My B20B project just get started

Yesh... Another fact that makes me to change to standalone...
AaaaAA money money...

But stock car, actually piggyback good enough.. like the stock EK4 my friend has, just have VAFC to tune the lower part of the map after he swapped 2 mugen 4-1.. because as most have experienced, with 4-1, the lower end is worse, so with tuning, it goes back to normal....

Standalone is best when you already change the stroke or up the compression(by quite a bit) and intake, for example, when you use B20B crank/rod (with/without block), yet still use B16A P30 ecu, the ignition timing curve is based on the piston speed of a B16A crank and rod, so naturally at some parts of the RPM, you will gain/lose torque.

But piggybacks do have a place, except that most people with only intake and exhaust mods, not very willing to use them, because of the tunings cost associated, which usually results in a little or no increase in peak power, which people only see, but don't notice the low/midrange curve of the torque chart.

oit super fei lo... lend me some money lar...
Hehe... go for standalone..

hmmmm....
seems like i need to get a standalone....
any recomandation???
something cheap....~!
hehe....

Power FC is cheap, but you have to know people who have the cables and software to tune it with a laptop.

Can also tune with the FC commander, but damn tedious to read the fuel ignition map like that.

Crome is also cheap, but it's like a stripped down version of hondata, when you minus the ostrich V2 unit (means the tuner use it to tune your car, then leave you with the tuned map on a chip)

Hondata S300J most tuners can tune, and you won't be tied to one person. catch is, price is a bit.. higher. The other features, you can seek out the hondata thread I did last time.

HKS F-con V-pro is also a standalone, but the price.. I think better off buying AEM and running coil on plugs and/or running 8 sequential 240cc stock injectors for the price.

VAFC's are ok for basic use. But if you're planning on making full use of your engine, don't expect the VAFC to give you the results that you wanted. We have to be optimistic with the results vs the combination of parts we choose. You can run it on VAFC until you can afford a standalone plus tune... it'll still run reliable as long as you keep it tuned conservatively...

Power FC is cheap, but you have to know people who have the cables and software to tune it with a laptop.

Can also tune with the FC commander, but damn tedious to read the fuel ignition map like that.

Crome is also cheap, but it's like a stripped down version of hondata, when you minus the ostrich V2 unit (means the tuner use it to tune your car, then leave you with the tuned map on a chip)

Hondata S300J most tuners can tune, and you won't be tied to one person. catch is, price is a bit.. higher. The other features, you can seek out the hondata thread I did last time.

HKS F-con V-pro is also a standalone, but the price.. I think better off buying AEM and running coil on plugs and/or running 8 sequential 240cc stock injectors for the price.

Can also tune with the FC commander, but damn tedious to read the fuel ignition map like that

Agree with you,only 4 button to do the mapping...
headache & dizzy..
hahaha

i think millenium motorsports can help me..

i definately wont go for f-cons, N satu cant help me @ all....

im thinking of power FC,one big question in my mind,can it be install in an EF wiring ecu..~!
this is my biggest concern......

if i get a MSD,atlest i can control my ignition timing(i think), coz even using emanage i cant do that.

hwo bout unichip or emanage ultimate....?

thanks shiroitenshi for the advise, i owe u few TT...
hahaha :driver:

unichip is piggyback.. got limitation also
last time tuned a 13+comp B18C with unichip.. got problem when engage vtec.. no problem when full throttle, but at part throttle, uhuk uhuk.. :bawling:

Power FC, I know got version for OBD1, EF.. I dunno la

but got conversion harness I think.. can convert to OBD1.. quite cheap I think, compared to OBD2 -> OBD1.

If you got tuner who's more computer oriented, there's TurboEdit for OBD0, but it's still far from completion, so it's slightly buggy.

It's a lot cheaper than other choices, because the program is free.

sfl, why dun try ask mr joshua?? i think he might help u on power fc..

hehe,
mayb i will hold my management first,
like DI-V advise,
i think a set of really short storke & really slow rebounce shock is wat i want now.....
hehe, ef gymkhana style :love:

My experience, E-manage Ultimate is incompatible with OBD0 wirings. I do my own wiring and somehow I can't get the fuelling to go up and down and same with ignition timing too. Then i bought another halfcut with OBD-1 and things work fine since then after i wired it up.. It'll work fine with e-manage blue though... Standalone units will work on even mesin rumput :p

mesin rumput....
hahaha
so i dont need 4 X 1000cc injectors lo....

obd0 cant control the ignition timing,only obd1 onwards.
thats y i hate my wiring...
need to budget again for the complete harness
even gearbox is really limited.
need to change to y80 in future project...
damd waste loads of $$$

but worth for the adreline :rofl:

fyi,
used honda power fc most are for the ek9 and dc2. which means it is a obd-II platform.
used power fcs should be around 2XXX with commander.

back during the monkey days, they had power fcs for the obd-I but limited number.

if ure running on a obd-I wiring loom then a ecu converter harness would solve the problem.
if not u have to change the distributor, harness and etc.

the "power fc pro" is the software u can tune. or u can use "fc-datalogit" from NZ.

again, good luck in your choosing.

im thinking of power FC,one big question in my mind,can it be install in an EF wiring ecu..~!
this is my biggest concern......

if i get a MSD,atlest i can control my ignition timing(i think), coz even using emanage i cant do that.

hwo bout unichip or emanage ultimate....?

thanks shiroitenshi for the advise, i owe u few TT...
hahaha :driver:

mesin rumput....
hahaha

damd waste loads of $$$

crome can control OBD0 ignition timing,fuel map so get some 1 tune for your car..

mesin rumput....
hahaha

damd waste loads of $$$

sfl.... now talk about management.... actually when will your b20 be ready??? by the way wat kind of gearbox is y80??? s80 i've heard a lot but not y80 yet.... hmmm the fd must be 5.0 i guess???:hmmmm::stupid:

:dontknow::reddy:wey... sfl.... i think you better bring your workshop guy to seremban then your b20 will be ready in no time.... am i right????:biggrin:.... wey faster do your b20 lah... you talk so much here.... first engine then management and now shocks... start work NOW!!!:reddy::reddy::deal:

Now in jb... our 2nd link is open back meh..
hehehe....
got 3 lanes.. wah very satisfied...
hope for the helicopter wouldn't come la....

Whoooaaaa....U all dare to ask sfl for marking ah?...He is SUPER JOCKEY la....Always give ppl handicap 80kg one....HAHAHA!

hello all..i'm new here..
i'm using mini vtec2.0..
its using b16 head with typeR cam,valve,vspring,b16 in.manifold,h22a injector,b20 block,hi.comp piston,running 13CR..ys1 with cusco full lock lsd..managment controlled by ori.ecu with custom chip..others standart..
wana ask sumtink to u all sifu here,
if i plan to change my ecu,which is the best?
i've done some research for the crome software and found it good enough for my engine spec and need..
any other idea or comment?
also if i want to buy hondata,where?