New Civic

LizTina

Hi,i am a new female member who dont know much about cars but like fast cars alot =) I have always liked the sound of those modified civics.But how come only the older civics sound so nice and look so fierce,where else the new civic look like those boring business man car like BMW and Mercedes?When i asked my boy friend he said its because of the VTEC...but from what i can see,the new civic also got vtec. =P When i ask him more he said i wont understand. =( lol hope someone can explain to me in detail.

VTEC sounds comes from its engine itself !!! if u want more louder just change the air filter and exhaust system

if using the K20A engine also will be louder, VTEC pure engine sound!!!!

The difference in the sound is the result of the difference in how the older B series engines engage the VTEC compared to the newer iVtec (Intelligent VTEC). In short, the older VTEC just has the high-lift cam switchover, and the newer i-VTEC adds continuously variable cam phasing or something like that.

avantasia said:
VTEC sounds comes from its engine itself !!! if u want more louder just change the air filter and exhaust system

if using the K20A engine also will be louder, VTEC pure engine sound!!!!

No...i have a friend with new civic with exhaust and air filter.The sound is still different from the old civic.Old civic sound so sharp and fun but new civic sound a bit like bus..hehe.I dont know how to explain but its just different ! Old civic is also much faster because before i know it,look at meter and see 180 kmh already.How come old car is better than new car? Sigh i am so confused :sad_smile:

shfish said:
The difference in the sound is the result of the difference in how the older B series engines engage the VTEC compared to the newer iVtec (Intelligent VTEC). In short, the older VTEC just has the high-lift cam switchover, and the newer i-VTEC adds continuously variable cam phasing or something like that.

Then why is old vtec faster than the new 2006 civic?

and the engine also is different, new civic 2006 also got 1.8 and 2.0 and both of them kena tapau by me...hah hahh hahhh hahhhh

sis..all of da vtec dudes ere hv fast cars mehh.hehe

heh hehh hehh damn u.......no la this week tak ada keje maaaaa damn bored ...even in front of my big boss also i still chatting...hah hahhh hahhh hahhhh

wah faisal can read wuts in our mind mehh.hehe.
no la bro,we shud b kind to all of forummers :)

no bad intentions la sr384, avant... joking only...

agree... have to be kind to everybody except alfarin or wat his name...

i think maybe k20a in liztinas buddy is an auto 1
so nt so power n cudnt listen da vtec sounds as loud as
old skools civic like mine :)