Newbie R34GTT

Hi to all,
I am a new R34GTT (manual) owner here. Pardon my ignorance if what I am about to ask has been asked before. My knowledge of cars are rather shallow and my previous ride was a dilapidated Daihatsu Ascend Auto. I am still learning to get comfortable to the manual gear shifting. Appreciate sifu's input.

Questions :
1) I accidentally downshifted to 3rd at quite a speed and the engine was screaming before I quickly pulled to neutral. A few seconds after I smell a burning oil & rubber inside the cabin. This lasted for 20 minutes or so. All the gauges did not show anything abnormal. Should I worry ?
2) Sometimes when I upshift to 5th gear, I can fell the gear teeth grinding before the gear properly engaged, is this normal ?
3) If I want to change the front brake disc (Warped and I don't want to skim), any recommendation on brand, shop and price range ?
4) Appreciate if any sifu could post here the aircond shop that familiar in doing GTT aircond. Mine is not cold.

Rgds,
Windaz

same like me..just about 4 month with my gtt..how the ride?U like the gtt power?

windaz:
Welcome to the club!:regular_smile:

Answer ur bit Q

1.This smell is from ur clutch coz using OEM clutch.Ur burning da clutch mate~~heehe.Shuld be worry if u always do it....Achtung!Wear very fast.hee

2.myb u shuld try change new gear oil...Redline?Or myb the syncro is out alrdy..get it check.

3.Gud skim is fine but until certain thickness only. btr change new one tghr wth brake pad n overhaul ur caliper.Recommend project miu disc.

4.Hmm go to aircond specialist will do,JDM car is same design mostly.Myb u need to topup the gas alrdy,mine like tht.Get it check....myb got leaking or compressor problem.

windaz:
Welcome to the club!:regular_smile:

Answer ur a bit Q

1.This smell is from ur clutch coz using OEM clutch.Ur burning da clutch mate~~heehe.Shuld be worry if u always do it....Achtung!Wear very fast.hee

2.myb u shuld try change new gear oil...Redline?Or myb the syncro is out alrdy..get it check.

3.Gud skim is fine but until certain thickness only. btr change new one tghr wth brake pad n overhaul ur caliper.Recommend project miu disc.

4.Hmm go to aircond specialist will do,JDM car is same design mostly.Myb u need to topup the gas alrdy,mine like tht.Get it check....myb got leaking or compressor problem.
great answers...experience bro..:top:

hi Windaz
Welcome to the world of fun car heheh

1) Normally you don't down shift to 3rd gear like that, especially when the engine speed is meant for 4th gear, is either you rev up to the high rpm and down shift or slow down the car to match the rpm. What you did is a suddent change in speed of the gear so the clutch trying to grip and ended up clucth slipping and burning it. No good so try not to do that if you want to keep your clutch longer.

2) Try using GL-4 Gear oil as GL-5 will give you crunchy feeling, i would recommend Red Line MT-90 gear oil

3) You can try Project Mu, so far mine one is fine. You have option of SRC or SRC PRO where SRC is one piece and stand heat up to 600 degree and SRC PRO is 2 piece and stand up to 1000 degree. You can try SS Racing, they have pretty a lot stuff.

4) AirCon, maybe you should check whether your temp and aircon is set correctly maybe you miss one button and it give you hot air.

The gear change to 5th usually requires slight more effort. Believe most of here experience that. I suggest a gear oil change first and try to look at your gearshift maneuver. Just take it easy for the 4th-5th gear change

I had the crunch on 4th to 5th a couple of time. Now I learn to ease it in instead of being brutal.