Problem with major concern, help anyone

gooseman

Just came back from KL yesterday and tested my EVO for long distance... had this problem:

Symptoms:

When I drive at constant 110-120 or at 3200 - 3500 rpm, suddenly the car sounds like the gearbox or driveshafts are vibrating too hard. Like when you turn the steering of a 4WD truck all the way and try to move.

Then, a couple of seconds later, the engine feels like it's running on 3 cylinders. The 'engine' light turns on and it looses power drastically.

I had to stop (a couple of time from KL to JB!) switch off the engine and restart.

To give an idea, my car details:

Age: 9 Years (previously owned by another MLOC member bcause got sticker)
Plate number: WJW 3208 (any of you guys know the history of this car?)

what have I done/changed/fixed?

3 spark plugs changed to irridium, I could not remove the 3rd plug (cylinder no 3) so still using old plug.

ignition coil socket was loose, fixed it with a bit of silicone

external wastegate but found out that it was not tuned properly and the adjust screw was broken so I disconnect the pressure hose and connected back the internal wastegate.

Blow off changed to BLITZ BOV.

Hope that somebody could help me.

Most likely it is the 4th spark plug. I've got the same problem as u... but on an old Galant VR4. CE lights comes on every now and then and car loses power.

Another issue is the ignition coil or power unit. Both could be faulty or simply have dirty / corroded connections / terminals.

gooseman,

Hey bro, it sound serious man ur problem... My suggestion is u got to send ur car for a thorough check on this matter in order to avoid further damage... Since u r in JB, why dun u try BoozeZone for a check!!! They shld b able to help u n mayb he do know abt de car history too...

Tell them u r being recommanded by MLOC members!!! :_:

Good luck bro!

BoozeZone? is it a workshop, performance shop or another nick in MLOC? Sorry i'm very new ... donno much...

If in JB HV racing I know la, RMD also I know.... but BoozeZone... I don't know ... sorry...

can you give directions?

OOOOOoooooOOOooooooooohhhhhhh....... Boost Zone...... hehehehehehehe.....
Ok maybe I'll go there....

one more quick question... do they have that MUT?? (the thingy that they stick into a socket to check the ECU settings, history and such?)

gooseman said:
Age: 9 Years (previously owned by another MLOC member bcause got sticker)
Plate number: WJW 3208 (any of you guys know the history of this car?)

Is this a white E4?

i know this car... does this car comes with big wastegate?
i know the previos owner... hmm... since you buy this car why not this friday nite we have a meet and you get the chance to meet MLOC JB.

iezz, alfred, bobo and the rest are very friendly people!!!!

Yup big wastegate but adjusted wrongly... heheheh and adjustment screw broken... argghh... hehehehe but nevermind... thinkin of selling off that wastegate with the header in exchange with a standard header and top up with bit of money.... heheheheheheh anyone interested??? heheheheh

This Friday night huh? I'll try cause my sister in law is getting married that nite and the reception is the next day... hehheh sooo a bit busy... but I'll try...

no prob., anything we MLOCJB can help, we surely help... no need to worry... hehe... Just treat us Milo Ice... hehe... (Joking)...:shades_smile:

I think there is a high probability that this:

gooseman said:
Then, a couple of seconds later, the engine feels like it's running on 3 cylinders. The 'engine' light turns on and it looses power drastically.

is related to this

gooseman said:
3 spark plugs changed to irridium, I could not remove the 3rd plug (cylinder no 3) so still using old plug.

May be a broken spark plug that's been fused to the cylinder head. Take it out ASAP and have a look.

now i'm scared.....

if that is the case (hopefully not!), what would be the repair work? and estimated cost?

re

hi there,
Yup we now which car u bought, for the problem u mention like three cyclinder....
thats definetly the ignition coil sympthom, no doubt no need to worry since u found the coil was loose.(did analysis on this b4)
Engine light lit - check for air fuel connector mayb loose.
As for gearbox this car do not hv such problem but anyway it's better if you can meet us up.

Yup planning to meet with u guys. Better if I could meet with the previous owner...
got some questions heheheeh..... like

1. when was the last spark plug change
2. any problems before this
3. timing belt change
4. AYC
5. GB oil change

and such... heheheheh nothing to blame but just to get a better idea so that I can maintain the car proper.

question:

where can I get a replacement for the ignition coil? kedai potong?

Gooseman,

Better give u car a good medical checkup!
BoostZone is a good place.Boostzone is infont of HV Racing!

Alfrd,

This friday got tt?
When?

Write your reply...