Mivec Club

Mivec Woes....

Guys, having a little bit of problem here. My engine is running its idle from 1K~2K, going up and down, especially when the water temperature level is half. The sound is completely anoying to me, for sure to others when at traffic. Does anyone have any ideas in solving this matter. Serviced the throttle body, change the plugs and plug cables, set the TPS to 0% (via SAFC), retard the ITC 1st point (800rpm) to 3 degree (as my exhaust cam pulley has been retard 3 degrees). Can anyone help me, or is there any workshop in Klang/Shah Alam area that is recommended to go to? Thanks

spider,
it's not 5 min, it's 50 mins!

danny,
don't waste your time to sic la... spend more time to feed your daughter la... :D

mivec engine for pick-ups right ? wil i gain anythin by changing my final gear ratio to a higher one's ? wat is the standard final gear ratio ? any ideas ?

anyone can advise me where to buy/find oversized piston with high comp ratio type...cheap cheap one but can use lah of course..

slingshot: seems like you have a FICD problem. u will have to replace it or repair if possible. not that easy to find though i think. dont know about a workshop in s.alam or klang but you can pm our mivec in-house-specialist Mr HenryFoong for help.

pdguy:changing to a high final ratio will will give u good acceleration i guess but your top speed will suffer.

1.6 & 1.8 mivec owners out there:

Q-what exhaust piping size r u guys using at the moment and how is the response?

thanks-

this is one forum that people here dont really share much although it is something asked b4... :thumpdown
not much sharing from mivecrian...too bad

Well, if its been asked b4, im sorry. Im not gonna scroll back through 170+ pages, however, ive been following this thread for a while now. Maybe they are just bz at the moment.

Anyway, let me share first. Im currently running on a 2.5 inch piping from the flexi-pipe all the way to the muffler ie a 2.5 inch piping. BTW, this is for my 1.8mivec.

The reason why i asked about piping size is bcoz im feelin a little slow on the pick up speed but have very nice gains on mid/high speed. Max speed i dun care la as long as i can go about 210-220 liddat...

well, i'm using 2" piping for my 1.6, following the wira original piping route. for sure the performance not as good as straight flow piping. :turtle:

my 1.6 mivec using 2.3inch ori route... :D

got a stock 1.6 mivec satria friend experience, he started with 2"... after few months he felt his car not smooth enough..... then change to 2.3"... now he say happily:"this is mivec..:D"

guess its a little bit of trial and error.

i was thinking of reducing back to 2.3" to gain a finer balance

but, 1.6's here already using 2.3" it seems, wow.

One way i can think of improving my pick up: lightening flywheel (sacrificaing a little top end)

any other suggestions?

MonsterTacho said:
guess its a little bit of trial and error.

i was thinking of reducing back to 2.3" to gain a finer balance

but, 1.6's here already using 2.3" it seems, wow.

One way i can think of improving my pick up: lightening flywheel (sacrificaing a little top end)

any other suggestions?

sure u will regard for it ...

the issue of exhaust sizing is pretty subjective if u ask me.....all depends on wat u want n how u wanna it to b tuned........n oso not forgettin the amount of mods done to ur car.....i'm using 2.3" piping now n i know i'm losing some top end......wat i get instead is a strong push from 3k rpm to about 7.5k.....after tat can feel power drop liao.......enuff lorr, aeroback heavy mah....power needs to come early else to push the car....heheh.....

MonsterTacho said:
Well, if its been asked b4, im sorry. Im not gonna scroll back through 170+ pages, however, ive been following this thread for a while now. Maybe they are just bz at the moment.

Anyway, let me share first. Im currently running on a 2.5 inch piping from the flexi-pipe all the way to the muffler ie a 2.5 inch piping. BTW, this is for my 1.8mivec.

The reason why i asked about piping size is bcoz im feelin a little slow on the pick up speed but have very nice gains on mid/high speed. Max speed i dun care la as long as i can go about 210-220 liddat...

I'm using 1.8 mivec too,using 2.5" straight pipe,end with s-flow muffler. last time using same pipe with tanabe racing straight flow muffler. pickup and top end not bad at all... max speed didnt clocked as i dont have digital speedmeter..mitsu meter already touching the end stopper needle. i saw a few 1.8 mivec using 4-1 extractor to gain pickup. i'm waiting for durian runtuh next year. :D

OK, so decreasing to a 2.3" piping is a bad idea for me, gotcha

ky2004: yes i heard that the 4-1 does wonders but only for mid-high. from what i read and remember, your pick up suffers as a sacrifice for mid to high end power. correct me if wrong pls

Basically, my aim isto improve power and pick up b4 mivec opens. Some of my suggestions are (excluding turbo, surbo, supercharges, microcompressor, NOS)

- lighten flywheel
- management tuning such as e manage
- closer gear ratio
-
-
-

dont forget lighten cam pulleys.. :p

i think the best way is to ask loon or ken or other mivec sifu. I bought my machine from naszal.he had good setup,but then i ruined it... now i have to rebuild the engine and do everything again...