ixiel

Newbie Q#2: Understanding amp power.

I would like to ask for sifus2x advise on this amp:

If an amp(2/3/4 channel) has this kind of power,

- 50Wx4 into 4 ohms, 20-20kHz, at 0.04% THD
- 50Wx2 + 130Wx1 into 4 ohms, 20-20kHz, at 0.1% THD
- 70Wx4 into 2 ohms, 20-20kHz, at 0.1% THD

1. What is the total power this amp can produce to drive a single sub? (dedicated to sub, no midbass)

2. the "50Wx2 + 130Wx1" means 1 for a pair of midbass and 1 for sub rite? but can i setup it to be bridged to 260w to power up my sub? ((channel1+2=130w) + (channel3+4=130w) = 260w)

i'm confused.

thanx :retarded:

Bro, it depends on the sub that you are using.

Your amp can be bridged down to a minimum of 2 channels ( 130 x 2)

If your sub is a double voice coil you will be able to power 130 watts into each coil.

However, if it is a single voice coil, u can only use one of the channels and the other two cant be utilized for the same sub.

Hope it helps. : )

i wouldnt advise bridging a 4ch into a 2ch and drive each voicecoil of a dvc sub. eventually either the sub vc will burn or the amp will rosak. we found out the hard way, and this with an amp with individual gains somore...

Oh it would? Sorry paiseh din try for long period before. Tried doing it for a short period the sub seemed to work fine. But not enough kick so decided not to go with that setup for long.hehe. Anyway, thanks for the advice Zenn : P

I think you mis 1 important info about this amp... in Bridge mode from 4ch to 2ch ... 130wRms not at 4Ohm but at 2Ohm... so if 4Ohm maybe around 70-85wRMS... Are refer to Sony XM-504X amp selling by others member?

thanx all for the reply.

just to update you guys, i bought this amp from one of our member here and use it to power a pair of rear coaxial speakers and a 12" boschmann sub. gonna get a front component speakers later.

Suprisingly this amp can power up the sub and the rear speakers.. the bass output is superb (enough power to boom boom my heart).

IMHO, it is good to get an amp that has the same watt RMS for the speakers but a low power amp like mine can also power up any speakers as well. Personally i think the 130w RMS for sub is enough boom boom for me. :_:

is it? he did not mention anything about bridged 2 ohm or it is a sony

From the spec look like munwai Sony amp lorrr.... in gr8tunes.net munwai mention bridge 130wRms X 2 into 2Ohm... did know either it true or typo error..

I've 12" Boschmann ( just bought) powered by 2 channel SD1200 ( Brand steallar)
but the "bass" sound is not good. Too hard for me . Any way to make 'Bass" sound soft a bit but stil " kaboommm" I'm using Sony Mex-r1 as head unit.
tq in advance

Set low pass crossover as low as you can like
Crossover either you use HU, external E/cross or at amp... as long U use crossover adjust it loorr...

DCSone,
use bigger sealed box or ported box tuned at 30hz.
for kaboom, u r referring to SPL? either u use bigger subs or more subs or more power.

going to get bigger ported box tomolo, don't know the result.. will see..
but this morning already tuned the amp and HU like wat OSB (old..sb) said. the sound still not that good.. improve a bit oli..my currect setup as below ;
Hu set to LPF = 78
Preamp =30
Amp=30
gain= 3/8 qtrs

but when plays DVD movie ( The Punisher ) the sound is great...
whts wrong?

I like deep solid soft bass.. how to get it.. any idea..?
thanks in advance...

waaa did know you have so many crossover.... U just need 1 only ... coz no need to filter to many time.... either U use at HU, Pre-amp or Amp... but just 1 .. not all can use..

If use HU crossover.. by pass the pre amp.. direct connect to amp.. amp cross over set it at full or flat...

playing around with xover wont change how the sub reponse. Xover only filters freq.

try 2~3 cu.ft sealed box or 2 ~ 2.5 cu.ft ported box tuned to 30hz. Don't use the port that ppl normally sell or buy a ready made ported box. They sux very bad and u will regret it.
go cut 3" or 4" pvc pipe and adjust the length to get port tuning of 30hz.

Nah... tuning at XO plays the big role after box. Since he already have a box then do it at the XO. Oh not forgetting your SUB characteristic. From my experience, BM subs are hardcore and hard. We've actually traded a fella from 2 x 12" BM to 1 x 12" RS and the sound was different entirely.

Like OldSkol said, play I filter hardware only. So... since your HU already equipped with XO, forget the rest (meaning HU direct to amp).

Get the HU LPF to go to 63/65 with a Level +1 if not enough pump. Then play the amp gain.

Oh ya... wondering, have you just got the sub? If you have maybe also they have not run in yet.

:wink:

DJThoRmented,
he has not get the box yet. and xover wont do much to the response. It only filters the amp output. It wont get the sub to play low and hard. This where getting the box right is important.

Sifus, thanks for yr komens.. but still can't figure it out..

i just bought the box this afternoon.. sound change not diff. still hard...:sad_smile: maybe hv to change to better subs.. I thoguht BM is a good sub. :sad_smile:

kippo ;
how to tune the box to 30hz.. needs special tools or not?

DJTR
my HU can go down to 78hz oli.. maybe i should trade BM to RS too..( alpine izit?)

OSB ;
I'll try again.. thaks for you advise...

still new in ICE..

Write your reply...