My Verdict

EFN

Zth is about sharing information, so here goes the story.

My Recipe:
3 Bottles of Ace Hardware Motor Oil 10W40 (1L Each Bottle at RM5.50) = RM16.50
1 Bottle of Tufoil = RM59.00
1 can of Top1 Engine Flush = RM10.00
1 Fresh OEM Toyota Oil Filter = RM15.00
Total: RM100.50

Verdict:
Skeptical at first but fell in love with the results immediately after the first 20 minutes of engine shake-downs. On daily basis, I drive my 4A-GE 20V hard, really hard, 4000-8000RPM is my regular operating revs. Before Tufoil, any moderate quality of engine oil short of Semi-Synthetis will simply water down after doing below 2000Km of milage (with my style of driving that is). The reason I opt for Tufoil was quite simple - I need a cheaper solution to replace the ever trusworthy but rather expensive Chemlube Ester Based 10W40 Oils, priced at RM39.00 per liter, I simply could not afford to maintain using Chemlube for long. Other than Chemlube, I put my trust in Motul Chrono 300V Series, yet another even more expensive Ester based Synthetic Oils (Above RM250 for single oil change). For less than RM100, Tufoil + cheap ACE Hardware Motor Oil gave me the same result (perhaps better) that those two engine oil gave.

With Tufoil, now doing well over 1000Kmh, it is not showing any sign of degradation in the "feel" and response of my much battered 4A-GE. Revs are smooth all the way and significantly lighter too. Water Temp remains stable even in extreme hot condition (Stop & Go Low Gear driving). I hate to admit but I did notice that Fuel Consumption have improved too. Previously I would be lucky to hit 400Km with 40L of petrol, now I am seeing even 420Km. The other thing is that the shims are making less noise than berofe, I am not bothered much about this since 4A-GE is a very noisy engine anyway.

Upon closer observation, I did notice that Tufoil treated engine oil will turn rather very "slick" & slippery to the touch, as long as my 4A-GE loves it, it's fine for me.

Now the only test that I would really like my current recipe to pass is the "longevity test". With Chemlube, it easily exceed my personal 12000Km drain interval without noticable degradation (judged from engine response & Oil outlook). If Tufoil + Ace Hardware Motor Oil can withstand up to 9000Km, I would be a very happy man. We shall see eh...

about the mileage...

i recently put tufoil in after my transplant...

before tufoil.... i only got 400km on a full tank...
after tufoil... now is my first full tank... i already hit 450km(includes a trip up genting)

was using shell lebih kilo before tufoil... now using new primax by petronas...

not sure if its the petrol of tufoil.... but now doing my own r&d on petrols... trying to find most milage petrol.......

but i think its the tufoil....

weiii EFN ... so good ahh ?? hehehehe ...
i have been using tufoil for over a year liauuuu lorr .. very noticable at high revs ... drove my car 12,000km oso dont feel like changing oil one laa .. hehehehe ... :)

waaaaaaaaaa tufoil so good one kaaaaaaaaaaa ... must try lor like this :unsure: :D :lol:

EFN, your story is really an eye opener.

Last week it seems someone bought 500 bottles of ACE oil.!! It is more usual to see most buying 4 bottles of ACE oil and 1 bottle of Tufoil though.

It appears that there was a 5% fuel savings for EFN. Effectively, because of this the real cost of Tufoil is about RM30.

As for you chelnick, with 10% fuel savings, Tufoil is actually f.o.c.

With petrol prices expected to go up much higher, fuel economy is on more and more people's minds these days.

ACE Hardware Motor Oil ???

Never see it before? Any advantage on this oil?

Mineral based oil?

OK guys....I have a new update.

Now my 4A-GE is CONSTANTLY clocking 480-510KMs for 43L of Petrol!!!!!

WOW!!!! those figures are all but impossible last time (before Tufoil), the max I can get was 400KMs. And one thing for sure, I didn't change the way I drive my car much (maybe less high revving due to petrol price hike & rainy days)

Miracle yes? hahahaha

EG9: ACE Hardware Motor Oil are actually those cheap-cheap mineral oil supposed to be used for Lawn Mower or Motor Boat or something like that. Hahahaha imagine using ACE oils in 4A-GE.....no way man if I gonna run my car without any sort of additive to go with them.

Actually Those guys from Autoworld is responsible for the bulk purchase of those engine oils. Hahaha. ACE stocks them up regularly. I have read that there are some spies over at ACE to inform these bunch of people so they could be the first to buy them by the truckloads.

EFN, the 10/30 grade engine oil is not for lawnmowers. The lawnmower oils are at the gardening section. Green label ones. Engine oil Red label. Small bottle 10/30 1 litre, big boittle 20/50 4 litre or 15/40 4 litre. cost more. That is why they buy the small 10/30 1 litre.

I'm going to get tuff oil for my gearbox to see if it could solve some problems i'm having with it. :rolleyes:

Originally posted by netmatrix@Nov 11 2004, 02:00
Actually Those guys from Autoworld is responsible for the bulk purchase of those engine oils. Hahaha. ACE stocks them up regularly. I have read that there are some spies over at ACE to inform these bunch of people so they could be the first to buy them by the truckloads.

EFN, the 10/30 grade engine oil is not for lawnmowers. The lawnmower oils are at the gardening section. Green label ones. Engine oil Red label. Small bottle 10/30 1 litre, big boittle 20/50 4 litre or 15/40 4 litre. cost more. That is why they buy the small 10/30 1 litre.

I'm going to get tuff oil for my gearbox to see if it could solve some problems i'm having with it. :rolleyes:
are u out of your mind? using the TUFOIL on ur gearbox? :o :blink: OMG...could be helping ur car to commit suicide la...TUFOIL is for engine treatment la...not gearbox oil treatment :P

Tufoil is suitable for manual gear boxes and rear axles. The factory did not see a need to come up with a dedicated packaging for gear treatment for the American market has been using them for this purpose for over 20 years. It is also widely used in industrial gearboxes.

Originally posted by FocalPoint@Nov 25 2004, 09:34
Tufoil is suitable for manual gear boxes and rear axles. The factory did not see a need to come up with a dedicated packaging for gear treatment for the American market has been using them for this purpose for over 20 years. It is also widely used in industrial gearboxes.
So is the dosage the same as engine oil? About half a bottle since gear box needs only about 2 liters of oil.

tintin

This has been covered earlier on.

For manual gearboxes and rear axles, the recommended mixing ratio is 5%. Most manual gear boxes contain about 2 lits or less of gear oil. So, as a guide we add in half a bottle of Tufoil.

hmm...well,too bad tufoil is a lil too pricey.hope the can reduce te price....

i'm a student..petrol also arghhhh...and buy tuf oil..haih...

but i used tufoil for my two oil change before..works great...especially on morning starts

focalpoint,

its tufoil can mix with power steering fluid?? just curious... :)

hmm upon reading what u guys said..
this tufoil thing seems quite intersting
can tel me what does it do ?
sorry a noob here

Officially, we have never recommended Tufoil to be used with power steering fluid.

But, two car owners, one Volvo S70 and a Merc 280 have used a small quantity of Tufoil in their power steering fluid. The Vovo had a problem with very stiff steering while the Merc had some hum when turing the steering. It seems it helps in some way.

These two car owners had used Tufoil as a last resort when all else fails.

Personally, we do not have the experience on our own cars to tell you whether it will work, though.

Celica, Tufoil is an engine treatment that is highly recommended for use with both mineral and synthetic oils.

We suggest you visit ACE HARDWARE stores and watch the Tufoil videos. The videos tells you everything you want to know about Tufoil and what benefits users can expect from the use of Tufoil.

Originally posted by FocalPoint@Dec 6 2004, 09:47
Officially, we have never recommended Tufoil to be used with power steering fluid.

But, two car owners, one Volvo S70 and a Merc 280 have used a small quantity of Tufoil in their power steering fluid. The Vovo had a problem with very stiff steering while the Merc had some hum when turing the steering. It seems it helps in some way.

These two car owners had used Tufoil as a last resort when all else fails.

Personally, we do not have the experience on our own cars to tell you whether it will work, though.
thanks for the explain :)

was thinking to put few drops into the power steering pump as i hv some sound when turning steering...