MYVI SE 1.3 2013 Question

error0024

Hi there sifus! I wanted to ask for my car. I just got it like couple of days ago going on 350km already on the ODOMETER.

Somehow, havent' got my 1st service yet though. Wanted to ask for advises.
Here is my plan.

1.Changing tire rims from 14" to 15", probably normal ones. Looked around a lot people say stabilizes the car and better comfort. What do you guys think? Around RM1500 with tires together.

2.Changing light weighted crank pulleys, does this improve anything? I heard it seems to improve the pickup speed and performance, how about FC wise?

3.I have bought Firestorm Ignition Coil Booster, and Voltage Stabilizer (by erictioh) one. But planning to put it after my first car service. Will it improve anything actually? hehe.

4. Planning to put the front strut bar which is two point, said to be more stable when cornering, but got any advantages and disadvantages mah? I mean .. does it improve the comfortability? Because with my current OEM everything, I just go to highway and drive bout 120km/h and more, then behind my friend and others say very bumpy and uncomfortable. :respect:

5.I'm planning to change my stock headunit into Pioneer AVH-5650BT/5550BT/ any around range RM1000 to RM1400 more or less. Is it better with this kind of head unit? I mean I'm going to install the amplifier and such into my car as well as the subwoofer, and an extra amp for sub itself. Planning to mod my side door to fit 6.5". But temporary using kennon 4" normal front and JBL P660C at the back. What do you guys think?

6(Updated). Does K&N Drop in filter helps with the FC as well as performance? I forgotten to add this into this. Total would be spending if it worth it for the car. Please do advise :stars: :respect:

7(Updated). Heat shield for the engine, how does it help with the system?
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/perodua/437801-diy-stock-myvi-and-alza-1-5-heat-shield.html

Sorry for so many questions and such. Does the upgrades above all worth it well? I mean, waste of money or it will be better? Because I wanted a more comfortable ride, more power and save fuel. As well as the audio system to be quite clear as I'm always driving around (travelling job).
Do let me know guys. Currently haven't have my first service. Average is 10.0km/litre.
Not sure it's fine or not, cuz look around said about 13km/litre.

Please do advice guys, as my car still have 3 years warranty, to be exact 60,000km. Should be able to achieve in short time.Thanks sifus please do help me out

I have another question is about my car. Seems to have some metal hitting sound

Myvise 1.3 2013 metal hit sound - YouTube

Do let me know if it's possible, as I tried to go to myvi SC, then problem went away already. After awhile it comes back. I'm very worried with my car. Hehe :thumbs: :thumbs:

If your brand new car is still under warranty and need to be serviced at SC, item 1-4 better not do (first).
Perodua SC can (or likely) void your warranty/claims if something goes wrong with the car.
If you still want to go ahead, better check with the SC regarding the terms and condition of the warranty.

Congrats with the new ride.

Hi, just my sincere advise.

1. Try to utilize your current tyres first as it's still new. About the stabilizer, it wont improve any comfort to your ride. You might feel your ride is more stiff.

2. I got my mythelogy crank pulley installed on my ride. Yes, you will feel smoother but it didn't reduce my fuel consumption. Your ride is still new, keep it as stock.

3. I got no experience on these 2.

4. Front structure bar does help abit on 'stable' your car, but it will also decrease the comfort level due to it will reflex the response after your car hit something on the road. Based on your rear passengers do not feel comfortable in the car while cruising 120km/h because of your car is a myvi.

5. New myvi 1.3 head unit is good. I cant find any reason for me to change it away.

6. Frankly speaking here. OEM air filter is the best if your car is stock yet it's cheap. No point wasting RM2xx on the air filter (K&N) + it need to re-oil.

7. You can DIY on it. Lesser hot air sucked into engine might improve response.

8. I recommend you to stay as stock due to your ride is still new + all OEM are the MOST comfortable setup. Quiet exhaust + comfy suspension if you compare to aftermarket stuffs.

PS: The most important thing. Don't waste so much of money on the stuffs you plan to upgrade. They're just slightly improve or maybe you cant even notice the improvement at all. So no point to 'upgrade'.

If your brand new car is still under warranty and need to be serviced at SC, item 1-4 better not do (first).
Perodua SC can (or likely) void your warranty/claims if something goes wrong with the car.
If you still want to go ahead, better check with the SC regarding the terms and condition of the warranty.

Congrats with the new ride.

Thanks bro for the information ^.^. Probably I will have to wait for the item 1 to 4 first .. until 1st year if possibel I think. But I will try ask the rims with the SC see if they can or not @@

Hi, just my sincere advise.

1. Try to utilize your current tyres first as it's still new. About the stabilizer, it wont improve any comfort to your ride. You might feel your ride is more stiff.

2. I got my mythelogy crank pulley installed on my ride. Yes, you will feel smoother but it didn't reduce my fuel consumption. Your ride is still new, keep it as stock.

3. I got no experience on these 2.

4. Front structure bar does help abit on 'stable' your car, but it will also decrease the comfort level due to it will reflex the response after your car hit something on the road. Based on your rear passengers do not feel comfortable in the car while cruising 120km/h because of your car is a myvi.

5. New myvi 1.3 head unit is good. I cant find any reason for me to change it away.

6. Frankly speaking here. OEM air filter is the best if your car is stock yet it's cheap. No point wasting RM2xx on the air filter (K&N) + it need to re-oil.

7. You can DIY on it. Lesser hot air sucked into engine might improve response.

8. I recommend you to stay as stock due to your ride is still new + all OEM are the MOST comfortable setup. Quiet exhaust + comfy suspension if you compare to aftermarket stuffs.

PS: The most important thing. Don't waste so much of money on the stuffs you plan to upgrade. They're just slightly improve or maybe you cant even notice the improvement at all. So no point to 'upgrade'.

Hmm .. true also Probably I will be staying with the VS,FS and others. Rims 15" will be after 1 year .. after all the tires worn out or something .. utilize first I guess.. haha
About the air filter probably will try change .. to the K&N due to eco they said .. FSB probably I will add but not now .. still I have something else in mind now.

Planning to add the Autocraft DEO-1000 which got one converter for plug and play one. Getting it secondhand for bout RM400~500 this range hunting. What do you guys think about this piggyback?
Hope to get responses hehe

I love spoonfeeding questions. Not. :thefinger:

Hi there sifus! I wanted to ask for my car. I just got it like couple of days ago going on 350km already on the ODOMETER.

Somehow, havent' got my 1st service yet though. Wanted to ask for advises.
Here is my plan.

Do you know what the 1st service does for the car?
Do you know what the warranty covers?
Are you planning on voiding it?

If not, don't do anything until warranty over.

1.Changing tire rims from 14" to 15", probably normal ones. Looked around a lot people say stabilizes the car and better comfort. What do you guys
think? Around RM1500 with tires together.

Changing to larger rims means lower profile tyres which means more expensive tyres and less comfort with lower profile tyres. You want comfort stick with stock high profile tyres. You want performance go larger. 205/50/15 Federal RSR. But with performance you lose comfort. If you want both performance and comfort - wait long long.

If you do decide to uprate your rims, do yourself a favor and get lightweight rims. Advanti Storm 15" are 4.6kg per rim and they are lighter than your stock rims.

2.Changing light weighted crank pulleys, does this improve anything? I heard it seems to improve the pickup speed and performance, how about FC wise?

Do you know what it does? If not don't change it. Don't listen to hearsay. Lighter crank pulley reduces overall static weight of the pulley, meaning it's easier for the engine to turn the crank (to some extent) but you lose the momentum with the weightloss. Pros and cons. And it does nothing for performance if your car is stock other than make the rpm climb faster without it translating into any sort of performance gains.

3.I have bought Firestorm Ignition Coil Booster, and Voltage Stabilizer (by erictioh) one. But planning to put it after my first car service. Will it improve anything actually? hehe.

You bought already lor. Are you going to throw everything away if I told you it's crap? Just install it la. Friend has the firestorm and it improved his FC quite significantly. That VS, nothing will change other than perhaps brighter headlamps. His is nothing more than a cap-bank.

4. Planning to put the front strut bar which is two point, said to be more stable when cornering, but got any advantages and disadvantages mah? I mean .. does it improve the comfortability? Because with my current OEM everything, I just go to highway and drive bout 120km/h and more, then behind my friend and others say very bumpy and uncomfortable. :respect:

Again - go do your research and find out what a top tower strut does before you decide what to do with it. You want to corner harder and faster with a H-torsion beam car, don't expect a tower strut to help much. And your friends are not the best source of information if they say a tower strut will affect comfort.

5.I'm planning to change my stock headunit into Pioneer AVH-5650BT/5550BT/ any around range RM1000 to RM1400 more or less. Is it better with this kind of head unit? I mean I'm going to install the amplifier and such into my car as well as the subwoofer, and an extra amp for sub itself. Planning to mod my side door to fit 6.5". But temporary using kennon 4" normal front and JBL P660C at the back. What do you guys think?

I think you're rich if you can afford to use "temporary" ICE. The HU is the source of your sound. Crappy HU = crappy source sound. Your speakers is what makes the sound so crappy speakers = crappy sound. A cincai mix and match of ICE components will result in cincai resulting sound. On my Myvi I only installed one Rainbow speaker set and installed a underseat subwoofer, stock HU, sounds better than a few other cincai mix setups I've come across that cost way more. Find an installer, pay the installer to make it sound good, but make sure the installer is reliable. My recommendations are Howie Choo from EA Autoworks and Peter from CV Audio.

6(Updated). Does K&N Drop in filter helps with the FC as well as performance? I forgotten to add this into this. Total would be spending if it worth it for the car. Please do advise :stars: :respect:

Sigh. What do you know about FC? The car works when oxygen (air) and fuel is ignited in the combustion chamber. When the car detects more air is introduced then more fuel is introduced to compensate. It will adjust based on whether it's lean or rich. So if you add in a high-flow air filter, what do you think will happen to the formula?

High air flow (meaning more air) x fuel = good or bad FC?

Hot air is less dense that cool air. Less dense air has theoretically less oxygen meaning less power.

Sorry for so many questions and such. Does the upgrades above all worth it well? I mean, waste of money or it will be better? Because I wanted a more comfortable ride, more power and save fuel. As well as the audio system to be quite clear as I'm always driving around (travelling job).

Do let me know guys. Currently haven't have my first service. Average is 10.0km/litre.
Not sure it's fine or not, cuz look around said about 13km/litre.

You want power, save fuel and comfort? You're driving the wrong car.

I have another question is about my car. Seems to have some metal hitting sound

Do let me know if it's possible, as I tried to go to myvi SC, then problem went away already. After awhile it comes back. I'm very worried with my car. Hehe :thumbs: :thumbs:

That's the extractor heat cover banging. Remove the extractor heat cover and that sound will go away.

And finally Autocraft DEO-1000 is nothing more than something that fools the ECU into spending more fuel or less fuel depending on what you set it to. What for la? Control your right foot. If you want a piggyback get a proper one.

I love spoonfeeding questions. Not. :thefinger:

Do you know what the 1st service does for the car?
Do you know what the warranty covers?
Are you planning on voiding it?

If not, don't do anything until warranty over.

Changing to larger rims means lower profile tyres which means more expensive tyres and less comfort with lower profile tyres. You want comfort stick with stock high profile tyres. You want performance go larger. 205/50/15 Federal RSR. But with performance you lose comfort. If you want both performance and comfort - wait long long.

If you do decide to uprate your rims, do yourself a favor and get lightweight rims. Advanti Storm 15" are 4.6kg per rim and they are lighter than your stock rims.

Do you know what it does? If not don't change it. Don't listen to hearsay. Lighter crank pulley reduces overall static weight of the pulley, meaning it's easier for the engine to turn the crank (to some extent) but you lose the momentum with the weightloss. Pros and cons. And it does nothing for performance if your car is stock other than make the rpm climb faster without it translating into any sort of performance gains.

You bought already lor. Are you going to throw everything away if I told you it's crap? Just install it la. Friend has the firestorm and it improved his FC quite significantly. That VS, nothing will change other than perhaps brighter headlamps. His is nothing more than a cap-bank.

Again - go do your research and find out what a top tower strut does before you decide what to do with it. You want to corner harder and faster with a H-torsion beam car, don't expect a tower strut to help much. And your friends are not the best source of information if they say a tower strut will affect comfort.

I think you're rich if you can afford to use "temporary" ICE. The HU is the source of your sound. Crappy HU = crappy source sound. Your speakers is what makes the sound so crappy speakers = crappy sound. A cincai mix and match of ICE components will result in cincai resulting sound. On my Myvi I only installed one Rainbow speaker set and installed a underseat subwoofer, stock HU, sounds better than a few other cincai mix setups I've come across that cost way more. Find an installer, pay the installer to make it sound good, but make sure the installer is reliable. My recommendations are Howie Choo from EA Autoworks and Peter from CV Audio.

Sigh. What do you know about FC? The car works when oxygen (air) and fuel is ignited in the combustion chamber. When the car detects more air is introduced then more fuel is introduced to compensate. It will adjust based on whether it's lean or rich. So if you add in a high-flow air filter, what do you think will happen to the formula?

High air flow (meaning more air) x fuel = good or bad FC?

Hot air is less dense that cool air. Less dense air has theoretically less oxygen meaning less power.

You want power, save fuel and comfort? You're driving the wrong car.

That's the extractor heat cover banging. Remove the extractor heat cover and that sound will go away.

And finally Autocraft DEO-1000 is nothing more than something that fools the ECU into spending more fuel or less fuel depending on what you set it to. What for la? Control your right foot. If you want a piggyback get a proper one.

Thank you for your view and time bro. Haha ^^ those are very very useful.
Regarding the piggyback. Even "SIECLE MAP ECU CONTROL SYSTEM 314" is not proper piggyback? Just very interested in these, since got 2nd hand selling off though. Do you have any brand or any preferred piggyback can introduce me?.

Thanks a lot bro. Probably I'll stick with several stock things ^^.Yeah what does the 1st services does actually? Seems like changing oil and ... stuff @@
Would the E-manage piggyback helps? Because planning to go with it if it's quite nice and plug and play.
Because if cutting wires.. abit warranty void right @@

Thank you for your view and time bro. Haha ^^ those are very very useful.
Regarding the piggyback. Even "SIECLE MAP ECU CONTROL SYSTEM 314" is not proper piggyback? Just very interested in these, since got 2nd hand selling off though. Do you have any brand or any preferred piggyback can introduce me?.

Thanks a lot bro. Probably I'll stick with several stock things ^^.Yeah what does the 1st services does actually? Seems like changing oil and ... stuff @@
Would the E-manage piggyback helps? Because planning to go with it if it's quite nice and plug and play.
Because if cutting wires.. abit warranty void right @@

I have no idea what siècle map ECU control is. Can't comment. A proper piggyback should at the very least modify the AF map. Adjusting just the AF ratio doesn't do anything.

A brand new car will have very tight piston rings and all that stuff. So the first 1000km is important because the piston rings would be tight and it'll run itself to fit properly. Lots of metal shavings and all will be in the oil. How well the pistons fit also depends on how you drive the car. Too gentle and it might stay that way forever. Too rough and you might hurt something. Don't expect anything from the car before the 1st service.

All too many times that car owners want to mod their car......that combines all of the below characteristics

Comfortable ride when bringing GF
Good handling when driving at sweeping corners
Looks good & unique (wow factor)
Easy and cheap to maintain pulak
Easy to look for spare-part lagi
Powerful, yet economical in FC (can meh?)

IF anyone can find a car that fulfils all above, please PM me the car and the model. I am very interested to own such perfect car.:biggrin:

Of course. From the looks of it, i wanted to confirm which is the way to go. That is why I asked directly, comfort but good handling? I'm not looking for that as comfort is my main concern. As i have believe bigger rims, so better comfort. I have zero knowledge what soever.

looks unique and good? I never even put that as first in my car. As i have mentioned, stuff like fs, vs and piggyback as advertised said so to perform better and reduces fc to confirm this thats why i asked once again. Not possible? People said a car underpowered will take increase the fc, so do you agree with this?

For what i'm looking for in my car is comfort, but as some people who advised were very interesting and informative like bro izso said so. So i managed to understand all these already and thus i'm quite happy already.

I don't mind being said i'm a noob or trying to say these. But i am learning through process at least i asked. Haha, anyways thanks for your reply on this thread ken yeang.

izso, thanks again for your response and by sharing your information like this. Thanks for your time too, probably I will go with the piggyback e-manage i guess. But yeah maybe after my first service first hopefully.. Cheers :D

Don't bother with the emanage la. Stock car modify what? You have nothing for the ECU to play around with.

If you want to save fuel, stick with the firestorm. CVKit79 (or whatever his nick is.. I know him as cvkit) uses it on his Myvi 1.5 and he gets incredible FC figures. 16~17km/L but the key point is his Myvi is a 1.5 and it's a manual..... oh and he drives like a grandfather with parkinsons. :rofl:

If I were you, I'd change those rims to lightweight rims first then use good 5W30 oil. Then stick on Vkool Elite tint.

tutup kedai.

Don't bother with the emanage la. Stock car modify what? You have nothing for the ECU to play around with.

If you want to save fuel, stick with the firestorm. CVKit79 (or whatever his nick is.. I know him as cvkit) uses it on his Myvi 1.5 and he gets incredible FC figures. 16~17km/L but the key point is his Myvi is a 1.5 and it's a manual..... oh and he drives like a grandfather with parkinsons. :rofl:

If I were you, I'd change those rims to lightweight rims first then use good 5W30 oil. Then stick on Vkool Elite tint.

tutup kedai.

lets vote for myvi (1-10 points compare with JDM) :- me 1st

comfort - 3
power - 2
sound prove - 5
stability - 2
fuel consumption - 6
uniqueness - 9

* i use to own a myvi 1.3 manual previous yrs, for me, its s*ck...

All too many times that car owners want to mod their car......that combines all of the below characteristics

Comfortable ride when bringing GF - Can be done. I have changed to adjustables and my gf didnt even realize until I told her. No complain so far.
Good handling when driving at sweeping corners - Can be improved. Well, even the sky isnt really the limit,eh?
Looks good & unique (wow factor) - Modify the looks of the car so that we wont mistakenly keep pulling the door handle of another similar car. You know la...this kind of cars are everywhere!
Easy and cheap to maintain pulak - So far so good
Easy to look for spare-part lagi - Also so far so good
Powerful, yet economical in FC (can meh?) - Can! To have more power, it is not necessary to add more fuel and air. Simply, just improve the overall efficiency of the car. Engine, gears, aero, weight, etc. Just like Ford Fiesta 1.0 Ecoboost.

IF anyone can find a car that fulfils all above, please PM me the car and the model. I am very interested to own such perfect car.:biggrin:

To be frank, we buy myvi because we cant really afford a ford fiesta (well, I am). But do we stop and accept the crap it is? No....

But seriously, Thread Starter, you think of all these even before 1000km milage? Ok maybe changing the rims is reasonable. Tyres and rims are out of warranty from Perodua once the buyer accepted the car.

tutup kedai.

lol....17 la...luckily u didnt write 67 or 69 :thefinger: I drive like a grandfather with 30% brain capacity left...not parkinsons la...if i drive with parkinsons, I would have probably crashed into your workshop haha

TS, just install the firestorm and voltage stabilizer after doing the first service (1000km). I got average of 16-17km/l. If often stuck in jam or the great great grandfather in me is in revving mode, I can get the worst 14.5km/l. The best FC i'd achieved so far was 18.3km/l and that's not driving between states.

You may play with the ECU only if you know what you are doing coz if not, bye bye warranty and you might regret it when your car is not longer the car you thought it would be.

lol....17 la...luckily u didnt write 67 or 69 :thefinger: I drive like a grandfather with 30% brain capacity left...not parkinsons la...if i drive with parkinsons, I would have probably crashed into your workshop haha

Instead of 67 or 69 he post 79, that is double doss.....hahahahahaha:biggrin:

haha thanks alot guys. really great advises :P prolly i'll only start mod nexr year. since piggyback also cant help mucj maybe.. but got time i go kl do some stuff more i guess.. interested in ice haha

tutup kedai.

To be frank, we buy myvi because we cant really afford a ford fiesta (well, I am). But do we stop and accept the crap it is? No....

But seriously, Thread Starter, you think of all these even before 1000km milage? Ok maybe changing the rims is reasonable. Tyres and rims are out of warranty from Perodua once the buyer accepted the car.

TS, just install the firestorm and voltage stabilizer after doing the first service (1000km). I got average of 16-17km/l. If often stuck in jam or the great great grandfather in me is in revving mode, I can get the worst 14.5km/l. The best FC i'd achieved so far was 18.3km/l and that's not driving between states.

You may play with the ECU only if you know what you are doing coz if not, bye bye warranty and you might regret it when your car is not longer the car you thought it would be.

Sifus ^^, Haha thanks for your shared view and everything. Really helped me to understand the car things more than ever. Really interested in getting to know more about it as well. Will try one by one haha. Quite happy with the DIY mod of the heatshield though, cuz increased response .. but gonna make a proper mod later.

But I thought usually .. manual has better FC than auto? @@ Haha, currently it's at 10.0km/litre more or less. Reached 600km already.. 400 to go for the first service .. haha:rofl::rofl:

cvkit, ya I think of these before the 1st 1000km .. because previously was on CRV, so excited to mod after i got my MYVI ... got it on 10th of January .. this year though. But the sound is quite annoying though .. the one i posted youtube link.

Izso bro, about your comment on e-manage and others, probably for now.. I won't touch ECU piggyback I guess... haha maybe 1 year later will see how.

The extractor heat cover? @@ Where to find that.. haha really sorry bout that, still new .. it happens sometimes and it doesn't happen ... usually after on air cond or while the car is on D mode ..

Izso bro, about your comment on e-manage and others, probably for now.. I won't touch ECU piggyback I guess... haha maybe 1 year later will see how.

The extractor heat cover? @@ Where to find that.. haha really sorry bout that, still new .. it happens sometimes and it doesn't happen ... usually after on air cond or while the car is on D mode ..

The only reason why you'd need a piggyback or a standalone is if the stock ECU can no longer handle the mods you've done on the car. Stroker kit, oversized pistons, larger valves, PNP, turbo, whatever. These mods will need more petrol, different AF combinations at different rev ranges, etc. That's when you need to fiddle with the ECU. Otherwise it's just fitting a pair of RM1500 Asics ultralight running shoes on you and expecting you to outrun Usain Bolt.

Extractor - go google what that is. The heatshield or cover is the one that's bolted down to it. 2 bolts remove the heatshield. But remove it and it'll make the engine bay super hot.

but installer said e-manage can add vr4's hp up to 30 wor

Yes.. stock ECU is set to very conservative figures to protect the engine and turbo. If you push it a little more which most people do, can get more lor. But this is applicable on a Turbo la. On most NAs won't get that much gain. My friends stock (except exhaust) 1.5 Satria went from 68bhp to 81bhp just by using the EMS-1 which I sold him. But on my car it gave me a 5bhp gain only. Same tuner, same EMS-1 just different cars.

Simple boost to 1 bar from 0.6 will increase plenty already.....:driver::biggrin: