Jeremy Clarkson!

X88

Oct 5, 2004
Can find his reviews on various automobiles on almost every New Sunday Times's CBT.
Read his review of Lexus 430 last weekend. IMO, he had more things to say about Japanese people than the car.
Just wondering, whats ur opinion on this guy?

xerofighter

Not so senior member
Mar 2, 2004
Subang
ah i remember reading it. it was so damn funny. saying that jap ppl get car sick when driven faster then 3mph. the funniest was when he said it was so quiet inside the lexus, he got an idea how it would like to be dead.

si|verfish

Apr 28, 2004
Your first exposure to Jeremy Clarkson's type of motoring journalism is it?

That's his style mate, sarcastic, funny and witty. Acerbic is the word. Expect lots of stereotypes and exageration. The man is highly opinionated and has his own set of standards on how he judges a car. So if you find yourself disagreeing with him, no big deal, really. Just take most of it with lots of salt.

And yes, It's very common for his articles to be 70% about something else and only 30% about the car he is reviewing. I love his column. I read it more for the entertainment more than anything. It really is hilarious sometimes.

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
british humour. and in parts; brutally honest.

guys like like dont sugar coat his opinions on cars unlike..... ;)

X88

Oct 5, 2004
si|verfish said:
Your first exposure to Jeremy Clarkson's type of motoring journalism is it?
Nope!

Its just, I don't find his comments especially about the Japs thats funny at all.
I remembered NST was criticised by an American for publishing his article about a car(could be a Corvette), where as usual, he had a load of crap to say about Americans first before the car.

Anyhow, just my 2 cents!

gti88

I hate Jeremy Clarkson's reviews, I prefer Tiff Needell much more.
some people say he's being honest, and his reviews very good and such,
do you notice that he is VERY bias towards Euro cars as compared to Jap cars ?
Look at his review on his very own SL55 AMG, not even one flaw wei ..
but like the 350z, so many flaws; tiring to drive, engine noisy, etc .. *sigh*

i find him very irritating .. :D

boggysv

Sep 7, 2004
gti88 said:
To him

British cars > The rest of the Euro Cars > American Cars > Jap Cars.

Has he driven a proton before?:D

MK84

Nov 16, 2003
www.mk84.com
gti88 said:
Actually got. He kept complaining about the voice recognition system. LoL.

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
Dremel said:
honest? he hate all german carmakers.. especially BMW.. even the car is good in all aspects.. but to him.. the car still sucks
:p

I agree with JC.

German car sucks (in price) ;) , too aloof to think other manufacturer do come up with (unpolished) gems.

British chaps. these guys have a bloody way with their humour. do they make good cars? they do......not. (exception maybe for Aston martin)
I find British motor writers are more entertaining and more openly (honest) in their reviews. (Not all.)

The americans writers can be quite dastardly on theirs.

Jeremy to me is quite entertaining (his top gear shows). One may not agree entirely with his car reviews. But in large parts he can be spot on.

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
boggysv said:
To him
if i'm not wrong, he did write good words for Mitsui Evo. or did i mixed it with another on that.

si|verfish, well said. common is something our views ;) (Yoda tone)

S1997

boggysv said:
To him

Has he driven a proton before?:D

they did a crash test on waja and another european car...cant remember the exact vehicle.
but that wasnt jeremy, that was his partner,

resident hamster...LOL

thri-p

heh, he loves his British-made Aston Martin DB9 (which incidentally is a very very beautiful car too).

Just watched last season's Top Gear. Awesome and funny show.
Final Gear with Tiff also nice, but more crash tests than anything else.

I think Tiff is a better driver than Jeremy though. Look at Final Gear on the track, you see more skillful driving than in Top Gear. And Tiff has got more background experience in driving compared to Jeremy.

What ya guys think?

lozo

Sep 26, 2004
the way he compares vehicles with layman terms, not technically speaking, which is good somehow. he can beautifully describe a car but i shall say that, tiff is much better when it comes to driving skills.

GT3

Mar 8, 2005
gti88 said:
I hate Jeremy Clarkson's reviews, I prefer Tiff Needell much more.
some people say he's being honest, and his reviews very good and such,
but like the 350z, so many flaws; tiring to drive, engine noisy, etc .. *sigh*

i find him very irritating .. :D
Honestly.. i drove both the car u mentioned.. the SL55.. my god its really perfect.. i mean its fast n comfortable n good looking.. really hard to find flaw with it..
the 350z on high speed is really noisy.. not as comfortable as the SL55 thats for sure but on that price its a bargain

Btw his review arent 100% relevant to the cars.. but honestly he gets to the point (even though its sound exaggerating) .. unlike many megazine writter or tv presentator.. they jus tell u facts which u can find on the net..

Dear all,

i've just change my timing belt this morning and by the time i drive my car back, i heard some sound air leaking sound coming out from the engine bay. so, when i opened up the bonnet cover, the sound even more clear.

i've send back the car to my mechanic and he said it's just air leaking and he didn't touch anything on that part while replacing the timing belt. he ask me to try driving it first and see if the petrol consumption will go up or not.

i'm just a bit affraid it...