Need Help On Absorbers

ryukaze

hey guys..i just need some opinions here...

currently i'm driving a satria 1.3..2002 edition..

rite now, it seems like the absorbers at the back are really 'out'..i mean wen i drove my parents around..which both of them sat at the back..i cam across a bumper and...GRAAAKKK...yup..its true..that happened..

are all satrias bound to do that after a year plus? some say it is..after a year..the absorbers are in need to be replaced...and what better suspensions can i use which is under budget..say rm500 to rm1000...i need a good strong one yet has the comfort of the stock standard..i dont want to lower my car..not yet..

anyone can help me with this..

dude im planning to get front abs wherby u need back, how bout we buy one set u take back and i take front..how bout dat..brand is gab..new one summore..but im not so sure if u can use it cus dat suspension for my gsr one..im also driving a satria..the gab abs is made from japan and assemble in msia..ru interested ?? price is around Rm 350 for the back ...gimme a call if ur interested..012 609 3370..
so if we buy one set will be more easier and cheap oso..i need to get front one cus leaking oso...my rear one still fine so no point changing..

Originally posted by GSR5559@Jun 15 2004, 04:52 PM
dude im planning to get front abs wherby u need back, how bout we buy one set u take back and i take front..how bout dat..brand is gab..new one summore..but im not so sure if u can use it cus dat suspension for my gsr one..im also driving a satria..the gab abs is made from japan and assemble in msia..ru interested ?? price is around Rm 350 for the back ...gimme a call if ur interested..012 609 3370..
so if we buy one set will be more easier and cheap oso..i need to get front one cus leaking oso...my rear one still fine so no point changing..
hey...GAB absorber for RM350 pair (rear)?? I am quite interesting coz mine also KONG.

yeah dude..quite cheap i got it..imean reli damn dirt cheap..in the mean time if ur reli interested pls wait for a while more cus im waiting for my salary ..ahah..and i need to know whts ur specs of ur car? cus like dude ryukaze his driving 1.3 chassis and he needs original as in soft abs and i think gab is quite stiff for him and im afraid 1.8 abs cant fit into his car..but if ur car is 1.6 chassis or above den both of us can go for it..i take front and u take back..ur engine is 1.8 oso rite?? mine is 1.8 oso wif 1.6 body..

using apm performax...resonable price...resonable quality.... around RM80 per piece for rear ab.

There a lot of absorbers in the market some good some bad, but always the driver thought that the 'KlaaaaaK' is because absorber KONG but the real deal is the spring !!! :ph34r:

Dont forget to check the spring say 50K km because all OE spring will start to sag say around after 20K and will drop more than 25mm after 40K....

For the shocks, I would personnal recommend

Monroe
GPD
KAYABA
APM

These shocks is economical and very reliable :D

hhhmm..i thought monroe not so good..imusing monroe oso but leaking oredi..so i still prefer GAB cus my rear is GAb and till now there is no any probs wif it..

;) ryukaze, is yr requirement just a standard absorbers only? not going for high end products?

i'm planning to get the high end ones...but the budget is quite high and i have to wait a bit (just spent a HUGE amount of cash on sumthing...*sigh*) so i'm opting for a substitute for a while...quite interested in the offer frm GSR...but he did mention abt the abs being hard and all...i have heard my fren telling me that the abs for the 1.8 isnt compatible with the 1.3..*sigh* again...

GSR..it was such a good deal... :(

theres plenty to chose from
tein, tanabe, hks, zeal, apexi, ohlins, blistein, koni, JIC........

or try local ones
apm, rg, titan[can customize ikut suke hati], hwl...

Originally posted by ryukaze@Jun 17 2004, 08:41 AM
i'm planning to get the high end ones...but the budget is quite high and i have to wait a bit (just spent a HUGE amount of cash on sumthing...*sigh*) so i'm opting for a substitute for a while...quite interested in the offer frm GSR...but he did mention abt the abs being hard and all...i have heard my fren telling me that the abs for the 1.8 isnt compatible with the 1.3..*sigh* again...

GSR..it was such a good deal... :(
ryukaze: if im not mistaken 1.3 can use those 1.8 one if u change the springs oso into 1.8 one..eg: how bout those cars 1.3 converted engines into 20 VR4..they cant be still using the old standard abs rite? they need to go for better and nice enuf abs to support the weight of the engine..i think if u get those 1.8 abs u need to buy springs to fit all in..anyway try asking any werkshop , mebi they can help ..
and true, its a good deal dude..i was shocked to see the price oso..and about the stiffness im not veri sure yet , im jus assuming dat GAB is more to hard type abs..
so if u reli want the abs , pls ask any of the pros to tell u wht to do and isit suitable for 1.8 abs fit into 1.3 chassis..i think need to change bigger springs , dats all ...jus my 2 cent

Originally posted by GSR5559@Jun 15 2004, 05:46 PM
yeah dude..quite cheap i got it..imean reli damn dirt cheap..in the mean time if ur reli interested pls wait for a while more cus im waiting for my salary ..ahah..and i need to know whts ur specs of ur car? cus like dude ryukaze his driving 1.3 chassis and he needs original as in soft abs and i think gab is quite stiff for him and im afraid 1.8 abs cant fit into his car..but if ur car is 1.6 chassis or above den both of us can go for it..i take front and u take back..ur engine is 1.8 oso rite?? mine is 1.8 oso wif 1.6 body..
Mine 1 is 1.3 chasis then converted to 1.8 engine. I am not sure about it because some said can fit on 1.6 absorber and some said cannot....?? By the way, I got 4 disc brakes.

hmm...i'm kinda lost here a bit...if i do manage to get the 1.8 abs..and the springs, do i need to make some mods to the undercarriage..or the place where to fit in the springs to suit it?...coz i'm really in the need to get those abs soon...

can't 'draft' jimankiller on the road properly when he takes corners...thats my sifu...hehehehe

if im not mistaken dun need to do anythin wif ur body..this one better ask mechs le..they know better..from my point of view, i think if u change into 1.8 abs u need to change the springs oso..1.3 springs are smaller compare to 1.8 one..i guess...so if u change to 1.8 abs u need to change those type of 1.8 springs oso..jus my 2 cent..correct me if im wrong..im jus a noob in abs..not reli sure

sure sure looking forward for ur survey dude..
logically, to those ppl converted engine from 1.3 chasis using evo abs den how?? i think they change the whole abs and springs without any mod to their own body chassis..

what short stroke absorbers fits tanabe springs? mine stock absorbers going to die soon .. I heard monroe sensatrec is the cheapest short stroke absorber? other brands? as long it matches or correct combination with tanabe springs ok liao. I got tight budget .. can list a few cheapest short stroke absorbers? :rolleyes:

Originally posted by simplythebest@Jun 19 2004, 05:50 PM
what short stroke absorbers fits tanabe springs? mine stock absorbers going to die soon .. I heard monroe sensatrec is the cheapest short stroke absorber? other brands? as long it matches or correct combination with tanabe springs ok liao. I got tight budget .. can list a few cheapest short stroke absorbers? :rolleyes:
should look for APM... urr Monroe.. not that good feedback from my mechanic la..

i got offered wen i was purchasing my wheels..monroe..i think sensatrac black colour one..but i dun i will like it cus its more to comfy ride..i prefer those reli hard and bumpy rides..i still prefer GAB..
currently im using monroe blue colour one..leaking oredi ..got squeeking sound..but for my gab still stays firm and good condition like new..ehehe