Malaysia boleh!!!!

btw, i cant wait for the 1st one to roll out... i'll see wat a 500k car can do against an old 100k car...

RM500k for a car from malaysia? Forget it. I'd rather take the RM500k and buy a humble home and fix up my dinosaur-aged satria. The balance would have to be for savings since the pig G's is going to increase price for everything, and be ready to pay for oxygen too. Yeah, pay to breath.

...yes, agreed, nowadays, apa lan jiao also sky rocket high, especially dun simply spend on those marketed by those monkeys. Save it, save it.

meraboy,
Even proton cars are over priced in this country. If it's a dollar to dollar thing, cars can be bought for about 5k to 10k. If I ain't mistaken, 10k in USA or Australia can get you quite a decent and nice-enough car. Well, at least nicer than Proton. But here in malaysia, a basic almost-nothing-inside-the-car Iswara costs 20+k.

YO, can someone who has stayed over seas confirm how much is it for an average car, maybe in USA or Australia or wherever?

meraboy,
Even proton cars are over priced in this country. If it's a dollar to dollar thing, cars can be bought for about 5k to 10k. If I ain't mistaken, 10k in USA or Australia can get you quite a decent and nice-enough car. Well, at least nicer than Proton. But here in malaysia, a basic almost-nothing-inside-the-car Iswara costs 20+k.

YO, can someone who has stayed over seas confirm how much is it for an average car, maybe in USA or Australia or wherever?

satria95,

The dollar-for-dollar concept is a very good point and it is something that is often ignored in discussions regarding the relative prices of cars, in particular with people who wanted us to believe that Protons are cheap and value for money. They are most certainly not.

I live in Australia for over 9 years. Now I can tell cars there are indeed cheap.

My uncle who is a citizen there bought his 2-door Kompressor for Australian$ 70,000 and his BMW 320i for around the same price. In terms of dollar for dollar, the aussies earn a higher average wage rate than Malaysians but yet their cars, for example the th models I mentioned can be had for 70K. In Malaysia, (again in terms of dollar for dollar) what can 70,000 get you ? Bear in mind that Malaysians earn less average wage than the aussies. The Perdana cost much more than 70K.

I don't even need to talk bout imported luxury cars. When we look at the cheaper units such as Australian manufactured Fords and Holdens, prices are even cheaper and they are good cars. Large spacious four door sedans with adequate performance. I pick a Holden over any Perdana any day.

Hmm, Australia, yeah.

McDonalds and other part-time jobs here yield a paltry RM3.50 - RM4.00 (correct me if I'm wrong) per hour whereas in Australia there's a minimum wage regulation where if you are around 20 years old and work part-time, you ought to get around $10 - $15 per hour, and yes that includes working at McDonalds.

Now, the $-for-$ concept, also works with a simple McDonalds meal where it costs around RM7.90+ here but it only costs about $5.00 there. Working 1 hour part-time here won't do your stomach justice, but 1 hour there (with $12), you can buy a meal for you and your mates.

And $-for-$, fresh graduates can earn $2,500/month starting pay.

Same goes with cars, the last time I was there (1.5 years ago) a Civic sedan costs $19,990. Jazz is much cheaper.

Holden V8 at aussie.hehehehe.yummy!!!lucky those aussie aaaaa~~~

but yeahhh car price in Malaysia is really2 overpriced.thanks to kinky Auntie Rafidah and the gang.hope you being raped one day.muahhahahahaha :P

I read some time ago that the founder of this company passed away without completing the project. Hence its KIV at the moment. So we won't be able to see it on the road...

without the rAPidah i dont think the car price tag will be cheaper, maybe for normal car like city or jazz will be cheaper but for car like japanese or european or american sport car the price will be almost the same, its south east asian price, look at singapore and plz dont say bcoz singapore r rich, ok? if not satisfied, look at indo then..

Can't really compare car prices in countries, coz like the iPod, different country, different price. Really depends on the people's earning power and $-for-$ ratio.

u think those monkeys can produce a sport car, lebih-lebih is another "rebadge car"!
unlike others who start fr ground with hands-on knowledge; here i dun think those monkeys hands got dirty. may be it's just a "syiok sendiri" news . hahaha
M'sia Boleh --Boleh Cakap, Boleh Rasuah, Boleh Rebadge, Boleh Potong (harga/Kereta), Boleh 20+ yo Technology...apa lan ciao lagi tak boleh ???

Big Head Monkeys !!!

fvel,
Exactly my point. You've already made it clear on the dollar to dollar thing. But we all know that the stupid govt always compare malaysian and other country's prices by doing dollar conversions. For example, BigMac Meal in Aussie is A$5. If convert back to RM, it would be about RM14. The price of BigMac meal in Malaysia is about RM9(approx price). Hence, RM14 versus RM9, we still have it cheaper in Malaysia. Seriously, when the govt did this, it just added to the fact that our govt IS INDEED as stupid as they are. And being stupid is just one of the main factors of the down fall of this shit country. When we speak our mind, we get thrown in jail even though our voices are clearly points of improvement for the country. So basically, I'd still side on that aussie dude who said, "Malaysia Bodoh".

sorry off topic abit, I always find it peculiar when ppl complaining or seeing things in a negative stand point.. I mean if the situation is bad, reflecting it to the authority is not a bad thing, but apart from reflecting it (most likely by complaining) what other things can the person effected can do? while i concede sometimes things are beyond reach, most time IF you try, chances is it will be done (one way or another)

so back to some complaints here, its an open secret malaysia cars are overpriced (bar national cars or ckd cars) but other things are rather reasonably priced, I mean food for instance, I studied in UK and a plate of oriental dish from some normal shops is around 5 to 7 pounds which when u convert it its around 35, now back to msia i think the most it gets from some normal restaurant is 15. then i believe some of u will be saying British earns more, which again i will agree, but how about higher taxes? other living expenses for instance are not exactly cheap and in the end u end up with less disposable income with similiar or slightly better life style, (albeit in terms of cars they might be alot better)

satria,

sometimes WE malaysians do do something stupid (be it because of less experiance, less educated or whatever reason) but if you read Aus paper, British paper, US paper or whatever news, I dont see them performing perfectly, maybe better but they always have funny or stupid things done by government (which alot of time, might be done becoz of own agenda)

anyway my point is, agreeing that Malaysia Bodoh do not only insult yourself, you insulted many others who have work hard in this country to improve things, don u think instead of complaining maybe the energy could be channel into more productive activities? I mean eventually the benefit still fall back to u

Meraboy,

Malaysia Boleh was a politic propoganda, but nevertheless if you do see it in a more positive way its rather motivating, of coz unfortunately with the flood of bad news nowadays sometimes its easy to be negative, cheer up man! Malaysians arent stupid or that corrupted compared to alot of nations, its natural if we are still lagging behind some developed countries but given time and extensive effort (these countries took quite some time) we could be as advance as them

satria95,

You know, GT3 also has a point. I do agree with you that governance in this country on several areas have really gone to the dogs. However, overall, it's still our home. I wouldn't live anywhere else. I was given PR status in Australia. I could easily have taken up citizenship there, but I chose to return here. Despite its many failings in a lot of things, Malaysia still a great place to live. Anyway there's no such thing as a perfect country.

That is not to say we should not openly voice criticisms when things are not right. I think it is healthy also for the rakyat to make known their greivances.

I'm not one of those blindly nationalistic patriots. Although you won't find me shouting 'Malaysia Bodoh', neither will you find me shouting 'Malaysia Boleh'. I'm more of a pragmatist and therefore I find all the 'Malaysia Boleh' nationalistic rhetoric to be embarassing and immature. Less talk, more action. It is silly to think that we land a few fellows at Antartica and then shout 'Malaysia Boleh'. Those kind of publicity stunts prove nothing.

In this forum, of course, we are talking specifically, in terms of the Malaysian car industry and on that basis I can fully agree that the national carmaker is one ridiculous mess and a litany of mismanagement and complacency and a big piece of the blame must fall squarely on the government as well.

fvel,

I could not agree more with your points.. in fact, u just speak my mind! haha

so back to some complaints here, its an open secret malaysia cars are overpriced (bar national cars or ckd cars) but other things are rather reasonably priced, I mean food for instance, I studied in UK and a plate of oriental dish from some normal shops is around 5 to 7 pounds which when u convert it its around 35, now back to msia i think the most it gets from some normal restaurant is 15. then i believe some of u will be saying British earns more, which again i will agree, but how about higher taxes? other living expenses for instance are not exactly cheap and in the end u end up with less disposable income with similiar or slightly better life style, (albeit in terms of cars they might be alot better)

Meraboy,

Malaysia Boleh was a politic propoganda, but nevertheless if you do see it in a more positive way its rather motivating, of coz unfortunately with the flood of bad news nowadays sometimes its easy to be negative, cheer up man! Malaysians arent stupid or that corrupted compared to alot of nations, its natural if we are still lagging behind some developed countries but given time and extensive effort (these countries took quite some time) we could be as advance as them

...GT3, IF u studied in UK, how come u dun know FOOD in UK is expensive cos MOST of the food r imported, what's more it's oriental food, furthermore dun make a fool out of urself, some member said dun like the stupid G always compare malaysian and other country's prices by doing dollar conversions. DO IT $ TO $.Get the point. So £5-7 compare to RM15, do ur maths now.

I hv a relative is "working" (not study like u) in UK "right now" in a Chinese restaurant, she said generally the food in UK is imported, & is expensive IF U CONVERT TO RM, BUT NOT IF U EARN THERE & SPEND THERE. $ TO $, she bought a genuine LV bag for less than £400 !!! How much in M'sia ???

How about handphone, there in UK, for a new sign up, they giv u a new phone FOC & not the cheap one, in M'sia, can ahhhh????

Since this forum is about car & if GT3 1 to do conversion, lets do it :
Need not go so far, compare to our jiran, Thailand (living std lower than us & w/o "national car")..
Vios Thailand: 509,000 baht = RM51,000 (100 baht=RM10)--round up
Vios M'sia :RM76,480.00
http://www.imagebanana.com/img/x5rc7dqf/vios.jpg
Altis Thailand : 705,000 baht = RM71,000 (100 baht=RM10)--round up
Altis M'sia : RM100,462.80
http://www.imagebanana.com/img/1ftkxz9g/altis.jpg
Baht to RM conversion-The Star (1-2 wks ago)
http://www.imagebanana.com/img/j84b6gkf/bathvsRM.jpg

Where those 20-30K gone ???

M'sia is progressing forward, BUT OTHERS R MOVING MUCH FASTER. WE CAN B BETTER IF THE $ WAS USED IN A PROPER WAY & TRANSPARENT

Dun get us wrong, we all like M'sia cos we r BORN, GROW, MARRY, DIE here, what we dun like is those bloody top few % politician in the G who screw up the things.
From Bumiputra Bank corruption (Lorain something) until this Potong, tell us which mega project is successful ? Successful means EARNING $ W/o G BAILOUT & MAJORITY M'SIAN R PROUD OF IT. I believe u hv been around in this forum, dun u hear those voice. So what if we can't do anything. Everybody hv rights to voice their opinion, that's what the forum is all about.

Here r a few articles who were written by Michael Backman, who is an internationally renowned writer and columnist. He specialises in writing about Asia: its economies, politics, business groups and business practices:
http://www.michaelbackman.com/MM.html