Malicious software removal tools

links

anyone has encounter problem with this shitty software that sneaks into ur pc when u are using searching engine to search for websites?

i tried windows defender but not successful..they will still keep open new IE when i on my pc

U need HijackThis, a freeware to search n delete all offending crap.

Wah, what links did you open up? I've got some trojan horses trying to get inot my PC, but luckily my Norton Internet Security + Windows own security system blocked and immediately thew 'em out. Never had something like your case happen thou.

links said:
anyone has encounter problem with this shitty software that sneaks into ur pc when u are using searching engine to search for websites?

i tried windows defender but not successful..they will still keep open new IE when i on my pc

Basically, every pc need 3 things

1. Antivirus
2. Anti Spyware
3. Firewall

I suggest AVG for antivirus coz its free,light, legal, and can do automatic updates.

Antispyware i suggest Ad Aware, Spybot Search & Destroy and Spyware Doctor. Some say a type of antispyware is better than other. actually its up to the user to make report to the programmer so an "antidote" can be release. if no report.. then wait.same goes to antivirus. so conclusion. better install those three above. dont worry. it wont "eat" your memory coz u need to run and update it manually.

For firewall, try Sygate, its free and powerful, user friendly. Or can try Zone Alarm, free and powerful too. Dont use windows firewall. as i tested it already (scan port) and it have a few flaw ,our pc is not completely stealth in the net. Turn off windows firewall and use one of those two.

just my 1 cent..

zephyr3d said:
but Hijackthis may be alittle powerful for non IT experts...... u may ter'delete legitimate ones.

Actually, I ter'delete everything and the PC still works. I guess, all those crap listed on HijackThis is kinda unwanted.

another ad-aware user here , but i havent used it in quite awhile after changing to firefox and stopped using p2ps . not mentioning those dodgy websites too lol

i thinki my colleague may have click on to the "trap" on the internet so that the pc in my office is infected by malicious software..tried spyware doctor but it cant clear all.

the file "Adware@look2me" and Cns something keep running in the pc and the IE will open itself with some stupid advertisement website...headache.....

links..

are u using spyware doctor the legal version or "ehem" version? as for the legal one. its not free. u still can download, update and scan. but before u buy, the "remove spyware" option cannot be used...

from my experience, once u r infected may be impossible to auto-clean using software alone.
better find a IT expert

yes theres other way that "might" work..

1. start windows in safe mode and scan
2. run "msconfig" and disable unknown programs at startup
3. some ms-dos virus/spyware run even in safe mode. try load the memory to the max before the virus/spyware run
4. use specified "removal tools" for specified virus
5. make the infected hard disk as secondary and scan it

..oh oke...just format it :)

guess have to format it....the adaware removed msot of the problem files but there are still some tough files remained...

thanks for ur advices.......

Ive encountred the same problem too... this trojan infect my entire system causes the windows takes 30mins to start up and really slows downs my pc.. reformat my pc as the last resort... :)

reformats always welcomed if u hav 2 HDD, one used as backup

its like rejuvenating, totally refreshing experience after a reformat

ad-aware SE + Symantec Anti Virus Corporate Edition (Not other Syamantec or Norton what-ever-crap-edition)

my niece's PC infected by 1 "downloader" virus gebca.dll (The virus will try to initial connection to internet and download all other crappy virus).
I tried Norton Anti Virus (which shipped with the PC), no luck, virus detected, but can't be removed (file locked).

Install Ad-aware, virus detected, removed and it comes back after reboot.
Install AVG free anti-virus. Virus detected, removed and it comes back after reboot.

Uninstall Norton Anti-virus crappy edition, install Symantec Anti-Virus Corporate Edition Version 10.0, update virus defination (offline), first scanning, virus detected, SAVCE request for a reboot (in order to remove the "downloader" virus) without further scanning. Rebooted, do another round of scanning to remove all other crappy virus downloaded by "downloader" virus.

reboot, and do another round of scanning, the PC is clean and clear.

PS: HiJackthis is good as well.
PS: I think links formated his PC at this time :biggrin:

Symantec (or previously known as Norton) have a lot of version of anti-virus, but the most powerful for client desktop is Corporate edition. Others Edition is just like the car without Turbo, no NOS or with speed cut. Provide you only basic or fundamental function. The other edition may able to detech the virus but can't remove some tought virus.

nice review..... yeah sadly, most of the so call ANTI-virus are not fool-proof......the cyber world is nvr safe but surfing less porn defintely helps!

as the saying goes: prevention is better than cure! amitabha! halleluyah!

ive used amny of the above b4 n especially the Symantec corporate edition v10 lately. It has 1 (yes only ONE badass crap about it) thats enuff for me 2 push uninstall button...

it automatically scans your PC, hideously time 2 time... Cant change that in the settings, tried n tried as Im a avid gamer, cant stand 2 have crappy fps jz becoz of a stubborn anti-virus scan.

so if u dun play games, go for it, if u do.....the recycle bin is always open!

I removed it... been using AVG + adware SE + spybot + registrycrawler + hijackthis + no porn surfing

so far so good, amen.