Octane Booster ~

I've been a sceptic forever too. But I'll be getting my grubby paws on a octane booster and will be doing a review on its effectiveness. :biggrin:[/QUOTE]

do let me know on the reviews once u tested.. quite anxious to know d results.. :biggrin:

I've been a sceptic forever too. But I'll be getting my grubby paws on a octane booster and will be doing a review on its effectiveness. :biggrin:

do let me know on the reviews once u tested.. quite anxious to know d results.. :biggrin:

US guys use Tuolene or Xylene as Octane Booster. Google and you'll find out how to mix the rating that you want.

I bought a 5-litre bottle of Xylene for RM108 and have been happy using it in my underpowered CR-V 1st gen and seems to do well when heavy footing. Tuolene is a little more expensive. Tuolene is used in our local petrol to raise the Octane rating.

This homebrew Octane Booster with the FireStorm Ignition Coil Booster has made me a happy driver. Advanced timing with the use of the Octane Booster and more complete combustion with the aid of the FireStorm Booster spewing out huge sparks have given me better mileage and added torque to my 126hp CR-V! Hehe.

Cheers.

Peter, where the heck do you get all those chemicals?

Just try out a product called Dynotab....claim to have 10Point increasement in Octane number.....it turn out worked quite well on a RON 95 fuel,previously using just RON 95 will cause knocking and lack of power but after using this Octane Booster with RON 95 the difference is obvious,power was improved massively and little or no knocking is heard .....

i think the Dynotab will increase octane by 1 RON only..

read carefully behind the box..

http://www.dynotab.com/catalog/dyno/images/octane_booster2.jpg

Peter, where the heck do you get all those chemicals?

Hehe. Got kangtao lah.

Actually they dont sell some chemicals to public but since I know the boss, can buy loh. Only thing is no disount because the Tuolene and Xylene is petroleum based and used in petrochemical industries, so its in high demand.

Sometimes have to order in advance. Some of my friends in Penang who are running turbo also DIY their own Octane Booster rather than pump RON97. It works out cheaper.

Cheers.

this question has been going around every motorhead ever since.. but from what i heard octane boosters don't really help in improving the octane lvls of the fuel.. correct me if i am wrong.. any proof on dyno which shows thr is a change in power output when the fuel is added with octane booster?

The higher the RON rating, the slower the combustion. With slower combustion, you can advance your ignition timing and on turbo or supercharged engines, advance timing and pinging/knocking is very important for power and speed.

Even for Normally Aspirated engines, the ECU will auto retard the ignition timing if it senses any knocking/pinging. When this happens, you lose torque and horsepower from the premature combustion and also the retarding of the ignition timing.

Its all about driveability and timing for runs, as well that the more retard the ignition timing the more sluggish the engine.

The higher the RON rating, the slower the combustion. With slower combustion, you can advance your ignition timing and on turbo or supercharged engines, advance timing and pinging/knocking is very important for power and speed.

Even for Normally Aspirated engines, the ECU will auto retard the ignition timing if it senses any knocking/pinging. When this happens, you lose torque and horsepower from the premature combustion and also the retarding of the ignition timing.

Its all about driveability and timing for runs, as well that the more retard the ignition timing the more sluggish the engine.

100% agreed with you,as a add on,you can also increase the Boost pressure on forced induction engine or raise the compression ratio on a Naturally Aspirated engine =)