Port & Polished Head

-DaRReN-C- said:
hmm....after pnp my low and mid rev better effect
especially 1st and 2nd gear
car give more response when tekan
i like to hear the sound :biggrin:
bro carent....yer fren what car and what piping,extractor & muffler he use ?

My fren using a Kelisa. So, m not too sure on the problem...

I think tht changing the cams also played a very big role... Setting the cams differently will affect ur consumption as well.

How is your fuel consumption? worse? :rolleyes:

will it increase the fuel consumption if just pnp? dunwan to change cam ?? i think it is a must right//?

CARENT said:
My fren using a Kelisa. So, m not too sure on the problem...

I think tht changing the cams also played a very big role... Setting the cams differently will affect ur consumption as well.

How is your fuel consumption? worse? :rolleyes:

hmm....mine just port abit not too big hole
fc not sure yet
cause yesterday only pump full
next week only know the result =p

CARENT said:
Anyone....... :biggrin:

wassap ?
what anyone ?

i found that the cause of my FC high is my carbie leak when high rev
my mech said that this model carb easily to leak 1
changin to wira 1.5 carb....so far no complain about leakin for this carb =)
hope will satisfied after fix it =>

Just did DYNO of my car after doing some simple mods....

@ N1 racing

Before 115ps
After 127ps!!

Aiya... more than enough. Put in GSR cams and it was very good, in the sense that my "flat" spot in using the ori cams was always between 3 to 4k rpm. Always a drop in the torque there....

Now ok la.... very good tuning done by N1!!!!

Anyone wants to do DYNO should go there!!! :dancing2:
:biggrin: :tee:

The state of the modding industry in Malaysia never ceases to amaze me. 9 pages of postings and if i were newbie i still wouldn't know what porting is..

A porting job should never be considered in isolation. It's not like Lego where you add A part and you will get XX bhp. Porting should be done taking into careful consideration the the cam profiles and other engine mods you are running to give your desired powerband. It's a case of the sum being a bigger whole. I only see references on pricing and shiny parts but do bear in mind that shiny <> power. What does a RM1800 porting job give you? Do they even comprehend your cam profile? Do they test your head on a flowbench before and after porting? How many cfm do you gain from the port job? Are the ports actually enlarged and manufacturing casting irregularities removed? How many angles are cut into the valve seat? 2, 3 or radiused? Do they even use a Serdi or an hour with an Autosol and rag? The latter will actually give you a shinier port.

Below is a very good explanation from Alaniz Technologies on what the various porting tricks are :
http://www.alaniztechnologies.com/headterms.html

Below is what a flow chart off a Superflow is..
http://www.alaniztechnologies.com/flowcharts.html

Below here is a very good reference on tech articles and more on porting..
http://www.theoldone.com/articles/

llsaw said:
The state of the modding industry in Malaysia never ceases to amaze me. 9 pages of postings and if i were newbie i still wouldn't know what porting is..

A porting job should never be considered in isolation. It's not like Lego where you add A part and you will get XX bhp. Porting should be done taking into careful consideration the the cam profiles and other engine mods you are running to give your desired powerband. It's a case of the sum being a bigger whole. I only see references on pricing and shiny parts but do bear in mind that shiny <> power. What does a RM1800 porting job give you? Do they even comprehend your cam profile? Do they test your head on a flowbench before and after porting? How many cfm do you gain from the port job? Are the ports actually enlarged and manufacturing casting irregularities removed? How many angles are cut into the valve seat? 2, 3 or radiused? Do they even use a Serdi or an hour with an Autosol and rag? The latter will actually give you a shinier port.

Below is a very good explanation from Alaniz Technologies on what the various porting tricks are :
http://www.alaniztechnologies.com/headterms.html

Below is what a flow chart off a Superflow is..
http://www.alaniztechnologies.com/flowcharts.html

Below here is a very good reference on tech articles and more on porting..
http://www.theoldone.com/articles/

Well bro... I have asked around and most of the time, the response from the mechanics is "Port and Polish lah.... better power... and response.." And that is it...

Well, for the things done in one place, they did mention Serdi. So, still a guessing game bro...

Where would you recommend? :tee:

I would recommend any shop that can sit and discuss with you on your requirements and is able to detail to you what they are doing for a porting job.

bro, wht is the contact number and directions to Matspeed?
Do you know the price? I had tried calling Charlie (Matspeed) a number of times and found it difficult to get him la...
:rolleyes:

CARENT said:
Just did DYNO of my car after doing some simple mods....

@ N1 racing

Before 115ps
After 127ps!!

Aiya... more than enough. Put in GSR cams and it was very good, in the sense that my "flat" spot in using the ori cams was always between 3 to 4k rpm. Always a drop in the torque there....

Now ok la.... very good tuning done by N1!!!!

Anyone wants to do DYNO should go there!!! :dancing2:
:biggrin: :tee:
bro...u mean u replaced ur standard sgti cam with a GSR cam and u get 12 hp extra?
hmm...seems interesting...what bout cam pulley and oth stuffs? only the cam?
thanx... =)

Price would be dependent on the spec you want. Charlie's new number is 017-2696653.

Powerzone don't have any flowbench machine, in fact almost all workshops here only use experience & memory when porting. At least my engine head ported at Powerzone dynoed at most 7% hp increase from 4500RPM onwards.

Port N Polish _ revolution

I did my PNP (4G93) at Revolution in PJS. Very pleased with the work. Increase was not huge, but tractability of the car improved with the matching piggy back + good sparks.

Call Danny (Revo) @ 0122073841 for more info.

Gti said:
bro...u mean u replaced ur standard sgti cam with a GSR cam and u get 12 hp extra?
hmm...seems interesting...what bout cam pulley and oth stuffs? only the cam?
thanx... =)

I think the cams only brought about 5-8 hp increase (and yes, you would need adjustable cam pully to adjust the settings). The rest would be due to the exhaust change, plug cables, etc.

:tee:

Using the ori cams, i found tht there was a flat spot from 3 to 4k rpm. Now, with the GSR cams, the max torque is from start to finish (with a slight peak at 5k+ rpm)

0 to 100kmh => 8.5 secs from 9.8 secs earlier :biggrin: :dancing2:

sumit said:
I did my PNP (4G93) at Revolution in PJS. Very pleased with the work. Increase was not huge, but tractability of the car improved with the matching piggy back + good sparks.

Call Danny (Revo) @ 0122073841 for more info.

what was the price and the work done? :smile:

CARENT said:
I think the cams only brought about 5-8 hp increase (and yes, you would need adjustable cam pully to adjust the settings). The rest would be due to the exhaust change, plug cables, etc.

:tee:

Using the ori cams, i found tht there was a flat spot from 3 to 4k rpm. Now, with the GSR cams, the max torque is from start to finish (with a slight peak at 5k+ rpm)

0 to 100kmh => 8.5 secs from 9.8 secs earlier :biggrin: :dancing2:
hmmm...that's pretty impressive...how much had u spent on the cam and cam pulley itself?
at least u had given me yet another new idea on spending money on my car at the expense of my lunch and dinner...if it's cheap can still eat nasi lemak kosong...if expensive...roti + self bring water....=(
well...my car suffer from 5k to 7k...feel like dying during this period...
thanx for ur info anyway

p/s: sorry to kacau ur thread ar...=P free bump for u though...haha