Mixing RON95 with RON97

If not mistaken, swift sport's spec requires RON98...cant even get in M'sia :banghead:

Yup, by right it requires RON 98 for optimum performance (written at the fuel cap) same goes to Type R i think but what to do best we can get here is only V-Power Racing. :banghead:

Erm.. technically if you're talking about RON, then any station that has 97 is the best we have available. VPower racing is still RON97 with shitloads of additives. If you really want more go to Sunway and look for racing fuel. RON100++ :biggrin:

Hmm...pump RON97 and add those octane additives...but duno will result in wat RON...RON rojak....btw RON97 increase RM0.10...

Actually the V-Power racing (last two years anyway dunno anymore if it's true) was the same exact formula that was sold in AU and SG as v-power RON 99 or 101 or something similar. Just marketed here as RON97. Of course as time goes by they find cheaper ways to do business. Last tiem was cheaper to use the same fuel rather than create a new formula, now may be that they have foudn a cheaper way to produce a new formula? Hard to tell unless you're in the business.

Er... no that's not true. Look at the Shell website and they say that Vpower Racing in M'sia is RON97. It's only during the 1st month or so when it was first introduced they brought in the super premium RON99 or something. Not too sure on the original formula.

How do I know? I work for a competitor :biggrin:

Good point - but I'm sure of my facts. I used to work for them. Was cheaper and easier to use the same formula rather than create a new mix for it. But like I said I've left for over 2 years so not sure if that still holds true :-P

Well, in that case your word is the from the mouth of the horse so I guess your info would be more accurate with regards to pre-2 years ago. However it's been RON97 for quite some time now.

Why leave? Multinational should be treating you well dude

LOL.. Theoretically it should be. But why? Just use RON 97 if yours is high performance engine. Even with RON 97 in our country, I don't think it is enough for high performance engine. A lot of jap high revving engines are tuned with RON 98 or RON 99. So even RON 97 is not enough to unleash the full power. Let alone RON 96. Fk the gomen.

ron95 really pain in the ass...for old cars...coz cars 15-20 years back enter malaysia car makers knowing that we use ron97...so this suddenly ron95 emerges and all news cars come in malaysia are tune to ron95...thats great!!!! but how bout old cars?????not fair right?????

car need to retune and it will take a lot of time, money and effort to ensure car can drink ron95...

if mix it will not do any good.tried once and it indeed give some power but after that when fuel is nearly empty the car feels so slow and so unresponsive...so is that ok????you feel that power not always after you start the engine...2nd time you start sometime you dont feel that power. so you giving a hard time to ECU car. so now I don't mix fuel. I use BHpetrol all the way....its the best in Malaysia for high compression cars. for turbo cars with low compression(vw,mercedes,peugeot) i think BHpetrol won't give that power like NA. Turbo cars with high compression like EVO and Subaru need BHpetrol....i think.(never tried coz i don't have these car).just my opinion.

Bumping up your compression ratio by that much, you definitely need to use RON97 + some tuning or even aftermarket ECU I think. You need to ask the sifus...

fo type r engine better use ron97 la bro....can avoid knocking....power better......

Saw one guy doing that at Shell though...Pump RON95 then Ron97 in his Myvi...I was like :stoned:

Do that your car can fly meh :banghead:

when we talk about compression, please be informed that turbo is never a low compression engine even if the compression ratio is only 9:1. Knocking actually relating to dynamic compression pressure (DCP) in combustion chamber. even 11:1 CR engine have not so high DCP if the air come in low volume. 9:1 CR engine will have higher DCP if the air force-in very hard by Turbo @ SC.

ron95 really pain in the ass...for old cars...coz cars 15-20 years back enter malaysia car makers knowing that we use ron97...so this suddenly ron95 emerges and all news cars come in malaysia are tune to ron95...thats great!!!! but how bout old cars?????not fair right?????

car need to retune and it will take a lot of time, money and effort to ensure car can drink ron95...

if mix it will not do any good.tried once and it indeed give some power but after that when fuel is nearly empty the car feels so slow and so unresponsive...so is that ok????you feel that power not always after you start the engine...2nd time you start sometime you dont feel that power. so you giving a hard time to ECU car. so now I don't mix fuel. I use BHpetrol all the way....its the best in Malaysia for high compression cars. for turbo cars with low compression(vw,mercedes,peugeot) i think BHpetrol won't give that power like NA. Turbo cars with high compression like EVO and Subaru need BHpetrol....i think.(never tried coz i don't have these car).just my opinion.

Lucky my two old cars are rated to run on Ron 91 and 93 only, so RON 95 just nice for me, but my turbo cannot. Turbo have low CR at low rev, because they have to cater for the the force induction at high rev, therefore cannot say they have low CR. I have tried running RON95 on the turbo. It runs well under 3k RPM, once it reaches 4.5k it will knock. Have tried ratios of 70/30, 50/50, 30/70 of Ron 95/97, and it does not work. Have to run fully on RON97.

However one of my friend manage to source an octane booster for me. Have tried about 10 tanks already and it works. However it is not cheap, but still very much cheaper then RON97 which is at RM3 per liter now. The booster cost around RM130 for 50ml but can treat 10 tanks, so comes to RM13 per tank. Average per tank at 50 liter X RM1.10 (difference between Ron 95 & 97) = RM55, so still save RM42 per tank......:driver:

Saw one guy doing that at Shell though...Pump RON95 then Ron97 in his Myvi...I was like :stoned:

Actually, on the post 2007 Myvi, there is a slight difference in performance for the Myvi on RON97 vs 95. On the post 2007 Myvi, no difference. Perhaps the newer Myvi has different CR? I dunno. But the difference was quite obvious and required some time for the car to adjust (about a day).

Lucky my two old cars are rated to run on Ron 91 and 93 only, so RON 95 just nice for me, but my turbo cannot. Turbo have low CR at low rev, because they have to cater for the the force induction at high rev, therefore cannot say they have low CR. I have tried running RON95 on the turbo. It runs well under 3k RPM, once it reaches 4.5k it will knock. Have tried ratios of 70/30, 50/50, 30/70 of Ron 95/97, and it does not work. Have to run fully on RON97.

However one of my friend manage to source an octane booster for me. Have tried about 10 tanks already and it works. However it is not cheap, but still very much cheaper then RON97 which is at RM3 per liter now. The booster cost around RM130 for 50ml but can treat 10 tanks, so comes to RM13 per tank. Average per tank at 50 liter X RM1.10 (difference between Ron 95 & 97) = RM55, so still save RM42 per tank......:driver:

RM130 for 50ml? Wah.. that's pretty hardcore. I've done testing with octane boosters and I find that they do work to some extent, but not to their advertised claims. Some say pour in this and get RON100 with your RON95. But personally I found it to be closer to RON97 or 98 at most. Having tested 98 in Singapore and having a high compression setup (not as extreme as the Swift sport or Civic type-R though) these fuels do make a difference for my car.

Don't suppose you've tried any octane boosters?

V2 bro... I think u can consider using meth injection, its cheaper to run n can tune for high boost while using ron95, n steam clean your engine too.

Actually ron95 is not that bad, i tune my car to run ron95 with 1.3bar of boost still no problem, just need lower timing at boost, off boost its the same with ron97.

All high performance engine or charged engine need higher ron to suppress knock, it can run on lower ron with a proper tune. If there no knock engine will run fine. For stock N/A like myvi, just a waste of money pumping ron97, it won't fly.

Actually in general the older cars have lower compression, and hence just need lower RON fuel.

As for mixing different RON fuel, it should not matter if it's still full tank or nearly empty cuz once mixed then it will be even, unless the fuel cannot mix which I think is rarely the case. In fact the more empty the tank, the more powerful/faster your car should feel since it is a lot lighter than when full tank. I used to mix and never have any problem, and it performed as per my expectation.

---------- Post added at 02:01 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:52 AM ----------

V2 bro... I think u can consider using meth injection, its cheaper to run n can tune for high boost while using ron95, n steam clean your engine too.

Actually ron95 is not that bad, i tune my car to run ron95 with 1.3bar of boost still no problem, just need lower timing at boost, off boost its the same with ron97.

All high performance engine or charged engine need higher ron to suppress knock, it can run on lower ron with a proper tune. If there no knock engine will run fine. For stock N/A like myvi, just a waste of money pumping ron97, it won't fly.

Yeap, it's a waste filling up high RON to engines that does not require it, like Myvi. Even RON95 is already a big waste on such engines, it would not make them perform any better or give enough fuel efficiency to trade-off for the high RON fuel price. They can even just run perfectly with RON90-92. Malaysia should actually introduce such lower RON for such engines to save people some money.

RM130 for 50ml? Wah.. that's pretty hardcore. I've done testing with octane boosters and I find that they do work to some extent, but not to their advertised claims. Some say pour in this and get RON100 with your RON95. But personally I found it to be closer to RON97 or 98 at most. Having tested 98 in Singapore and having a high compression setup (not as extreme as the Swift sport or Civic type-R though) these fuels do make a difference for my car.

Don't suppose you've tried any octane boosters?

Yup, RM130 for 50ml, but only require 5ml per tank, so can use for 10 tanks which is cheaper then using RON97. This is the octane booster.....

But a lot said that Octane booster are just sales gimmick? how true is that? is it psychology that we felt it is more responsive
after adding in the Octane booster? better responds? Why not test it out by asking one of the family members to fill up the
octane without us knowing 1 day. Then see if we notice the difference :smile:

---------- Post added at 12:07 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:05 PM ----------

Actually, on the post 2007 Myvi, there is a slight difference in performance for the Myvi on RON97 vs 95. On the post 2007 Myvi, no difference. Perhaps the newer Myvi has different CR? I dunno. But the difference was quite obvious and required some time for the car to adjust (about a day).

What about mixing both RON97 and Ron95 at the same time when fueling petrol?
That's what I see the guy did with his 1.3 Myvi. Older batch.

But a lot said that Octane booster are just sales gimmick? how true is that? is it psychology that we felt it is more responsive
after adding in the Octane booster? better responds? Why not test it out by asking one of the family members to fill up the
octane without us knowing 1 day. Then see if we notice the difference :smile:

---------- Post added at 12:07 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:05 PM ----------

What about mixing both RON97 and Ron95 at the same time when fueling petrol?
That's what I see the guy did with his 1.3 Myvi. Older batch.

The ones off the shelves, some tried and does not work. Mine source from friend, and have been tried by many friends and members already.

Why mix Ron95 and 97? Unless you ride runs on Ron96 then mixing might work.
My ride runs well on Ron97, so when price increased, tried to save by using 95, but cannot run. Knock badly and cannot rev pass 4.5k RPM, then only did I try mixing. Even 30/70 also cannot work until my friend's booster. Now on Ron 95 with booster....okay....:driver: