Lynx 1.8 modification

lynx_romero

Hello frenz....

I just want to learn something from sifu2 ford/mazda out there...
I'm thinking to do some modification to my Ford 1.8 (2 doors), a standard modified. But dont know what should i do with my car...I wanna start with a std modification first before i jump to a higher modification. Anyone can give me some idea or suggestion? Yes bro Lan_dugong, u have any idea? :regular_smile:

lynx_romero said:
Hello frenz....

I just want to learn something from sifu2 ford/mazda out there...
I'm thinking to do some modification to my Ford 1.8 (2 doors), a standard modified. But dont know what should i do with my car...I wanna start with a std modification first before i jump to a higher modification. Anyone can give me some idea or suggestion? Yes bro Lan_dugong, u have any idea? :regular_smile:

My idea? click link below, page 2:-
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=117422

i paste here my idea from that link:-
ur tx3 lynx is having the BP series 1.8 n/a engine. therefore the 1.8 gearbox can be used back if you think of converting to BPT/BPD.

if u're planning to try & play with the n/a engine, below here is some suggestion u can think of:-

1. Yess...a good exhaust system from front to back. To me a 2" pipe is good enough for 1.8 dohc n/a. Ask the professionals...they can recommend u better.
2. Open pod air filter with heat shield and cold air intake.
3. the tx3 racing clutch set.
4. lightened flywheel.
5. adjustable cam pulley.
6. APEX-i SAFC blue screen/SITC or e-manage.

and yes all the above will cost u but the power of the n/a will be delivered. when u already had fun with ur n/a and planning to swap in the bpt/bpd, all the mods above can be used back into your bpt/bpd except for flywheel & racing clutch set.

or u can turbo kit ur current engine if u want....:D

hmmm....drop in bpt? the market price for the halfcut now is around rm3500+/-. another labour cost maybe around rm1500. then u can use back whatever mods u have done to the n/a engine if u want.
or another option, if u dare, is to put bolt on turbokits onto your BP n/a engine, put in BPT/BPD low compression pistons, bigger injectors, high flow fuel pumps, frontmount intercooler, SAFC or e-manage...etc etc...the cost might be the same as the conversion but your engine block maintains the newer BP series as BPT/BPD series are old series. go for dyno to check for a/f ratio sufficient or not.

I almost did it to my wife's lynx 1.8auto sedan but we've decided to settle down for the NGV kit next year for cheaper consumptions.

good luck.

----------------END----------------

currently my wife's lynx auto is running on 2" pipes from front to back with 2 centre bullets and a 2' s-flow ayam brand muffler. wanted to change the muffler to Japan mufflers but wife said not yet....:(
installed open pod air filter with cold air intake.
installed ayam brand adjustable fuel pressure regulator.
installed SAFC blue screen.(used unit)
use NGK 5 spark plugs.

result? a lot of improvement then when purchased the car. increase of power is realised.

next...i'm thinking of advance the cam pulley for the car.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=117422

sound good... i'm stunning!!!

bro lan...i have some question here..

1) currently i already used an open pod air filter but with std intake... whats the different if i change it to a stainless steel intake and with heat shield & cold intake?

2) what is the affect if i do lightened the flywheel?

3) how to play with the adj cam pulley and what is the function?

4) how big or what type of injector i need to use?

5) how about my std fuel pump? do i need to change it too?

6) last but not least, any recommend w/shop that can do all this modi with economic and profesional?

hehehehehehe......thanks bro. Sorry la,byk tak tau psl kete ni....:regular_smile:

1) much colder air. engine wants cold air to breath. cold air intake is a must for n/a. difference is noticable.

2) lighter flywheel, rev goes much faster, more torque. when rev goes much faster, so does the car! get the exedy racing clutch. u want at a little discount? u go and survey the market price 1st, then PM me.

3) adjustable cam pulley? proper adjustments will make your rev faster. felt it before...rev damn fast especially from mid to end.

4) dont u ever touch your injectors!!!

5) better change...since BPT drivers are upgrading fuel pumps, buy their fuelpumps...hehehe....market price of used fuelpumps rm70 or lower. plug & play to your floater.

6) hehehehe.....my workshop??? its still in discussion mode. professional? hehehe....speedworks...i think they like to entertain std engine that wanna modify. other pro workshops...hmmm...we want to tukar minyak hitam pun malu laa...

i can do for u certain things for u but not the gb. i only bring down my own car gb...but not others! hahaha...penat wooo...everything in manual hand power mode...hopefully next year can.

once done, go get the car's SAFC & regulator tuned. for better comparison, if you money, i suggest to go for a dyno run at millenium motorsport. its rm50 only. just to get the based whp & torque before u upgrade. later u'll know how many extra horses u make.

it's good to have a spirit of modding the std engine like u do. the lynx tx3 engine spec is said to have 145hp on crank right? minus 30hp, maybe around 113whp. that is a maybe only ok...it hard to pump out big hps from n/a engine. the camshaft is said to be slightly better then the 210's. the gearbox...ofcourse a torque one.

how's the ride after changing the open pod air filter. feel the different?
just my idea before u go on to heavier mods:-
1. change the whole exhaust system from front to back, even the exhaust manifold. recommended to use Japan branded muffler for n/a. they are good mufflers that can give power.

2. do the decarb.

then drive a few months to enjoy the difference in power.

keep us updated ok.

for my wife's lynx, although a slight increase, can feel it and seriously no joke although its a butt dyno only....hihihihihii...wanted to fine tune the SAFC in dyno roller before but a friend came to my house, he brought with him his o2 wide band. so paid him a few ringgit, we went for tuning ourself at kesas highway...huhuhuhu...feels much better response!

no wonder i heard people talked about a fast ford lynx at kesas highway recently... hehehe

lighter flywheel? yup.. agreed.. but don't over lightened it.. or else u'll loose momentum, hard to maintain ur top/ cruising speed.

VF10 said:
no wonder i heard people talked about a fast ford lynx at kesas highway recently... hehehe

lighter flywheel? yup.. agreed.. but don't over lightened it.. or else u'll loose momentum, hard to maintain ur top/ cruising speed.

hahahaha.....wei no fast lynx laa....shiok sendiri laa...auto maa...gb leaking already due to my crazy driving hahahaha....

yup true, too light no momentum. just bring down the weight a little is good enough.

same laa... my gbox oso leaking again.. forgot to change the oil seal during the previous gbox transplant... but not too serious compared with the previous gbox

cannot find the time laa bro Lan right now.. all my free time has been sacrified for the car lor.. pulley torn, spent almost 3 days there, clutch pump kong 2 days there... fixing my rear spoiler is the hardest..damn fragile that thing is... took me from 4th day of raya until yesterday.. finally i've identify & solved the unwanted sound from the car's rear part...

this weekend i'm going to spray my brake caliper laa. hopefully can be completed be4 sunday.

gbox oil seal oso have to DIY arr? aiyaaa... then all my free time dedicated to the car only... PS2 oso dont have time to play

hahahahaha....u guys are funny la....
btw, thanks bro lan..i really appreciate ur interest in my car.
ok, i'll update every single thing i did.ok...? but not that soon la...need to budget also.one byb one la maybe...hehehehe....
hmm....one more thing, where do u stay mr lan? u r from shah alam ka? i work in shah alam but stay in cheras....maybe we can meet at mamak stall and have a teh tarik someday...alrite.

Do up intake Side
Manifold Headers
2.3 - 2.5 inch exhaust piping
Aggresive profiled cams and higher timing.
uprated valve springs
Piggyback/Standalone ECU

Do up ur intake and exhaust manifold and piping to let ur engine breathe easier. Keeping in mind the manifold headers will determine the character
of ur torque curve. id recommend a 4 - 1 for this setup.Extend ur rev
range with a programmable ECU and as well as correct the new fueling and ignition needs of changing over from the factory setup. Drop in some high cams to move ur now higher max torque production into the higher rev ranges]. The increased torque figure now already moved into the higher rev range times the extended rev range will increase ur horse power......
160 hp shouldnt be a problem, but what is most important in any car
will be the torque figure and uprated valve springs will ensure
the valves seats properly when u rev into the higher ranges for reliability.

if u plan to go the NA way, changing ur piston rings and bearings to low
friction ones will definately help with fuel consumption and power. or u could
go hardcore and lighten and balance ur crankshaft changing ur pistons to lighter and higher compression ones..... uh change ur howl internal setup
with all these parts, going higher cc with playing with the stroke...

and then to ur gearbox, lightening the crankshaft will help spool the revs
faster.... 1kg less kinda ok.... not much loss of power due to less weight of de mass when climbing up hills.... and maintaining a constant speed on hiway
dun play with ur gear ratios, cuz mazda ratios
are already damn good.... and change ur clutch...

or u could always opt for the BP/T/D , cuz i doubt the v6 will fit into
the lynx 2 door body.... well enuff cock tok.... time to head out...

:)

thanks NiJ,
hwaa....really have a good respon from sifu's out there...great feeling from me.hehehehehehe.....
about the V6 engine, i was thinking if i wanna convert my engine i will goes to the V6 maybe. coz i'm not that good in car mod so i dont think that turbo is good for me seems turbo need more attention and another reason coz i travel here and there....so i dont think turbo is the best engine for me.am i rite bro lan? :regular_smile:

open pod without heat shield and cold air intake would feel sluggish in the afternoon...
but night time...woW!....
anyway, 2" piping would be standard for a 1.8; unless of cos u wanna try turbos.
SAFC is obsolete already. Asked N1 last weekend; and they said even the newest AFC Neo also currently out of stock as it's currently very hot.
Their charges is around RM1400 somthing inclusive of dyno tune. Asked about e-manage; but they said they got to check whether or not they got the wiring diagram; which is for my car, Lantis 1.8.

lynx_romero said:
hahahahaha....u guys are funny la....
btw, thanks bro lan..i really appreciate ur interest in my car.
ok, i'll update every single thing i did.ok...? but not that soon la...need to budget also.one byb one la maybe...hehehehe....
hmm....one more thing, where do u stay mr lan? u r from shah alam ka? i work in shah alam but stay in cheras....maybe we can meet at mamak stall and have a teh tarik someday...alrite.

hehehe...no prob bro...i'm staying at sec20 shah alam bro. where is your work place bro?

yuppp...the SAFC is obsolete but can get a used one is fine and cheap, still can deliver what u want. btw, what's the lates function the NEO has compared to SAFC II?
the SAFC 1st gen wiring diagram for 1.8? i successfully installed it in my wife's lynx. for SAFC II, need to find the wire for the knock sensor. that is the only extra to the SAFC 1st gen....SAFC NEO? dont know anything about it yet...gonna investigate in the APEXi web later.

its tru boon...without the heatshield and cold air intake, not good response during day time.

if wanna convert to turbo, can still go for outstation. need to take care of the oils. anyway, the bp n/a engine is also ok for outstation. a little lesser atttention needed. the lantis V6 engine? also ok...managed to test drive my friend's V6 before. not bad at all. no space? yup very sempit but seen one interplay with V6 and one KF with V6. they are happy with the engine. maintenance? heard its a little more tidious then BPT/BPD as the engine bay becomes sempit.

afc neo? 2 in 1 piggy back device.. safc + vtec/ mivec controller.. better buy safc alone if no vtec/ mivec on the engine lor...