get the car. Quite curious to know REAL figures.

SGTis, Putras and Wira LEs were all quoted as 133bhp at the flywheel. 140bhp on the R3 isn't all that great, but the power-to-weight definitely beats all the rest. In fact, I actually expected more, as initial reports were 145bhp.

You can 'unleash' a little more (about 6bhp) by removing the cat and replacing it with an exclusive 'R3' pipe, tucked away in the boot for safe measure. :D

Thats why.....excited to know its real world performance and attributes mah ;)
It might look good on paper but like in football, we don't drive on paper :lol:

Originally posted by Seraph@Nov 19 2004, 16:36
Thats why.....excited to know its real world performance and attributes mah ;)
It might look good on paper but like in football, we don't drive on paper :lol:
seraph, that was a good one! *nobody drives on paper* :D hehhehe

Eh...crash are you planning to do the dyno once you get the car? or wait till like 5000km first?

I heard somewhere that you're supposed to rev the engine kau2 before 100km mileage to seat the piston rings properly to maximise potential. And doing a dyno is one way to do just that.

I think 1000-3000km is enough to run-in the engine. I dunno for sure, but a little bird told me to go long distance at constant speed and RPM where possible to ensure its run-in properly.

Really have no idea what's the proper way. Anyone?

We should all meet up and go for a dyno session at Speedworks or something. Should be fun :)

Originally posted by Crash@Nov 19 2004, 19:53
We should all meet up and go for a dyno session at Speedworks or something. Should be fun :)
Here's the controversial article regarding engine break-in:

http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

From what I read, there is no harm in performing the mentioned actions. The user manual only states that you cannot drive for long distances above a certain speed; nothing about an RPM limit. So the classical break-in theory and this controversial method do co-exist.

BTW, one of the methods used to also break-in a car is through a dyno. So, let's do the dyno when we get our cars :D

Originally posted by Crash@Nov 19 2004, 16:36
You can 'unleash' a little more (about 6bhp) by removing the cat and replacing it with an exclusive 'R3' pipe, tucked away in the boot for safe measure. :D
Dude, can ya elaborate more on this ? The proton edar guy dint even mentioned about this.Is it included with every R3's? :unsure: :huh:

Originally posted by sam9349+Nov 20 2004, 12:05 -->
QUOTE (sam9349 @ Nov 20 2004, 12:05 )
--QuoteBegin-Crash
@Nov 19 2004, 16:36

Dude, can ya elaborate more on this ? The proton edar guy dint even mentioned about this.Is it included with every R3's? :unsure: :huh: [/b][/quote]
My SA did. Read through this thread to find more info about the car.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/index....pic=17768&st=90

Guess what? the SSO series is back - 4th - 5th Decemeber! The first batch of buyers should get their cars before then. So what are you waiting for? Sign up http://groups.msn.com/racerallyresearch/sso4signup.msnw!

I won't be joining this SSO just yet. Need to get used to handling a bigger car or else I'll be hitting cones left n right! :lol:

But I'd like to go watch. And I hope other owners will go too. Wanna give support to fellow R3'ians :D

BTW, good idea on joining the SSO. Now if they REALLY don't deliver the car by then, it'll reflect quite badly on them.

I will be getting my R3 latest 4th Dec!! sigh

p.s. Thaks Faizal for returning the call. Thats what i call dedication to customers.

Originally posted by handsome_lala@Nov 23 2004, 14:27
I will be getting my R3 latest 4th Dec!! sigh

p.s. Thaks Faizal for returning the call. Thats what i call dedication to customers.
Kewl. So go sign up for SSO! :)

If I don't get my car before then, or don't have enough time to run in, I'll use my cousin's Toyota LE. It's like a go-kart, no power steering! :D

Yeah, Faisal's a cool dude, if only our friends at PE show that kind of dedication. Nuff said.

4th Dec...that sounds more realistic. Thank goodness there's NFS:U2 to occupy me till I take delivery.

But I'm telling any busybody who asks me when I'm getting the car, "Next year".

Signed documents at BCF. We're almost there guys! Hold on to your horses!

Waaaa.... you guys suck man! Cilaka R3 buyers!!! hahahahaha! :lol:
Lucky fellers. Summore got attractive stage 2, 3, 4 and so on upgrades DEVELOPED just for R3. Dammit!

My 1000th :o post will be a tribute to R3.
Been in R3 for test run......

FUCKING excellent.
Be prepared to fold/LIPAT them corners! And the speed! OH, the SPEED!! :( :( :( :ph34r:
If for me ah, worth the bloody wait guys! Hang in there!

1 suggestion I have for you future owners is to dump the handbrake handle / cover and get a GTi punya if possible. Lagi hensem lah.

Anyway, would like to say congrats on your purchase, have fun with em, and if can, invite me for a lap round SIC ok? ;)