L200s power steering problem

chiewkit

I have a friend installed Daihatsu Mira L200s engine to his '02 Perodua Kancil 850. Everything is working fine except for the power steering.

The power steering now intermittently not working. When it fails, the steering will be even heavier than non-power steering Kancils.

6 ECU's has been changed and 3 steering rack has been chaged as well but problem still persist.

Any idea how to fix this problem?

Need your help.... :confused_smile:

hohoho.. this is one heck of a headache...

since u have change 6 units of ecu and steering rack and prob still there... have u check the pump? all the rest of the mechanism? wiring?

but wait.. ecu? for power steering? din know theres one specifically for power steering

power steering control comes within the engine ecu... wiring also already check... but L200s power steering doesnt have pump la.... is driven by electric motor on the steering rack itself...

Sorry to interupt ..but from what I know there's a separate computer-box that

control the motor for L200 power steering.

i think better stick to ori steering...the power steering from L2 are 95% problematic if we transplant to kancil...i never heard got someone's powersteering works without any problem b4

hahaha.. sorry la dude.. i dont drive a kancil so i dont know... but generally power steering has a pump wot.. and.. i did some research.. there is mira power steering pump..

but 850 kancil... itz carbie isn't it? so itz just utilising the power steering section eh

howiechoo said:
i think better stick to ori steering...the power steering from L2 are 95% problematic if we transplant to kancil...i never heard got someone's powersteering works without any problem b4
howiechoo..then i guess i m one of the lucky 5% lo...coz my kancil last time transplant L2 engine and the power steerin too...changed the whole front part includin the dash...and for ard two years drivin...dun see anythin wrong wif the power steerin...onli got once...it got off...bcoz of power failure...battery kong while drivin halfway...ICE...siggies...all cant on ki..sigh...so..considered no prob so far...

It's hard to troubleshoot power steering issue on L2 engines....coz the ecu that come together with the halfcut are usualy damage or shorted. It kinda hard to come by a good working one these days.
I would suggust change to a non power steering rack and remove the power steering ecu. There would not be much diffrence..not unless u r using 15 inc rims.
I personaly hv gone thru about a dozen of power steering ecu...but could not get a good one...