JB New Section........ Part 4.....

wassup guys...
its me again!!!

just called keon...
he says oni 3whp increase...
do u guys believe???
he sounds damn serious....
say he can show me his dyno graph wor.....
hmm......wonder!!!

haha... altough is onli 3whp...
but i m sure his torque graph is better then previous....
means better power....
hmmm... b4 increase 3whp also can see his car fast...
wonder now how it looks like....

extra 3 whp and extra 3 kg/m3 of torque after tuning.

torque curve and power curve slightly elevated only.. not much...

from the dyno chart, can see the power curve is smoother, lesser irregularities... other than that, cannot see anything else liao.

I asked Thomas, he said by only calibrating the A/F ratio only, if got gain already very good liao. That's why he said i shouldn't expect any gain at all.

MY opinion, maybe the gain is minimal because my car cannot play ignition timing at all. If can play, maybe can add a little more. But still, i'm very disappointed with the increase.

I was expecting 15whp because my friend's neo with auto tranny is able to improve his power from 88 to 100whp. I asked Thomas about this too, and he said my dyno chart is based on 4th gear... my friend's auto with more than 10 whp gain is on 3rd gear.. then he showed me my friend's 4th gear chart... Only 3whp and 3 kg/m3 of torque at 4th gear. So maybe because of different gear ratio that's why diff values? If so, my 4th gear ratio is much different than my friend's 4th gear mah... Frank, what's your opinion on this?

Think when i go back JB, i'll try to do a 0-100 timing...see got diff from b4 or not.s

oh, and Thomas also advise me to check on my compression ratio. He said, my previous A/F reading was very lean... might cause some wear and tear to the valve seals or somehting like that. Is this true, Frank?

yes, Thomas was right. You must remmeber this. Your result was only by tuning A/F only but not ignition timing. As i said before, power comes frm ignition timing but not A/F. A/F only give u smoothness. So 3whp and 3wtq to me is healthy.

Another thing is your fren gain was based on auto. Auto ecu setting could be diff or by stock, more on safe mapping. Hence after Emanage tuned, much gain was able to be realise. Unless you do have same manual Neo, abt the same mod, tune with emanage and gain 15whp then yes, i do agree with your dissapointment otherwise its not apple to apple comparison.

As for gear ratio wise, hm..... ok, diff tuner diff way of doing. Some will use 2nd on auto to tune, some will use 3rd on auto to tune. Same goes for manual. Its either 3rd or 4th. Reason why they use higher gear (4th) is they wan more load and also for more accuracy A/F tuning. If the gear ratio too short, its hard to tune and capture. On longer gear ratio, you can tune and capture the A/F more accurately. Of course for shorter gear ratio, you will see higher hp gain.

But 1 thing im not sure is why they use 4th gear on your engine. Coz normally on lower engine capability output (not turbo) they will use 3rd gear to tune. But then maybe your 3rd gear ratio may not be suits for tuning. im not sure. Also, bear in mind, your GB ratio wasnt the same as the stock manual Neo ratio. Who knows, your result could be damper by your "new" gear ratio and might fetch higher value on stock ratio.

Also, as i mentioned to you earlier. your could run lean and seems like i was right. With all your mod to improve your exhast and intake, your left out the fuel. With your exhaust gas now able to dispelle faster and more efficient, more air intake is possible now. With more fresh air intake = more O2. more O2 but less fuel = lean. As i explained to some bros on last TT about cam overlapping, with your exhaust gas able to dispelle efficiently, a small vacumn effect will generate in the combustion chamber that will suck in more fresh air from intake valve open.

So with all your intake and exhaust mod, im not suprise you run lean. There is this much on how much stock ecu can compensate on fueling so never expect or think the stock ecu will able to compensate which alot of plp do. As your injector will only max inject X amount of fuel, with so mcuh more air going in, you do run lean. As for cause some wear and tear to the valve seals or somehting like that, posibility is there but im doubt chances of it will happen.

Perhaps he detected some serious amoutn of knocking, hence he suggest you do a compression check. What is your before A/F ratio?

my previous A/F ratio was around 14-15 (not sure... the paper in my car... forgot to take it out).. after tuning, around 13-13.5... knocking, well i'm not sure how does it sound, but i do detect a noise when i'm going over 150km/h while on my way back home... will go find ah hwa and ask him what sound is that.. i can't seem to pin point the source of the sound (travelling at 150km/h, can't really do much investigation) but it is coming from the dashboard area...

Does knocking occur at high speed or high rev? from what i know, knocking doesn't depend on speed right? Even at low rev should be able to detect the knocking sound right?

And speaking of smoothness, i do feel some improvement @ 5th gear when i want to accelerate... can feel smoother delivery...

wassup ppl....
good morning!!!!

tons of info here wei......
early morning read till a bit blur liao....
wakakakaka.....

keon.....
go check compression la...
if not nice....
then can do up whole engine liao.....
heehee.....

so fast test top speed edi???
i till now still no chance to test...
dat time when come back from sunway raining.....
no chance to test at all....
heehee.....

yesterday just called my fren...
seems like tis week impossible to get car...
my fren oni get to promise me before CNY gimme car....
haih....

hopefully today can go back early.....
wanna take a look at how's the installation of the bodyparts....
i wanna go home!!!!
wahahahaha

go n get ur SR tuned la.....
really fun to look at ur car on dyno.....
but then there;s always risk la....
sekali fun fun see dyno half way kaboom....
then lagi fun!!!!
wahahahahahaha

calvin, i doubt his engine will kaboom so fast... onl 0.5 boost, super safe for his engine.

If kaboom then change engine lo..
then we laugh together..
Wahahah
shit i got to stop dreaming when i've got no $$$..

Both ways, i'm taking a Sabatical(Break) from playing with cars
No more upgrades/performance mods for a few months..
Got some personal things to take care off..
So just repair and use the car as it is for now..

calvin, no point testing top speed.... only 3hp increase won't give me much performance gain.

mr kiasu....
i tuned at JC (also known as Amoil)....coz cheaper....i poor chap!!!
frank n keon tune at GT Auto....
coz they r richer!!!
wahahahaha

cricket....
u say till v shiok hor??
kaboom then change engine???
then somemore dare to say no $$$???
u go die la!!!!
wahahahaha....

wait till u really go through engine stall then u know!!!!
its not a good feeling.....
u'd need to go through it oni u know.....

engine jammed oso i kene b4.....
accident oso going through now.....
engine cam setting probs also kene before....
u wanna try it out???
go ahead man!!!!
sleepin at home without ur car parking at the porch is a torture man!!!!

ops...
i forgotten....
u went through longer period than me...
ur conversion took ages last time!!!
wahahahaha

keon.....
how oso....
now u can confirm ur car is running properly now...
not too lean not too rich......
u also notice the smooth delivery right???

selamat pagi......

latest news......

the 3whp gain was dyno with/without keon in the car.....not with piggyback...

piggyback dyno chart info still hidden

-.-

Anything lah. I don't see the point in hiding anything.

Oh yah, frank, i asked thomas and a few of my friends, they say they know people who changed wiring and ECU but none of them are using Siemen's originally. Thomas say it is possible, but have to depend on the mech's wiring capabilities and also the ECU adaptibility on the ori sensors. Argh...... headache.

Calvin,

That's true, but i still duno what causing the sound at high speed... i hope it is something vibrating... but when i let go throttle the sound disappears and when i step back on the gas, the sound re-appears.... scary

keon.....
if u were to change wiring n ecu...
n use piggyback to fine tune....
with the amount of money u gonna spend....
might as well use standalone.....
since u can afford ma...
wahahahaa

Calvin, I cannot. Getting house this year, next year marriage. Where got extra money to spend anymore.