Japz Rims vs Taiwan Rims Durability. Comments plz!

pennywise

I asked around and heard different comments about Taiwan rims. As we know, these are Jap'z imitation around in the market to help poor people like myself afford nice rims.

There are people who tell me to go only for original because these imitation rims cannot tahan accident impact. The force of an accident can cause these Taiwan rims to explode or break into pieces.

But when I spoke to Hup Shun Sunway's salesman. He told me that these Taiwan rims are nowadays made for export to US market and these Taiwan manufacturers will not simply manufacture it without any safety standards. No such thing as rims being broken into pieces or explodes. He also showed me some rims got carved there 500kg, means it can withstand a 500kg impact.

So guys... which is true?? Not everyone can afford Japz rims... Volk's TE37 original from Japz is RM9k plus... Sheesh!

How about durability? Like if you use the same design of Japz and Taiwan rims go thru bumpy roads and pot-holes... Japz rim should be stronger and wont dent so easily as Taiwan rims, true?

i've never use japan rim b4 but onli JRD,K Speed n Advanti Racing..
last time my car accident,my tyre burst(eagle F1...but my K Speed rim not dent...no prob...a bit of scratches onli...advanti racing...not bad...lighter than my ex-k speed...even tho its 16" n my k speed is 15"....JRD...worse nightmare...c any hole on the road also muz void em...if not u will end up ur rim in tyre shop 4 repair...

been a user of taiwan rims for quite some time.
jus a commoner,can't afford jap rims.
no problem with them and NVR heard anything explosing into pieces etc.

ive been using taiwan rims also. No problem at all, only scratches

Ori rims drive on the road...
kena lubang....heart died....

replica rims kena lubang
heart pain.....

Depend on how u drive lah...........
drive like cow.... 10K rims for u also bengkok.

yalor true lar... depends on how u drive... japan rims don gip u guarantee that it WON'T go dented... it's just more hard and can witstand harder impact as compared to other type or rims...

btw, price do matters too... like u said lor... brand new ORI TE37 is how much?? 9K?? goSH... if i buy the imitation wan... baru 1K... i don believe the imitation one can't last me for a year... i can buy new sets each year for continous 9 long years!!

hahaa!!

;)

Well, will you pay RM 2.5k for used Jap rims that was discarded by the original owner or pay same amount for new Taiwanese rims fresh from the container?

70% of rims available in US are from Taiwan or Korea. Maybe 10% are original Jap rims. Your pick.

Also, Taiwanese rims are a lot stronger than our local ones from JRD and BSA. My previous 15" BSA bent after it went inside a pot hole. However, my new 16" AVA rims did not. Since then, no more local rims for me although they are dirt cheap... you can buy 16" BSA for less than RM 800 in Klang and it it almost identical to original TE37! :D

pennywise said:
I asked around and heard different comments about Taiwan rims. As we know, these are Jap'z imitation around in the market to help poor people like myself afford nice rims.

There are people who tell me to go only for original because these imitation rims cannot tahan accident impact. The force of an accident can cause these Taiwan rims to explode or break into pieces.

But when I spoke to Hup Shun Sunway's salesman. He told me that these Taiwan rims are nowadays made for export to US market and these Taiwan manufacturers will not simply manufacture it without any safety standards. No such thing as rims being broken into pieces or explodes. He also showed me some rims got carved there 500kg, means it can withstand a 500kg impact.

So guys... which is true?? Not everyone can afford Japz rims... Volk's TE37 original from Japz is RM9k plus... Sheesh!

How about durability? Like if you use the same design of Japz and Taiwan rims go thru bumpy roads and pot-holes... Japz rim should be stronger and wont dent so easily as Taiwan rims, true?

I'm using ADVANTI rim(s) 2 years now. Excellent Quality.

to me its all about the weight of the rims
jap rims will weight atleast half the weight of taiwan rims

ermm..i've been using BR rim..

super satisfies owner here...lightweight 14"...

erm..anyway..i got a friend, 15" taiwan rim, dented all four after going thru bumpy road..
rm1500 gone...

sighs..

ithink k speed should be alright..it's everywhere in the market now

Ali_G said:
Ori rims drive on the road...
kena lubang....heart died....

replica rims kena lubang
heart pain.....

Depend on how u drive lah...........
drive like cow.... 10K rims for u also bengkok.

I agree wit Ali... if drive like cow better use standard besi 13/14" 'racing' wheel. Pakaibuang.

Kopi said:
I agree wit Ali... if drive like cow better use standard besi 13/14" 'racing' wheel. Pakaibuang.

:D :D :D hahaha .. just cant help it "DRIVE LIKE COW"

Sorry off topic guys, its just too amusing...

KR racing is lighter than K-speed
not too bad in design.. K-speed the finishing is better
don get local rims la.. JRD or BSA... kaput very fast le.
tyres are also important.. for example if u use sime u r more likely to get a bengkok rim due to the soft sidewall as compared to bridgestone or michelin pilot preceda

jus my 2 cents

but people buy japan rim bcoz wanna a lighter rim.. lighter rim lower fuel com. and fast too

i got a taiwan 14" rim
can withstand 620kg
hit so many big hole with massive blow
i mean really loud impact
so far not even dent or scratches on a 165 55 14 series tyres

basically taiwan rims are cheaper. why? its b'coz they save a lil on R&D compared to the japs.... but standards are there coz most taiwan manufactures are venturing into international markets.

of course material also somes into count...especially if its magnesium forged whatsoever. so thats why the price of japs are much higher & thier main goal is for motorsport use.

for daily driving i don't see any bad things about taiwan made rims. they even have more nice designs & pattern compared to performance jap rims.

so...moral of the story...shop according to ur wallet.....IMHO, i would prefer to get a decent quality rims but allocate more $$$ in getting a quality tyres coz that is the most important medium connecting ur ride with the road

just my 2 cents

Its also alot to do with the manufacturing techniques.

Alot of Japanese rims are monoblock or 2/3 piece while their fake counterparts are of a lower grade material and do not sport these manufacturing processes.

BSA aint too bad from my experience

i do trash my ride quite abit

had some Taiwanese rims, 13", didnt last! cracked ONE by one! last pc got stolen..
changed to BSA 13" and it withstood my use... still round!
with tires (175/60) it's 5kg!

ninja_iga said:
BSA aint too bad from my experience

i do trash my ride quite abit

had some Taiwanese rims, 13", didnt last! cracked ONE by one! last pc got stolen..
changed to BSA 13" and it withstood my use... still round!
with tires (175/60) it's 5kg!

me also using BSa
not bad not bad..
not even a piece bengkok altho kena so many potholes...

say no to JRD

BSA motorsports team, i wonder if they use their BSA rims ? if yes which model ? should be light & strong