MGB GT 1969 engine

BabyGodzilla, V8 is my favourite too. My favourite is the BMW Motorsport 4.0 V8 that churns out 500bhp, but I will take any V8 that do more than 250bhp as long as the rumble is cool enough :tongue:

My dream cars : Porsche 928 GT (M) and BMW E34 540i (M).

Anyway, what engine to put in the MG would depend on tastes and budget. Are you a classic car fan or retro car fan? I am personally more a retro car fan - i like the looks of old cars but I wouldn't mind having modern day reliability i.e. non-original parts inside the car.

So it's really up to you. If I have a free or dirt cheap MGB shell with lots of stuff missing (except the reg card), I will plonk in a Toyota 4AGE engine - cheap, easy to maintain, tuneable and you can whack it like nobody's business :rolleyes:

On the other hand, if you inherit a car that is almost close to original, then keep it original!

Just my 2 sen

I want a Ford Cosworth DFV in a Kookaburra...... Hehehe...
But then the problem must rebuild every drift session.
So for a modern day V8 it must be a M5 V8 5 litre. Keke.
But for offroading i want a LS1 engine hehe.... Oooze of low end torque.

No lah i intend to keep the MGB GT the way as it is.

anyone knows wut other engine can i use on a MGB GT 1969?....wanna rebuilt da whole car back...dad hasnt use it for years and da engine kaput dy...anyone know which other engine can fit??...pls help
Duke,

There are at the moment 3 often used engine swap options for the MGB.

1- GM 2.8/3.1/3.4/3.5 V6 with Tremec T5 5speed. Carb or EFI, your choice. Up to apprx 230
horsepower with similiar torque. No body mods required for any year MGB. Search, Classic
Conversion Engineering V6. BMC V6 conversion. Killer B V6 conversion.

2 - Buick/Oldsmobile/Pontic/Rover V8 usually but not always with Tremec T5 5speed.Expect from 130 - 230 HP.
1975 and later cars are easier to convert as there is more room in the engine compartment.
Minor body mods may be necessary. Search D&D Engineering for info.

3 - Ford small block V8, 302 cu/in (5.0L) - 390 cu/in (5.7L). Tremec T5 5speed transmission.
340 HP to 500 HP. Firewall and radiator body mods required. Strong, reliable, powerful
engine.

4 - Cheapest and EASIEST option. Rebuild the 1800cc B series stock engine. Find a shop
that rebuilds the A series engine in the Mini and Minor. B series is almost identical
technology.

5 - Check Australian MGB websites and see what they use for conversions there.

6 - Go to websites.
"britishv8.org" and "mgexperience.net"