new Civic type r to be marketed in APAC

amdfaisal

according to this article, the new civic type r will be manufactured in 4 different places la... US, UK, Jap and Thai...

so got a chance for malaysian honda fans to buy a brand new civic type R. comes with DSG in APAC

http://bangkokpost.net/271006_Motoring/27Oct20

According to some rumour on the net.. only the japan one is the true type R due to certain specs 'missing' from the ones destined for the foreign market.

The link is below:-

http://www.bangkokpost.com/271006_Motoring/27Oct2006_motor001.php

http://www.bangkokpost.com/271006_Motoring/27Oct2006_motor002.php

If Honda (M) will bring in the Type-R, it will be later than Thailand as usually they will launch it there much more ealier than in Malaysia

By looking at the price, it will be Bhat1.5M, which convert to MYR140k. This is the price in Thailand, which does not include our stupid-nonsense TAX from NAP.

Type-R should be more than MYR140k, if they bring it in

shiroitenshi said:
According to some rumour on the net.. only the japan one is the true type R due to certain specs 'missing' from the ones destined for the foreign market.

different from what i read... (uk website, cant remember which one..)
they sd that starting from now on, the europe gonna get the best CTR...
they sd the market there is so much bigger n have lotsa' potential...
which one is true actually..

kRiminaLz said:
different from what i read... (uk website, cant remember which one..)
they sd that starting from now on, the europe gonna get the best CTR...
they sd the market there is so much bigger n have lotsa' potential...
which one is true actually..

So far.. the UK spec is missing an LSD... that's from what I've read so far.. others are unknown as yet.

hoho..but if msia gonna have type r from thailand..i think the price would be slightly cheaper than from japan or uk..but dunno la about quality..is it same like jdm @ ukdm??

so sorry about the broken link. ayooo... it was working before... deng. anyway if it costs RM150k... i think there are other more powerful options compared to the civic type R but nevertheless... there are many rich honda enthousiasts.

as far as quality is concerned, i think thai-built cars are OK... some ppl say better than m'sian-made cars le... it tends to be true i think. even JDM cars have quality issues... read in the star once concerning the suzuki grand vitara. radical cost-cutting is forcing everyone to be a bit 'forgetful' about quality

heheh..if quality is ok..i would buy the type-r..coz i prefer NA car..huhuh

amdfaisal said:
as far as quality is concerned, i think thai-built cars are OK... some ppl say better than m'sian-made cars le... it tends to be true i think. even JDM cars have quality issues... read in the star once concerning the suzuki grand vitara. radical cost-cutting is forcing everyone to be a bit 'forgetful' about quality

Actually, I don't think it's cost cutting.. more like they are trying to shorten the lifetime of the car so that people will conform to their 3-5 year product cycle..

If you change car every 3 years, it would mean they would get new models out every 3 years.. (and have constant supply of buyers too!)

For most people outside Malaysia, (eg. US) where a new civic costs less than 20K, you can see where the 3-5 year product cycle fits in the overall plan for auto manufacturers to ensure continuity of sales.

Only in Malaysia that car buyers are 'guaranteed' ownership of the car for 9 years due to 'affordable' (
For modders, I still think that older models are where the performance is at.. esp if you're talking about sports compact VW golf, Civic, AE86, etc. etc. (street cars, basically).. They are practically built to last, and doesn't take much modding in terms of getting them to last compared to newer models (barring cars that are built for speed, (eg. DC5R, EVO MR, etc.)....

And the newer models all come with new features that the manufacturers claim to be improvements... esp the new 'enviromentally friendly' plastics and vinyls... which supposedly is easier to deteriorate faster for enviromental friendliness.. and notice how much thinner the new panels for all cars are? They claim it's the crumple zones to protect the passengers in the cabin.. They're the ones that hired engineers, so I won't argue that point.

Fact is, you won't see most of these new cars hitting 20 without some serious TLC (Tender Loving Care) a.k.a (not driven... often!)

Of course, safety is paramount as these manufacturers claim.. and balancing that against running an operating loss is definitely a hard choice... NOT!

After all that, you still see the accident rates keep increasing, and so it the death toll.. (at least in Malaysia, even after the ridiculous reduction of the speed limit down to 80kmh!... Hoi! Why don't you make it 20kmh!? Then I can take my mountain bike and overtake everyone at 35Kmh, and still achieve the 'Sihat Malaysia!' objective.. and I'm less likely to fall asleep at the wheel either.

I think the accidents happen because license is too easily obtained. :angry_smile:

I know personally that I can't drive without my glasses.. And I've had the opportunity of being stranded in Kota Bharu when I broke my glasses on a holiday, and with no shops open.. I had to get a friend to send me home.. but why are they handing out licences to old men who have dubious eyesights!? And why are there no eye test for yearly licence renewal? (as an example on clamping down on 'unable' drivers.. there are possibly more criteria, but I'll leave that to everyone's imaginations)

I know that the 'more' drivers there are on the road, regardless whether they are actually able or not, would mean 'more' possible buyers for our local makes... see where this is going?

Anyway... 150K for a 'New' type R?

Gimme a SR3 with a 'Boosted K20A' anyday, and I'll still not break that 150K limit, and wipe the new R's ass all over the strip/track. :P (one could wish, yes?)

3 - 5-yr life cycle... definately not for m'sians le... with ciput gaji but high car price... definately not a good combo.

about lesen terbang or lesen gerenti... heheh... still exist or BPR managed to wipe out every corrupt JPJ officer?

haha. $140k in thai means likely >$200k here in bolehland :)
current type-r now are manufactured in swindon, uk (ep3)

i saw 1 of the new civic alr fix the type-R bodykit (may be look same)
put name mugen there
near OKR

Currently in the market , we can see STREAM vs WISH, ACCORD vs CAMRY, CIVIC vs ALTIS, VIOS vs CITY, I just wonder by when Honda will come out with a new model with TURBO engine to challenge 260hpTOYOTA CALDINA GT-4 ... Had a ride in a friend's Caldina N-Spec lately, stylis & powerful .. :angel_smile: :angel_smile:

will it have turbo just like the caldina??

i guess not, honda will always stay loyal to its vtec technology and improve on it further

caldina... is chun but looks like wagon le... just my point of view la... prefer cars that look more like 'normal' cars (sedan, coupe, hatch)

wonder if there r any Type-R(K20A) kaki around?

i'm ecstatic to know tat Honda is going to launch it's type-R to the current four doors civic. wonder where we can see the pics.....any idea anyone?