Is this real kevlar?

civic@938

Wanted to tailor-made a carbon kevlar hood for my EK...then i went to this mod shop and they show me an example of their carbon kevlar material...

however i found that the kevlar material that they showed to me is a bit different as i saw one before long time back...

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/8895/kevlar9zg.jpg

it is consist of several "square" as the "square" colour made the I-I shape....

IS THAT REAL KEVLAR?

civic@938 said:
Wanted to tailor-made a carbon kevlar hood for my EK...then i went to this mod shop and they show me an example of their carbon kevlar material...

however i found that the kevlar material that they showed to me is a bit different as i saw one before long time back...

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/8895/kevlar9zg.jpg

it is consist of several "square" as the "square" colour made the I-I shape....

IS THAT REAL KEVLAR?

looks like carbon kevlar, but if it's not lacquered with some material, you can actually feel the CF / Kevlar. But beware, there are carbon / kevlar sticker material as well. I used to have a sheet of it, but gave it to a pal of mine. SO better be careful. Anyway, a rough estimate for a carbon fibre bonnet ( with fibreglass bottom ) is usually between RM 800.00 ( low quality ) to about RM 2600++ ( extremely high grade ). Fdry - formed carbon ( feels a lot rougher but is bit more stronger than normal CF ) would shoot up to about RM 4000++. Use this as a rule of thumb lah, check his prices and make comparisons. BTW, the only place currently ( that I've visited ) to make parts from CF / CF + Kelvar / Pure Kevlar is at Melaka. If the fella's doing the CF fabrication in - house, it's funny lah, because the furnace required to "burn" and form CF / Kevlar materials is worth well over RM100k!

The price is unknown yet...still waiting for the quotation from the shop...anyway shop is at JB...not so convenient by announce the shop name here if you want i can pm you bro...

Anyway they claim that it is original kevlar...

Ace79 : Hey bro...is your kevlar sticker looks similar from the pic?

What sort of weaving are those? I believe weaving pattern of carbon or kevlar contribute very much to the strength of the product.

i couldn't identify the weaving that u mentioned....how to check?

The most common weaving is the intersecting weaving. like those cloth weaving, or like those "tikar" weaving. This pattern generally provide acceptable strength. This is what we normally see in auto performance parts.
In proper high quality and high strength CF, ppl not only laminate these weaving with carbon matt, but the angle of the lamination is accounted too for best stength attainable. Heck, in high performance CF parts, even the expoxy resin is used just 'ngam-ngam', if not the parts to be fabricated would be too heavy.

FYI, Carbon is more commonly used than kelvar (I think kevlar is more of a gimmick). Carbon have better strength. Even high performance bicycles (like Trek, Specilized, ZIPP brands) stayed avay from using kevlar. Instead they used carbon fibre...

ace79 said:
looks like carbon kevlar, but if it's not lacquered with some material, you can actually feel the CF / Kevlar. But beware, there are carbon / kevlar sticker material as well. I used to have a sheet of it, but gave it to a pal of mine. SO better be careful. Anyway, a rough estimate for a carbon fibre bonnet ( with fibreglass bottom ) is usually between RM 800.00 ( low quality ) to about RM 2600++ ( extremely high grade ). Fdry - formed carbon ( feels a lot rougher but is bit more stronger than normal CF ) would shoot up to about RM 4000++. Use this as a rule of thumb lah, check his prices and make comparisons. BTW, the only place currently ( that I've visited ) to make parts from CF / CF + Kelvar / Pure Kevlar is at Melaka. If the fella's doing the CF fabrication in - house, it's funny lah, because the furnace required to "burn" and form CF / Kevlar materials is worth well over RM100k!

hehe, the "furnace" u refered to is actually called "autoclave". It's expensive to owned one, especially the big ones that can accomodate large autoparts. Even F1 teams cannot afford to buy those large autoclave. Using autoclave, air pressure, temperature, and other parameters can be monitered and regulated to produce the best CF product.

civic@938 said:
The price is unknown yet...still waiting for the quotation from the shop...anyway shop is at JB...not so convenient by announce the shop name here if you want i can pm you bro...

Anyway they claim that it is original kevlar...

Ace79 : Hey bro...is your kevlar sticker looks similar from the pic?

yep, 100% same. i think i know the name of the shop, and no, they cannot afford an autoclave to form CF / Kelvar parts! most polly you're being cheated la friend, unless you said that you went to a large place esomewhere in Melaka, then mebbe you went to the right place lah.

thanks everyone for the info....actually i would prefer carbon fiber also as the so called the "original kevlar" is really...FAKE!

ace79 : bro you stay in JB also? feel free come out yam cha one day leh...

Ken Yeang: really appreciate of your info regarding in carbon material...!:_:

civic@938 said:
thanks everyone for the info....actually i would prefer carbon fiber also as the so called the "original kevlar" is really...FAKE!

ace79 : bro you stay in JB also? feel free come out yam cha one day leh...

Ken Yeang: really appreciate of your info regarding in carbon material...!:_:

sori bro, i'm located in KL. but sometimes balik kpg lah ( visit my grandma kat Masai ) but anyway, next time i'm going to blk JB, i'll inform u lah.

yey.... this site --> http://thespfiles.blogspot.com/ this site has mention about my question about carbon fibre bonnets. but 1 more thing? can cf bonnet be pollished / waxed? will it wear down the shine effect that is has?

that guy is a CF freak...

btw, yes the CF can be polished but not too hard or it will spoil the clear lacquer...best is just wax it off!

Write your reply...