Perdana V6 owner...

4g91ajer

I'm thinking to switch to perdana V6 car. Can u guys tell me the fuel consumption for v6 car (town and long distance drive), maintenance, advantage, disadvantage, performance...
Thanks in advance........

v6?

spareparts mahal...maintenance mahal...other than that...kira ok lah..up to u lah bro...

heard from my fren who is a mechanic...
the auto box very problematic....
his workshop there every month at least got one case tukar gearbox...

yeah, my friend who owns a v6 also experience loads of problems with the gearbox.. even after he change the whole godd*mn thing also he faces the problem...

yup GB.... change and change also have problem... cant solve the problem

hahaha..the alfadana izit??? heard the model is a "legend" with gearbok prob....overheat or sumthing

always the gearbox! gearbox! gearbox!!

E54 V6 have good handling (tuned by Lotus), E55 4G63 standard stock suspension (dont expect too much)

its spacious inside, still good looking (despite based on 1992 galant eterna)

maintenance and FC on the wrong side.

very poor market value. 1995 perdana is about 25K only. 2000 perdana V6 is about 45K. never overpay as this model is hard to sell. must get good bargain

after few feedback, didn't see any good feedback bout Perdana V6.. Maybe there's V6 owners sumwhere can give their opinion too...I mean v6 users shud know more bout the car..................

fuel consumption, terrible.

gearbox - very problematic. manual gearbox is better. to change gearbox, so God damn expensive.

maintenance & service - expensive. change spark plugs also damn expensive.

ride - ok becoz of LOTUS.

space - big but there are other cars which has bigger space.

looks - hmmm..no comment.

resale value - worse. you can just see the market nowadays.

khairiaz said:
fuel consumption, terrible.

gearbox - very problematic. manual gearbox is better. to change gearbox, so God damn expensive.

maintenance & service - expensive. change spark plugs also damn expensive.

ride - ok becoz of LOTUS.

space - big but there are other cars which has bigger space.

looks - hmmm..no comment.

resale value - worse. you can just see the market nowadays.

Seem like all comment didn't encourage to ride V6...:regular_smile:

I heard its not just the gearbox that has got problems. Even the circuitry that change the gears also have problems.

This is my advise. I owned one V6 and its has been 5 years. Let me give u pros and cons.

Cons first.

1. Auto gearbox major problem. U have 2 install oil gearbox cooler radiator that cost rm700++ to make sure its reliable. If not, prepare rm1500++ for a recond gearbox.

2.Say no to lower ride. It will surely damaged ur suspension system or to be precisely ur tyre chamber.

3. Engine maintenance for V6 is damn expensive. Rm 1500 to be exact for a timing belt and spark plug package replacement. But its for 100,000 km intervals( that's good news I say)

4. Engine Gasket easily damaged after some period of time. Then, u know lar what happen.

5. Passanger space is average, boot space is ok.

Pros

1. Spare parts can get anywhere. OGo to chop shop for a good bargain.

2. Body easily modified. Infact, tonnes of fibre product out there that can turn this baby to monster.

3. Handling is perfect. Better than honda Accord.

4. FC is way better than Accord. A trip to kuantan tru and fro only cost me rm 50+-

My advice, get the manual Perdana, modify the baby. Put Evo 3 engine, sun roof, rear spoiler, all side skirts, recaro seats, momo steering, a biiig exaust muffler, a rear wiper windscreen, 19" sport rim, an eibach suspension system and drool ur car every day... :) peace man.

5 cons and 4 pros......

Anyway, 4g91ajer , "slap your chest and ask ur appetite".....

hi 4g91ajer, just wondering why do u wanna get a perdana v6 in the first place? with that amount of money, u've got lots of option.. but one thing for sure, if u tinted ur windows/glasses completely black, traffic police or jpj dare not stop u.. best still if u r driving a perdana executive.. haha... happy surveying around.. ^_^

silence77 said:
This is my advise. I owned one V6 and its has been 5 years. Let me give u pros and cons.

Cons first.

1. Auto gearbox major problem. U have 2 install oil gearbox cooler radiator that cost rm700++ to make sure its reliable. If not, prepare rm1500++ for a recond gearbox.

2.Say no to lower ride. It will surely damaged ur suspension system or to be precisely ur tyre chamber.

3. Engine maintenance for V6 is damn expensive. Rm 1500 to be exact for a timing belt and spark plug package replacement. But its for 100,000 km intervals( that's good news I say)

4. Engine Gasket easily damaged after some period of time. Then, u know lar what happen.

5. Passanger space is average, boot space is ok.

Pros

1. Spare parts can get anywhere. OGo to chop shop for a good bargain.

2. Body easily modified. Infact, tonnes of fibre product out there that can turn this baby to monster.

3. Handling is perfect. Better than honda Accord.

4. FC is way better than Accord. A trip to kuantan tru and fro only cost me rm 50+-

My advice, get the manual Perdana, modify the baby. Put Evo 3 engine, sun roof, rear spoiler, all side skirts, recaro seats, momo steering, a biiig exaust muffler, a rear wiper windscreen, 19" sport rim, an eibach suspension system and drool ur car every day... :) peace man.

Here it is, V6 owner with the opinion...

Maybe i'll go for converted V6 wif manual transmission since all give bad feedback wif auto gear.

Wif good suspension system shud be any problem lowered the car.

Since handling and FC better than accord, that's the best thing i wanna heard bout V6.

I'm not thinking to mod alot since will use as family car only.

davidchen27 said:
hi 4g91ajer, just wondering why do u wanna get a perdana v6 in the first place? with that amount of money, u've got lots of option.. but one thing for sure, if u tinted ur windows/glasses completely black, traffic police or jpj dare not stop u.. best still if u r driving a perdana executive.. haha... happy surveying around.. ^_^

Like the outlook, slight modded juz good enuff.

Better performance for local car. Others than that only have Gti and Putra which use 2 doors. I'm looking for 4 door car.

Anyway still open to buy other car that suit me.....honda maybe..

what kinda car r u looking for?im guessing sedan?coz u didnt want the gti and the putra..