Perdana V6 Gearbox Problem

hey guys i just had a break down on my perdana at 230am just now at bangsar LRT ...was driving the car on the 3rd gear around 80kmh when the car was about to enter 4th gear the rpm shot up to 7k n i let go the throttle and the RPM drop to 1k n the car started slowing down ...there was no abnormal sound from the gb or engine ...parked the car at the side off the engine started it back after 15 min engaged R the car didnt move engaded D 2 & L also the car dont move the rpm rev up ...but there is no sound from the Gb no burn smell also ....
need help badly ...

can it be some socket is unplugged ??

your gb is considered dead already althought there is no burnt smell or watsoever,
now u have to find another recond gbox bout rm1.8k include workmanship, 2nd option opt for manual gbox set . rm4k++, or rebuit your gbox, not sure how much. if u decide to opt for recond or rebuilt back yr gbox, remember to add on an ATF cooler.

I think every gearbox failure has its early warning signs? We should be alerted when the symptoms appear and do not take that lightly.

hey guys i just had a break down on my perdana at 230am just now at bangsar LRT ...was driving the car on the 3rd gear around 80kmh when the car was about to enter 4th gear the rpm shot up to 7k n i let go the throttle and the RPM drop to 1k n the car started slowing down ...there was no abnormal sound from the gb or engine ...parked the car at the side off the engine started it back after 15 min engaged R the car didnt move engaded D 2 & L also the car dont move the rpm rev up ...but there is no sound from the Gb no burn smell also ....
need help badly ...

can it be some socket is unplugged ??
i've had the same problem last year.
i changed my gb.

but since then, i've search on internet forums on what exactly the problem.
i found out in one Oz forum (i forgot already), it might be the torque converter broke but the gb is ok.
i dono, u may want to check the torque converter first..

hey guys thanks for all the info ....found out that the gb is dead ....for a 2nd hand unit it cost 2.7k and 1 month warrenty and to recond the whole gb cost 3.2k with out ATF cooler ....plus the cooler it comes an extra 600 ringgit ....

RM2.7K is very expensive bro. and RM3.2K for recond also very expensive.
usually 2nd hand is about RM1.2-1.4K and recon is about RM1.6K siap pasang with 6 months warranty.

totally agree with what neuro have said..

what do u mean by 2nd hand, used or recond one? which ever it is, both are still pricey choice bro..
i.m.h.o, to spend rm3.2k to refurbish the gb plus another rm600 for ATF cooler is not a good idea..
by spending at least rm3.5 - 3.8k u could already have a manual gb c/w pedal + lever + everything needed..
it oso gives u something free which is priceless.. peace of mind and very minimum risk of tranny prob.. :driver:

true dat.
if u gonna spend rm 3.2k for recon and another rm 600 for atf cooler, better u take all the money and buy manual gb.
no worrying anymore...

btw, atf cooler 2nd hand like evo cooler cost just rm100.
new cooler brand Hayden model 677 about rm400.

wah so mahal ah.
2nd hand can get bout rm1k, market price bout rm1.2k
if recond rm1.8k siap pasang, warranty 1 mth. if warranty 3 mths rm2.2k.

if buy the overhaul kit rm300-400 i think made in japan.
workmanship not sure. but add on another rm300-400 to turun & naik your gbox.

dont bypass the atf cooling under the radiator, just reroute it to the external ATF cooler.....

q. Have you ever seen the actual size of the cooling coil below the bottom portion of the radiator?
a: Is half the size of a tube of toothpaste

q. In event of radiator failure, how is the half tooth paste tube size coil able to provide sufficient cooling for the ATF?
a. inadequate cooling ATF may be overheated

q. Is full bypass a better oition than piggyback to current setup?
a. Yes. To decouple the additional heat generated by the radiator. You have to understand why the half a tube of toothppaste is placed in the radiator. Is to increase ATF operating temp for cold climate condition. Being in the tropics.. the cold climate issue does not arise. And the opposite should be done... get rid of heat fast!!

observe the new SAGA, it has a ATF cooler installed... AUTO cars do get overloaded from time to time with additional passengers and climbing steep hills to Genting, KL-Ipoh... or even stuck in slow moving Jam... in Jamms, even the radiator overheats, so no help for the GB if its colling capacity is linked directly to the hotter GB.. for cars >6yrs, testing the radiator for leak (air pressure testing) and testing the air cond/radiator fan auto start is must do. If issues like weak fan and leaky radiator is detected early, you can plan for the repair than being stuck in the highway and being serviced by "cut-throat" mechanics which will take their sweet time to do the repairs....

hi thr,

does the perdana enchance v6 yr2007 model still have the gearbox problem?
coz heard tht 2007yr model been overcome the gearbox problem alr..

is tht worth if get a 2nd hand yr2007 perdana now?

hi thr,

does the perdana enchance v6 yr2007 model still have the gearbox problem?
coz heard tht 2007yr model been overcome the gearbox problem alr..

is tht worth if get a 2nd hand yr2007 perdana now?

every car model has the probability to have gb problem.
proton perdana after 2005 has ATF cooler which helps with the cooling of ATF.
so, in theory, it will prolong the jangka hayat of the gb but will not ensure there is no problem.
if u main rembat je hari2, tunggu je la.. :biggrin:

how much is ur budget for perdana?
u want auto or manual?

every car model has the probability to have gb problem.
proton perdana after 2005 has ATF cooler which helps with the cooling of ATF.
so, in theory, it will prolong the jangka hayat of the gb but will not ensure there is no problem.
if u main rembat je hari2, tunggu je la.. :biggrin:

how much is ur budget for perdana?
u want auto or manual?

budget around 40k for auto model...