Persona owner please drop by

I own a persona MT Bline, almost two months already.

I am going to list out problems i encounter and hopefully someone out there can help to comment if they manage to solve on their ride.

Anyone with other bad experience feel free to post and share in the discussion.

* Knocking sound on the driver side especially when turning left on uneven road.

* My steering handling felt loose when going through uneven road with the knocking sound above. This is more obvious when turning to the left.

* Steering Bush is loose when go for an alignment and according to mechanic, this is common for 9 out of 10 persona owner. TRUE?? will this contribute to my second problem?

* When on gas pedal, rattling sound from passenger side and driver side. ( i can live with this but hopefully, someone can point out where and how it can be resolved. )

Overall, the car is fun to drive and value for money. I do recommend it if anyone ask me.

Cheers and happy driving!:driver:

Sorry dude, i not here to answer your question but i here to asking for a question. I am thinking of get a persona soon, but really scare it will give me bad FC, will u mind to share ur FC?

Sure buddy, for my usage around city. i am clocking around 0.17/km. Mine is manual and i do rev quite abit. Is a good choice dude. dont worry too much on the FC. The handling and power is value for the money. Apart for the above technical glitches, i highly recommend you.
Cheers

hello mikeC,

i'm persona owner 2, same like u, M-line...already 10 month using it. FYI, the problem that u r facing are same like mine.. according to my fwen wif Persona Club, that problem is 'free gift'. huhuhu...

btw, dun wury..just go to SC and let them know ur problm n they'll try to fix it. not all...but some of it. (free gift can't be return wat!!! hehehe...)

for others, the Fuel Consumption is good, mine about 6.2/100km...standard, no mods n manual..

n b careful about the braking for those M-line n B-line, rear brake is drum, imagine if u apply E-brake...
pray to God u wont hit the front car.. trust me...:biggrin:

i'm planning to upgrade the exhaust system...any of u hve a suggestion?? :wavey:

---------- Post added at 10:53 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:43 AM ----------

hello mikeC,

i'm persona owner 2, same like u, M-line...already 10 month using it. FYI, the problem that u r facing are same like mine.. according to my fwen wif Persona Club, that problem is 'free gift'. huhuhu...

btw, dun wury..just go to SC and let them know ur problm n they'll try to fix it. not all...but some of it. (free gift can't be return wat!!! hehehe...)

for others, the Fuel Consumption is good, mine about 6.2/100km...standard, no mods n manual..

n b careful about the braking for those M-line n B-line, rear brake is drum, imagine if u apply E-brake...
pray to God u wont hit the front car.. trust me...:biggrin:

i'm planning to upgrade the exhaust system...any of u hve a suggestion?? :wavey:

hi mikeC

i'm also had same problem wat u had. the different is when i gong to right, my front suspension got "knock" sound....Then i send my car to SC back to encounter those matter...but as far as we know...the problem still can't solve...haiya...tired waiting coz it takes 4 hour to solve it...but...really dissapointed wif de result...

beside that...nothings major problem wif my ride...so far my fc around 6.3-6-6l/100km for auto trans car...

for steering rack is a common problem in persona....maybe u can change wif teflon bushes.
the price around 50bucks if not mistaken..

my persona is turning 11 months old now. clocked in 29,000km and just changed a new set of tires.....overall it performs well, took it for advance driving course, did a quite good time for time attack and feels good doing slaloms and emergency braking, despite 2 front disc & rear drums...M-line auto.

fuel consumption: 7.1litre/100km, quite impressive for a 1.6, did constant 160km/h to 180km/h all the way from penang island to kl...bout 2hr 45mins......midnite drive...worry got any speed tickets...

my iafm got some knocking sound but i leave it since it does not effect the performance, will get it change on my next major service 40,000km....booked with the SC already.

great performance, good family sedan and best it the superb ride & handling for a price tag of rm50k

my persona 1st batch 2007 clocked 45k with 2year 1month...so far no problem except those common problem like what TS has mentioned:

* Knocking sound on the driver side especially when turning left on uneven road.

* Steering Bush is loose when go for an alignment and according to mechanic, this is common for 9 out of 10 persona owner.

*paint work a bit thin...quite easily getting chipped off by stones

all these are normal problem..as for steering bush is common for proton cars..u can solve it by inserting extra rubber in the rod....

as for other thing...just normal engine oil service,atf oil change,tear & wear parts and normal service...despite my driving style quite rough sometimes revving non stop...overall is a good car....:thefinger:

Hi guys!

I'm using a Persona also. H-Line (Auto) with rear disc break. My opinion, it is a great car. Just that the IAFM knocking sounds irritates me. I did some modification with the car. firstly the exhaust system. it really improves the response of the car. I experience slight under power from 1st to 2nd & 3rd gear before the mods. however, now its very responsive.

next is installing the K&N filter which further improves the response. then installed the front and rear bar. I do recommend you guys to install this bar as it really2 improve the car handling... soo much!!

the modification list goes on as per below:

1) Pivot Raizin Voltage Stabalizer
2) Pivot Spark
3) Fuel Pressure Regulator
4) EManage
5) Denso Irridium Spark Plug

The response of the car is really great. however, i'm having problem when starting the car. when it starting, the ignition sound seems like its not going to start. The plug is new and i dont think its the battery. anybody experience the same?

i notice the problem even before the installation of the EManage. So, it is not cause by the piggyback ECU.

any opinion?

i drive a persona SE.

Got it 2 months agi and almost 3k km.

good car.

Not plainning on changing anything. Maybe the brakes coz it is not that effective.

If i do, i'd buy a second hand persona and mod it.

i got my persona b line 7 months ago..last month i change my head lamp to angel eye projector headlamp..the problem i got start 1 week after..angel ring out and in this month my projector lamp out..i also put on fog lamp before, the same problem i had..i dont face any problem in 6 month i use ori head lamp..that only problem i had and also the steering (thank for info bro likeme88), other "persona is great car made by proton"..
can anyone give suggestion to solve this problem...
P/S: can PM me...